• PG, 1 hr. 43 min.
  • Comedy
  • Directed By:
    Hugh Wilson
    In Theaters:
    Sep 20, 1996 Wide
    On DVD:
    Dec 1, 1998
  • Paramount Home Video

Opening

57% Sin City: A Dame to Kill For Aug 22
60% If I Stay Aug 22
—— When The Game Stands Tall Aug 22
8% Are You Here Aug 22
97% Love Is Strange Aug 22

Top Box Office

21% Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles $28.5M
92% Guardians of the Galaxy $25.1M
14% Let's Be Cops $17.8M
35% The Expendables 3 $15.9M
31% The Giver $12.3M
21% Into The Storm $7.9M
66% The Hundred-Foot Journey $7.2M
64% Lucy $5.5M
41% Step Up: All In $2.7M
62% Hercules $2.1M

Coming Soon

0% The November Man Aug 27
98% Starred Up Aug 27
—— As Above/So Below Aug 29
85% The Congress Aug 29
—— The Calling Aug 29

New Episodes Tonight

86% The Bridge (FX): Season 2
91% The Divide: Season 1
83% Extant: Season 1
—— Franklin & Bash: Season 4
—— Graceland: Season 2
—— Hot in Cleveland: Season 5
57% Legends: Season 1
—— Motive: Season 2
69% Mystery Girls: Season 1
100% Suits: Season 4
38% Taxi Brooklyn: Season 1
43% Young & Hungry: Season 1

Discuss Last Night's Shows

—— Covert Affairs: Season 5
88% Finding Carter: Season 1
67% Matador: Season 1
—— Perception: Season 3
—— Pretty Little Liars: Season 5
—— Rizzoli & Isles: Season 5
—— Royal Pains: Season 5
—— Sullivan & Son: Season 3
57% Tyrant: Season 1

Certified Fresh TV

86% The Bridge (FX): Season 2
83% Extant: Season 1
88% The Honorable Woman: Season 1
86% The Knick: Season 1
89% Manhattan: Season 1
97% Masters of Sex: Season 2
73% Murder in the First: Season 1
89% Outlander: Season 1
82% Satisfaction: Season 1
87% The Strain: Season 1
82% Welcome to Sweden: Season 1
77% You're the Worst: Season 1

The First Wives Club Reviews

Page 1 of 95
thmtsang
thmtsang

Super Reviewer

July 14, 2007
Funny comedy about how first wives get their own back on their husbands. When their friend dies they want to support other women.
BEACHBUNNI
BEACHBUNNI

Super Reviewer

March 26, 2009
loved this chick flick! is revenge sweet? hell yeah these chicks kick ass!!!!
Anthony L

Super Reviewer

October 2, 2009
It feels really dated now, it probably did then too, it?s was easily made 7 years too late! Still, Goldie Hawn is sexy and...well, that's about it. Its predictable and schmaltzy, very Jewish but, like I said, a bit late. Keaton looks uncomfortable in the role, Midler has been in worse I suppose and Jennifer Annison owes a lot to Hawn big time! It had a few funny moments but overall its forgettable (and ends in a song, *ugh*)
Cherry D

Super Reviewer

August 16, 2007
"Ladies, you have to be strong and independent, and remember, don't get mad, get everything."
mwilliams078
mwilliams078

Super Reviewer

January 27, 2008
I absolutely love this movie....I love all three ladies in this movie; Goldie Hawn, Diane Keaton, and Bette Midler...they are all hilarious in this movie. This film shows when these three women get together and there men leave them that they can be strong and get even.....wish all of these ladies would star in another movie.
jjnxn
jjnxn

Super Reviewer

April 4, 2007
okay, but I must have missed something
Jason S

Super Reviewer

February 26, 2007
Funny. The cast worked well together and made the movie work.
Michael G

Super Reviewer

November 27, 2006
i remember liking it at the time but that was a long time ago.
Leigh R

Super Reviewer

November 7, 2006
Hilarious.
Dannielle A

Super Reviewer

January 24, 2012
A powerfully girl powered chick flick that is full of laughs and feel-good moments. Feminists will love this one because it's all about three women who plot revenge on their two-timing husbands. The three characters are very well developed and I felt like they could almost be real people going through real problems. I felt their pain and cheered for them all the way!
Steven V

Super Reviewer

December 18, 2009
The First Wives Club should have been a much better movie than it is. All of the elements are there to make its comedy not only dark, but biting, cruel, politically incorrect and not tack on the saccharine, cloying mess that pretends to be an ending. Bette Midler and Goldie Hawn do better with what little material they've been given while still being little more than caricatures. Goldie Hawn at least does poke fun at Hollywood's treatment of actresses which may also be at her own "persona" which has refused to age, but other than that, there's not much bite in her resolve to do her husband in. Then we have the supporting characters, none which fare any better. None of the younger women are written as little more as props, though at least Sarah Jessica Parker has a couple of lines that hint of a different version of Carrie Bradshaw. Stockard Channing's death scene is so badly filmed it might as well been an afterthought from another movie that somehow found its way here. It just proves that a bad screenplay filled with unsympathetic characters will kill the central idea in a story, but also, that an equally bad direction with odd takes and bad editing will further the damage.
Alec B

Super Reviewer

June 2, 2013
It makes no sense and its not that funny . . . except for Goldie Hawn (who again is the high point of a terrible comedy), but all they really have her do is act drunk.
xxdebxx
xxdebxx

Super Reviewer

April 14, 2011
Three former college chums, Goldie Hawn, Diane Keaton and Bette Midler now middle-aged wives, have been brought together by the death of one of their group, who committed suicide when her husband ditched her. As the plot develops it turns that each of their husbands is ditching them for a younger girl/woman. They form the "First Wives Club" to plot exquisite revenge against their philandering husbands. Look out for cameo guest appearances by Ivana Trump and Heather Locklear.

I think some women will relate to this because it is all about revenge on the males and a terrific movie to watch if you have just been dumped, broken up with someone, and would love to get back at your scum partners.
Yinalí R

Super Reviewer

August 2, 2007
Super funny!! I absolutely love it!
Sunil J

Super Reviewer

April 14, 2008
This is a bit of a guilty pleasure for me. I've seen it a few dozen times since it came out on vhs and more since it was added to the instant netflix. it's just a lot of silly fun.
Marion R

Super Reviewer

May 5, 2007
I thought it was cool
mingsysar
mingsysar

Super Reviewer

August 14, 2006
If you want to see actors like Goldie Hawn, Bette Midler and Diane Keaton having fun alongside Sarah Jessica Parker and Maggie Smith, then this is the film for you. If you want anything more though... Watch out for the magnificent Victor Garber.
Erin C

Super Reviewer

June 19, 2008
So many stars! SJP was so pretty when she was younger. The movie was ok...lots of overacting though. Diane Keaton drives me crazy! She is SO annoying.
iLeo
iLeo

Super Reviewer

February 3, 2007
Hilarious!
June 16, 2013
It had some good moments, and of course all three of these womens' charm makes up for the rest. It surprises me how good Midler was in her day. You just loved her for her directness and identified with her struggles. It's all about women taking back the power in this one.
Page 1 of 95
Find us on:                     
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile