Forks Over Knives - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Forks Over Knives Reviews

Page 1 of 2
Brian Costello
Common Sense Media
July 1, 2014
Engaging docu promotes a vegan diet in nonjudgmental way.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Liz Braun
Jam! Movies
May 20, 2011
Could a movie save your life? Forks Over Knives is a documentary willing to try as it examines diet and degenerative disease.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Top Critic
Rick Groen
Globe and Mail
May 20, 2011
Forks Over Knives is a middling documentary but a magnificent indictment.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Tom Long
Detroit News
May 20, 2011
Forks over Knives is tasty but somewhat undercooked.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
Chris Hewitt (St. Paul)
St. Paul Pioneer Press
May 20, 2011
"Forks Over Knives" feels like an important, balancing piece of nutrition information.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
Carrie Rickey
Philadelphia Inquirer
May 19, 2011
Movies are like food. There are popcorn pictures that entertain you and the spinach movies that are good for you. In more ways than one, Forks Over Knives is a spinach flick.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Colin Covert
Minneapolis Star Tribune
May 19, 2011
A persuasive documentary on the health benefits of a whole-foods and plant-based diet.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Andrea Chase
Killer Movie Reviews
May 14, 2011
Much of this information, about meat being bad, plants being good, has been covered before, but Fulkerson brings a precision and a clarity to his presentation that hits hard as it explodes myths while also introducing startling facts, comforting and not
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Top Critic
Joe Neumaier
New York Daily News
May 13, 2011
The radical notion at the heart of the acclaimed doc "Forks Over Knives" is that eating animals and animal-produced foods has costs -- on our economy, our health-care system and on ourselves.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Top Critic
David Lewis
San Francisco Chronicle
May 12, 2011
A must-see movie that could have used a sharper edge.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
John Hartl
Seattle Times
May 12, 2011
Fulkerson methodically makes the case that we've been brainwashed by repetition and clever advertising campaigns.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Tom Meek
Boston Phoenix
May 12, 2011
Although Fulkerson might have balanced his polemics with some other opinions, Forks over Knives still serves up plenty of food for thought.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Kerry Lengel
Arizona Republic
May 12, 2011
It isn't possible to examine the scientific arguments in a movie review, but as advocacy documentaries go, this is a pretty good one.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Top Critic
Roger Ebert
Chicago Sun-Times
May 12, 2011
The bottom line: I am convinced this message is true. A plant-based whole foods diet is healthy.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Kam Williams
NewsBlaze
May 11, 2011
An incendiary expose' illustrating how agribusiness has successfully exploited our biological urges for generations, often with the help of government-sponsored propaganda
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
Top Critic
John Anderson
Variety
May 6, 2011
One of the more convincing, radical and politically volatile docus to come out of the burgeoning good-food genre.
Top Critic
Jeannette Catsoulis
New York Times
May 6, 2011
Makes a pedantic yet persuasive case for banishing meat and dairy from the dinner table.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Laura Clifford
Reeling Reviews
May 5, 2011
...chockful of fact after surprising fact about how we really are what we eat.
Full Review | Original Score: B
Top Critic
Kevin Thomas
Los Angeles Times
May 5, 2011
Explains in unflinching detail how we damage ourselves through our eating habits yet insists that it is within our grasp to change course.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Top Critic
Owen Gleiberman
Entertainment Weekly
May 4, 2011
Even if you're a junk-food junkie, this exploration of the health benefits of a ''plant-based diet'' is so scrupulously researched and argued that only a fool would ignore its findings.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
Top Critic

St. Louis Post-Dispatch
June 7, 2011
Janet Smith
Georgia Straight
June 7, 2011
Page 1 of 2