Opening

13% Transcendence Apr 18
—— A Haunted House 2 Apr 18
49% Heaven Is for Real Apr 16
91% Bears Apr 18
56% Fading Gigolo Apr 18

Top Box Office

89% Captain America: The Winter Soldier $41.3M
48% Rio 2 $39.3M
72% Oculus $12.0M
63% Draft Day $9.8M
77% Noah $7.6M
40% Divergent $7.4M
14% God's Not Dead $5.5M
92% The Grand Budapest Hotel $4.1M
79% Muppets Most Wanted $2.3M
78% Mr. Peabody & Sherman $1.9M

Coming Soon

44% The Other Woman Apr 25
—— Brick Mansions Apr 25
71% The Amazing Spider-Man 2 May 02
100% Neighbors May 09
—— Godzilla May 16

New Episodes Tonight

—— Anger Management: Season 2
92% Community: Season 5
55% The Crazy Ones: Season 1
100% Grey's Anatomy: Season 10
90% Parenthood: Season 5
100% Parks and Recreation: Season 6
100% Portlandia: Season 4
55% Reign: Season 1
0% Saint George: Season 1
100% Scandal: Season 3
73% Sirens: Season 1
68% Surviving Jack: Season 1
92% Vikings: Season 2

Discuss Last Night's Shows

72% The 100: Season 1
97% The Americans: Season 2
100% Arrow: Season 2
—— Baby Daddy: Season 3
—— Hot in Cleveland: Season 5
100% Legit: Season 2
—— Melissa & Joey: Season 3
36% Mixology: Season 1
—— The Soul Man: Season 3
—— Workaholics: Season 4

Certified Fresh TV

77% About a Boy: Season 1
97% The Americans: Season 2
82% The Blacklist: Season 1
88% Brooklyn Nine-Nine: Season 1
85% Enlisted: Season 1
98% Fargo: Season 1
98% Game of Thrones: Season 4
100% Hannibal: Season 2
96% Silicon Valley: Season 1

Frankenhooker Reviews

Page 1 of 17
Cory T

Super Reviewer

October 2, 2012
Intentions and executions are two entirely different concepts. The borderline excruciating ‚~Frankenhooker‚(TM)s intention is to be a rip-snorting black comedy but the execution is so crudely sophomoric that the film never rises to that modest goal. Henenlotter treads that fine line of inspired comedy and moronic, soft-core pornography and he often finds himself on the latter end. He doesn‚(TM)t satirize the Universal monster classic like Mel Brooks did with ‚~Young Frankenstein‚(TM), he trots out such oddities as a disembodied brain with an eyeball in a fish tank and misconstrues the sheer idiosyncrasy as funny subject matter. Stuart Gordon may have supercharged this with macabre humor but Henenlotter‚(TM)s touch is Troma-lite (ex. The exploding mannequins from the "supercrack" are especially chintzy pyrotechnics). After confesses that he may be ‚becoming dangerously amoral‚?, his mother gently asks if he would like an egg salad sandwich. Schlock has rarely been so muted and groaningly pun-filled (‚I‚(TM)ll make a new woman of her‚?), although the H.O.O.K.E.R. organization is a riot.
TheDudeLebowski65
TheDudeLebowski65

Super Reviewer

March 10, 2012
If you're familiar with Frank Henenlotter's work, then you know it's off the wall, insane and in every case, memorable. Frankenhooker is yet another crazy film from Henenlotter who's built a career out of creating the most eccentric and hilarious films in the genre. Based loosely on Frankenstein, this film surrounds a guy who loses his girlfriend in a freak lawnmower accident. Grief stricken, her boyfriend seeks to rebuilt by using different body parts from New York's finest ladies of the night. The film is hilarious, and as a fan of the genre, I honestly can say that this is one of the finest horror comedies that I have seen. This a terrific film despite how silly it is. Like every other of Henenlotter's works, Franken hooker is a fun, eccentric piece of comedic horror. The genius of this film relies on its unusual plot, which if you enjoy good gory fun, and absurd comedy with a good dose of horror, you're sure to enjoy. Franken hooker is a hilarious treat for horror fans, and you'll most likely appreciate this tale of reanimated dead cadavers. However, this is not your typical film. The humour is eccentric and the film has one scene that stands out among all the rest, the exploding hookers scene, which is so over the top, it's bound to make you laugh. If you love eccentric, over the top horror, then I highly recommend this film. Or if you enjoy a silly horror comedy, then this is still a great cult classic from the 80's worth watching even for the novice horror fan. Expect to have a great time watching this unique tale of reanimation. Frank Henenlotter does it again.
Phil H

Super Reviewer

October 16, 2011
Heard about it, had to see it and just as I expected it was loony, full of bad acting and dodgy special effects, but as said it was expected. As a B-movie its totally acceptable and it does have that kind of cult following which I can understand, its just a silly riot of nudity and daft gags that could of become an underground hit much like 'Porky's' did but hasn't quite got there. Doesn't make any sense of course and ends rather abruptly but the cover art is quite cool :) probably made even more famous due to Bill Murray's quote "if you see one movie this year, it should be [i]Frankenhooker[/i]."
FilmFanatik
FilmFanatik

Super Reviewer

August 23, 2011
Absolutely amazing... for a piece of trash. Really, this is over the top in the way of Braindead while being insanely funny with some great 80's horror dialogue. James Morinz's astonishing performance is a thing of beauty, as is a room full of exploding hookers doped out on super crack. This guy goes through some real crazyness to get his dead girlfriend back, and every moment of it is pure trash magic. Highly recommended! Brilliant!
Alexis N

Super Reviewer

September 6, 2010
I'll just break it down: weird, funny, hookers, hard core body exploding drugs, science, pimps, tits and ass. Camp at its best.
Anthony L

Super Reviewer

September 29, 2009
It?s a silly Comedy/Horror in the style of Braindead & Society. The scene where 7 prostitutes take copious amounts of crack and explode makes it worth a watch alone. The ending is a nice touch too. Enjoy it because they don't make them like this anymore!
Dr Blood †

Super Reviewer

June 23, 2007
It is just so 80s and kitch. Just look at the clothes and the hairstyles! Maybe it's not the greatest horror film in the world but it's certainly one of the funniest.
thefog1331
thefog1331

Super Reviewer

June 6, 2007
Hennenlotter is the king of trash. In a good way.
Horrific R.
Horrific R.

Super Reviewer

February 10, 2013
Surprisingly higher in quality than I expected. This film has a scene in times square in it, so that automatically puts it up a half a star or so. Basically what happens is a man attempts to resurrect a woman he likes, and does so by putting her on a hookers body... The result is strangely that the monster of a woman goes out and prostitutes herself. When she does so, she kills those she kisses or sexes by electrifying them. The doctor, who's name is James by the way, finds her, and the film ends with him explaining that they now can live together forever like this... And her not being so pleased with the idea.
shitfaced8
shitfaced8

Super Reviewer

October 17, 2011
Pretty good effort from Frank Henenlotter. With a name like Frankenhooker I was obviously going to get to this one eventually. Pretty fucking hilarious at times (Supercrack and exploding hooker parties anyone?) in an over the top extreme cheese kinda way. Much better than Basketcase for sure. Just a cheesy good time really. Good for a few laughs over some beers and nachos.
Patrick D

Super Reviewer

April 20, 2009
This film wins.
Henenlotter turns it up to 11 and then breaks off the knob.
Anthony V

Super Reviewer

March 22, 2008
It really is quite funny.
DrLappos
DrLappos

Super Reviewer

February 14, 2008
OMFG I had forgot this even existed. What a total eighties cheesy scfi great.
sleepykiss
November 27, 2012
Funnier then I thought it would be. Slow start, be patient until the hooker party. With nudity. My thx to the bf for taping it for me.
October 18, 2010
I gave this another look recently on Blu-ray, and I have to say that it holds up well.

My second experience with Frank Henenlotter; this one is a lot of fun, filled with crazy effects, amusing twists and a truly memorable splattery climax.

I really need to dig further into the man's (fairly small) filmography, as he seems to have a fun, twisted sensibility that I can really enjoy.

Well worth a look.
October 29, 2011
So this is about a mad scientist that tried bringing his dead girlfriend back by getting body parts from hookers. How awesome! Win!
werejustaminorthreat
June 7, 2010
This movie is right up my ally. The monster design rules, the characters are entertaining and the story is ridiculous.One of my new favorites.
November 17, 2009
I've seen this movie before in a couple different iterations -- obviously Frankenstein, to some degree, but The Brain that Wouldn't Die also came to mind. Frankenhooker is absolutely hilarious, and shamelessly tasteless, which is what I like to see.
August 16, 2009
Frankenhooker...what can I say about movie where a guy resurrects his girlfriend using body parts collected from prostitutes. It's a funny film. The directing is rough at times, the effects aren't great, and it can be disturbing. But if you like cult classics you gotta see this.
February 24, 2006
I would have given it "0" stars if I could have!!! THIS IS THE WORST MOVIE IN THE HISTORY OF WESTERN CIVILIZATION!!!

IT SUCKED!!!!!
Page 1 of 17
Find us on:                 
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile