Fires Were Started - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Fires Were Started Reviews

Page 1 of 1
Super Reviewer
February 10, 2011
Fires Were Started has no stock footage. However, it is similar to such in that an ignorant 1990s eye risks being unable to see through the strangeness of 1940s Britain to the lives and tensions portrayed in this film. Fires Were Started is a witty, poetic account of the war effort understood as the acts of everyday Londoners. You can work hard watching it dissecting the poetic sequences of imagery; you can take it easy and enjoy the people we meet or you can follow the exciting narrative of 24 hours during the bombing of London. Poetry.
littlecharmer1959
Super Reviewer
½ May 21, 2008
Documentary style propaganda film by Humphrey Jennings. Follows the story of civilian firefighters in London during the Blitz. We see all the horrors close hand. The firefighters are portrayed as hard working heroes, which they are. The cast were all real firemen, not actors, so it certainly feels real even though they were actually reconstructions.
Overall a brilliant, memorable look at the period and events.
September 24, 2009
The build-up is dreadfully dull, but things get cooking (*snicker*) once the actual firefighting starts. Then there's some excitement and a few really great shots, especially of the aftermath. Pretty good editing, too. But most of the dialogue is muffled, competing with the background noise/music, or obscured by heavy accents. The boring first act really drags my score down, and the rest of it wasn't impressive enough to make up for that, but in general the film was okay.
March 18, 2014
The firefighting sequences are pretty nifty. The rest is just OK, at best.
January 8, 2012
Due to the bad sound most of the spoken parts are almost impossible to hear, especially when the background music is playing. The story is very basic and, to be honest, boring. The scenes of a bombed out London look real and I suppose they problably are which is a bit interesting but I'm afraid this film is nothing more than a long wartime advert for the fire brigade.
July 5, 2011
Film om brandkåren i London inspelad under kriget. Låter spännande men det börjar aningen segt. Gisssar att det är karaktärsbyggande då vi ser brandsoldaterna feja på brandbilar, käka lunch, spela biljard och sjunga runt pianot. Det blir dock ganska dramatiskt när väl bombena börjar falla och bränderna börjar. Känns ganska dokumentär och vetskapen om att den spelades in mitt under brinnande krig gör att den får en extra dimension. Halvinterssant mao.
Super Reviewer
February 10, 2011
Fires Were Started has no stock footage. However, it is similar to such in that an ignorant 1990s eye risks being unable to see through the strangeness of 1940s Britain to the lives and tensions portrayed in this film. Fires Were Started is a witty, poetic account of the war effort understood as the acts of everyday Londoners. You can work hard watching it dissecting the poetic sequences of imagery; you can take it easy and enjoy the people we meet or you can follow the exciting narrative of 24 hours during the bombing of London. Poetry.
½ March 8, 2010
The film follows a group of firemen and the fire service support staff through a day during the Blitz. The film used real firemen, a few of them were a little wooden, but most just got on with their day to day job very naturally. The danger of their job is shown effectively - I think that the lack of commentary to the documentary makes it seems less melodramatic as there is no one to say, "Look at these brave men and women".
September 24, 2009
The build-up is dreadfully dull, but things get cooking (*snicker*) once the actual firefighting starts. Then there's some excitement and a few really great shots, especially of the aftermath. Pretty good editing, too. But most of the dialogue is muffled, competing with the background noise/music, or obscured by heavy accents. The boring first act really drags my score down, and the rest of it wasn't impressive enough to make up for that, but in general the film was okay.
September 22, 2008
...and then put out.
½ May 21, 2008
Documentary style propaganda film by Humphrey Jennings. Follows the story of civilian firefighters in London during the Blitz. We see all the horrors close hand. The firefighters are portrayed as hard working heroes, which they are. The cast were all real firemen, not actors, so it certainly feels real even though they were actually reconstructions.
Overall a brilliant, memorable look at the period and events.
littlecharmer1959
Super Reviewer
½ May 21, 2008
Documentary style propaganda film by Humphrey Jennings. Follows the story of civilian firefighters in London during the Blitz. We see all the horrors close hand. The firefighters are portrayed as hard working heroes, which they are. The cast were all real firemen, not actors, so it certainly feels real even though they were actually reconstructions.
Overall a brilliant, memorable look at the period and events.
March 4, 2008
ill say it until the day I die, this was the FIRST 'kitchen sink realist' film

this film was as influential to the British new wave as Reniors Toni was to the Italian neo realist movement

it was as important to British cinema as Vigos l'Atalante was to France

it has been for years look on with discriminative eyes

a masterpiece

''Public - poetry''
½ February 14, 2008
Has a lot of worth as a historical doucment, less as a great film. Worth a look, but hardly essential.
½ January 28, 2008
It's certainly 'of its day' in terms of production values, but it's very true, and shows the good old fashioned 'stiff upper lip' that basically won the war.
November 11, 2006
i want to c any johnny depp film
Page 1 of 1