Flight

Flight

78%
  • R, 2 hr. 19 min.
  • Drama
  • Directed By:
    Robert Zemeckis
    In Theaters:
    Nov 2, 2012 Wide
    On DVD:
    Feb 5, 2013
  • Paramount Pictures

Opening

20% Transcendence Apr 18
53% Heaven Is for Real Apr 16
7% A Haunted House 2 Apr 18
88% Bears Apr 18
58% Fading Gigolo Apr 18

Top Box Office

89% Captain America: The Winter Soldier $41.3M
47% Rio 2 $39.3M
71% Oculus $12.0M
62% Draft Day $9.8M
77% Noah $7.6M
41% Divergent $7.4M
13% God's Not Dead $5.5M
92% The Grand Budapest Hotel $4.1M
79% Muppets Most Wanted $2.3M
78% Mr. Peabody & Sherman $1.9M

Coming Soon

40% The Other Woman Apr 25
—— Brick Mansions Apr 25
72% The Amazing Spider-Man 2 May 02
100% Neighbors May 09
—— Godzilla May 16

Premieres Tonight

100% Orphan Black: Season 2

New Episodes Tonight

100% Da Vinci's Demons: Season 2

Discuss Last Night's Shows

—— Continuum: Season 3
100% Hannibal: Season 2
—— Hart of Dixie: Season 3
—— Last Man Standing: Season 3
—— Unforgettable: Season 3

Flight Reviews

Page 2 of 335
April 17, 2014
Great performance by Denzel Washington.
April 17, 2014
Who would hate this movie? Like really. It was an amazing movie and Flight reminded me why i love movies. It was well made with an incredible actor Denzel Washington. This movie will change your life. With out god and trust your no where. Having money is nothing. And that you have to admit your weakness or your addiction to change. Loved it!
moviesbewithyou2
April 15, 2014
Not what I thought it would be, but still good. I expected it to be more based around Whitaker being proven innocent, instead it's on his alcohol addiction, basically a giant intervention. I don't know if this is a misuse of the story, but I still liked it.
Just James
April 9, 2014
Whoever says Denzel Washington can't act is silly, watch Flight and see his performance soar, this guy is a mighty talent. Washington is pilot Whip Whittaker, a drug and alcohol abuser who safely crash lands a plane, but when authorities look into the details of the incident and people involved, an alarming amount of alcohol is found in Whittaker's system.

Not only is Flight a nail biter but also an intricate character study, Whittaker's denial, shocking behaviour and idiocy take him on a rocky journey, you begin to question his ability and stability, and Denzel Washington is the perfect man to play this spiralling out of control man. Kelly Reilly is magnificent British talent, I loved her in Flight, playing a druggy who finds solace and comfort in Whittaker, and sort of grounds him saving him from descending into further trouble, Reilly is sweet and convincing, and Don Cheadle is excellent too as an attorney to Whittaker.

All this incredible acting is where this movie takes off. Not forgetting to mention the frightening and terrifyingly realistic plane sequence, my heart pounds and fists clench watching this tyrannical feat of engineering tumble from the sky upside down whilst the passengers and crew braise in fear, I have literally never seen anything like it in a movie. What follows the terrifying opening is an absorbing and impeccably written character study, that ends with a spectacular conclusion in which knockout talent Melissa Leo asks Whip what happened and his version of events, the tension here is riveting and the outcome in unseen. Do not miss this movie!
April 10, 2014
I'm polarized by this movie. Yes, Washington is great in the role that makes you question our modern day 'heroes', but it's tough to see him play such an unlikable character. Well made, but sometimes tough to plod through.
April 5, 2014
A powerful message about addiction and integrity. Denzel Washington was perfect for the role.
Sgt. Cockstrain
February 12, 2013
(78%)
I saw this a day after watching the awful movie "Gamer" and it was so good to watch a real movie, with real acting, a real script and wonderful direction. Mr Washington is truly superb and his performance cements my opinion that he is one of the all-time greatest screen actors. The movie itself could have easily fallen into nothing more than a big-budget daytime TV movie, but thanks to the sheer quality of the whole production that doesn't happen. One of the best Hollywood dramas of the year.
Patrick King - REEL BRIEF
April 4, 2014
Denzel Washington is Oscar-nominated in this movie for his portrayal of an airline captain experiencing severe turbulence in his life as a result of drugs and alcohol dependence. A solid film that shows the unpleasantness of those vices on his crew, passengers, the airline industry, and Washington's friends and family. While the movie's pace is well-timed, I felt Washington's character never reall...y changed or grew over the course of the film. I expected the plot to take viewers on a more expansive LA to New York experience and but really only got the audience from LAX to Orange County during the cinematic journey. But this is still an entertaining movie worth your time. So fasten your seat belt, stow the tray table and brace for impact. Grade: B-
Matt H.
March 4, 2014
While some may think Flight is just about a drunk, cocaine addict who has a drinking problem and confesses at the end, the film goes deeper than that. That is a very raw, unobserved way to put the storyline. While a narcissist might categorize the movie as a drug addiction film with drugs, beer, hooker and porn movies, I say, watch it again. Flight takes the tor of man who has addiction problem, and add drama, suspense, and a kick-ass plane crash sequence to top it, probably one of the best scenes involving a plane ever. Denzel puts on his usual rock star performance, and the movie just goes into "flight" from there!
April 3, 2014
I have no idea what to say. The ending was railroaded into what could have been decent. And some of the shots were really out of place.
April 1, 2014
Beautiful .. and it got a great message to pass!
lonnielliston
March 29, 2014
Honesty is ALWAYS the best policy.
November 18, 2012
gr8 they kept the rating but lost my review
October 30, 2012
I could watch Denzel all day long and he doesn't disappoint. Good story, well told. It would have got four stars if it had been a bit shorter. What is the obsession with films that are 2hrs plus?!?
March 22, 2014
A Flight egy nagyon érdekes és érdekfeszít? fél a repülésr?l, a repülés pilótáiról, és a félelemr?l. Robert Zemeckis ismét nagyot alkotott.
March 3, 2014
One of Denzel Washington's better films of recent years, and good to see Robert Zemeckis back directing live action. Morally the film is all over the place, and not all of the acting around Washington is that great, but as a star vehicle and an action blockbuster it's not bad.
March 15, 2014
Hmmmm........, story about a pilot who was initially hailed as a hero for his skills in crash landing a doomed airplane, saved lots of lives but turns out to be a total screw up. Denzel Washington's excellent as always.
March 15, 2014
Ugh, this movie dragged and was so disappointing.
March 14, 2014
This was awesome.
The portrayal of substance abuse/alcoholism was dead on.
And it hit dead close to home.
March 14, 2014
literally amazing! Washington and Goodman are superb.
Page 2 of 335
Find us on:                 
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile