The Forgotten - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Forgotten Reviews

Page 1 of 9
Robert Roten
Laramie Movie Scope
February 6, 2005
Starts out as a psychological drama and gets a whole lot weirder as it goes along.
Full Review | Original Score: B
Steven D. Greydanus
Decent Films Guide
February 3, 2005
What the father-son bond was to Frequency… mother love is to The Forgotten, a "Twilight Zone" / "X-Files"-esque thriller with a pro-life twist.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
Michael E. Grost
Classic Film and Television
January 24, 2005
Unusual mix of drama and science fiction, masquerading as a horror film.
Kevin A. Ranson
MovieCrypt.com
January 21, 2005
... [Julianne Moore] is the heart and soul that lifts The Forgotten from direct-to-video fare and into something genuinely interesting.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.0/4.0
Anton Bitel
Movie Gazette
November 26, 2004
Two films in one - a mad rollercoaster thriller in the cinema, and a more subtle psychodrama in your head afterwards.

Sunday Times (Australia)
November 8, 2004
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Prairie Miller
Long Island Press
November 2, 2004
Lurking beneath is an equally creepy sense of latent antagonism now, between Mom and the State when it comes to possession rights over human offspring.
Steve Newton
Georgia Straight
October 6, 2004
At risk of sounding like a total suck, I mostly liked The Forgotten because it made me want to hurry home and hug my kids.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Jake Euker
F5 (Wichita, KS)
September 30, 2004
A freaking delight. Ruben keeps the threat both palpable and eerily undefined, and his payoffs are both ridiculously scary and hilariously unexpected.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
Sean Burns
Philadelphia Weekly
September 29, 2004
...in this particular case I'm happy to value old-fashioned meat-and-potatoes genre craftsmanship over such pesky, trifling matters as logic or common sense.
Full Review
Jonathan R. Perry
Tyler Morning Telegraph (Texas)
September 28, 2004
Any film capable of simultaneously causing me to douse my lap with Mountain Dew in surprise and inspiring the biggest unintentional laugh I've had all year deserves credit.
| Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Richard Roeper
Ebert & Roeper
September 27, 2004
It's very manipulative, it's very maddening -- and yet I found it very entertaining.
Vince Koehler
Entertainment Spectrum
September 27, 2004
Joseph Ruben directs this thriller that kept me on the edge of my seat the whole time.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
September 26, 2004
Moore's strength as an actor lifts this film above itself and makes it a fun and exciting ride, as long as you don't know anything going into it.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Rafe Telsch
CinemaBlend.com
September 26, 2004
A fun thrill of a movie.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
September 26, 2004
It has action, moments that will make you jump, plus an emotional connection. It takes an unexpected shift in direction, but it's still entertaining.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Peter Canavese
Groucho Reviews
September 26, 2004
Mood over matter...[If] a puzzle is more about spending time with the pieces than regarding the finished picture...you can enjoy The Forgotten as a matinee trifle.
| Original Score: 2.5/4
Eric Melin
Lawrence.com
September 26, 2004
Like a trashy supermarket tabloid, we are drawn to its cheap thrills.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Nick Davis
Nick's Flick Picks
September 25, 2004
Thrumming up a bravely silly premise with some forceful and dexterous acting choices, Moore is palpably haunted through the film, and yet you imagine this is fun for her.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
Jackie K. Cooper
jackiekcooper.com
September 25, 2004
Mother knows best in this unforgettable thriller.
Full Review| Original Score: 7/10
Felix Vasquez Jr.
Cinema Crazed
April 29, 2009
Urban Cinefile Critics
Urban Cinefile
October 18, 2008
Top Critic

Time Out
June 24, 2006
Jeffrey M. Anderson
Combustible Celluloid
May 26, 2006

BBC.com
November 30, 2004

New Zealand Herald
November 13, 2004

Boston Phoenix
October 6, 2004
Top Critic
Stephanie Zacharek
Salon.com
October 6, 2004
Top Critic

St. Louis Post-Dispatch
September 24, 2004
Page 1 of 9