From Dusk Till Dawn 2: Texas Blood Money - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

From Dusk Till Dawn 2: Texas Blood Money Reviews

Page 1 of 42
Super Reviewer
July 27, 2014
So judging by the films cover you could be fooled into thinking this film was set in the 'Twitty Twister' and that Danny Trejo was a large part of the story. Alas this couldn't be further from the truth, this isn't necessarily a bad thing of course but they are clearly trying to hook your attention.

The plots follows a group of criminals who are planning a bank heist. The group are to meet in a seedy motel somewhere in Mexico but through various circumstances are attacked and turned into vampires one by one. During the heist the main protagonist discovers his mates are vamps and must fend them off along with the police force which turn up. In the end the film merely becomes a vampire vs police escapade with the lone surviving criminal teaming up with the Texas Ranger that was on his tail.

This second splatter fest starts off really slow and quite dull if you ask me, we merely follow Robert Patrick as he recruits the old gang for the heist. The group itself are a mixed bag and you can see they have tried to create that iconic team of hardass oddballs we've seen many times before. You've got a fat guy with a ponytail and goatee (the homosexual sadistic porn shop owner from 'Pulp Fiction'), an aging cowboy, a young innocent looking guy (Woody Harrelson's brother) and the stereotypical tough guy played by Raymond Cruz who kinda feels like a male version of 'Vasquez' from 'Aliens'.

Once things get going on the road trip it still takes its time and feels slow. There is a pointless cameo for the 'Titty Twister' merely so they can shove in Danny Trejo with an aimless subplot and so the crooks can start getting bitten. I still have absolutely no clue how Trejo's character is suppose to have survived the first film after being reduced to mush. This also tends to bring up the continuity issue of where are all the other characters from the first film? If Trejo's 'Razor Eddie' is still alive then surely all the other main vampires and fallen bikers are still alive and well too (or undead and well). Plus the vampire bar is clearly a bad small set and doesn't really look like the original films set. This was a real let down for the film seeing as the bar is the main money shot of the franchise, where it all happens so to speak.

The film really picks up when all the cops turn up to stop the bank heist and the undead crooks all go berserk. The whole story takes a U-turn and goes from dark vampire splatter horror to an over the top action bonanza with the four baddie vamps gunning down hordes of policemen and S.W.A.T. teams amidst exploding police cars. Remember when Arnie takes down all the cops and cop cars with his minigun in 'T2'? well this is pretty much identical to that accept there is lots of blood and body parts flying around. I can't lie, I really did enjoy this part of the movie as it really changes the pace of the film upping it drastically. The action isn't the best choreographed action you've seen but it does the job and its pretty neat watching these invincible vampires leaping around and taking down various armed police.

Like much of the film the effects are all hands-on real time effects using fake blood, prosthetics, heavy makeup, puppets etc...and like the original film it works giving a much grittier 80's feel to the proceedings. There is a touch of CGI for the melting vamp shots which is a bit hokey looking but again like the original film it doesn't detract from the nicely handled gore.

I did like this film once things started to actually get going with the vampires, but boy does it take time for that. Much of the run time is a bit dull in all honesty...until the excellent shoot out with the cops. It is a bit frustrating at times too as some shots are badly edited, the sets are pokey, location work is visually unexciting and overall it does look very cheap and cheerful. I can overlook that but geez! here and there it really looks poor. There is a small Bruce Campbell cameo at the start which really feels like its there just to gain more interest with horror fans as again it pointless. Basically most of this film is very average but the violent finale makes up for most of it. The final bit of dialog between Patrick's criminal character and Hopkins' Texas Ranger was hinting to set up a vampire hunting team possibly for the third film, I thought...guess not.

Cute bit of info, the character of 'Deputy Edgar McGraw' in this film is the son of 'Sheriff Earl McGraw' from the original film. In the original film Sheriff McGraw is played by Michael Parks who is the real life father of James Parks who plays Deputy McGraw in this sequel.
Super Reviewer
½ August 28, 2007
14/01/2012 (NetFlix PS3)
FilmFanatik
Super Reviewer
½ August 5, 2007
A fun sequel - even though hardly nobody from the original had much to do with it.
TheDudeLebowski65
Super Reviewer
June 9, 2010
Considering how the first one injected new blood in the vampire genre, and did something totally different, this one is a bit of a let down. From Dusk Til Dawn 2 has a decent story, but it doesn't elevate it to new heights and ends up being an average film and this is a great shame because the first one was one of the best vampire films of the 1990's. In the end, not even a film produced by Tarantino and Rodriguez can make this sequel soar and break new ground. Average, but will leave you feel empty, and somewhat cheated out.
deano
Super Reviewer
May 24, 2007
Cool special effects which are hit-and-miss of the vampires. I was glad to see Robert Patrick's character was a survivor of the bank heist team who fought against his crew who became bloodsuckers.
The film works fine with its hilarious dialogue as the characters speak very personal things that reminded me, of course, of Quentin Tarantino, but it worked very well. The truth is I really like the original movie better than this straight-to-video sequel.
middleeasternfilms
Super Reviewer
½ May 26, 2008
The original was a film that Quentin and Rob just wanted to have fun making. But this one...has no excuse. Robert Patrick is kickass in it, as he always is. That's about it...except for BRUCE FUCKING CAMPBELL!!! He makes a cameo at the beginning for less than 5 minutes then dies, but dammit it's worth it! And Danny Trejo. And the closeted homo pawn shop owner from Pulp Fiction. Not a good movie by any means, but it was good enough to earn another sequel.
Super Reviewer
½ January 7, 2007
A poor sequel in comparison to the cult success of the first film. Plenty of recognizable faces, like Robert Patrick, in this and a few I didn't realize were in this. The only connection really to the first is the Bar from the first and Danny Trejo, but he plays a different character anyway!?
Super Reviewer
March 7, 2009
The film has the same basic feel as the previous installment. Unfortunately without Tarantino's wise ass script, a lot of the dialogue and relationships fall flat. Patrick does a grand job in the lead role, and at least most of the actors are exactly that. But with no Keitel or Clooney you can't expect the same quality. The film fails by moving the action away from the Titty Twister. There's a quick visit, but then it takes place around a bank heist, probably because of budget. It would have been nice to explore the origins of the Titty Twister and the vampire fraternity.Deserves credit for the opening elevator scene between Bruce Campbell and Kelly Kapowski. Still enjoyable but nothing on the first film.
Super Reviewer
½ October 3, 2007
Crappy movie. It didn't even seemed like they were trying with this one. The worst cinematography ever.
skactopus
Super Reviewer
½ May 20, 2007
This is one of those sequels that is a bit better than the first, although most people will disagree. It is obvious that the first film did have a much higher budget and more recognizable faces, but this film, like the first, does have a good variety of characters.As far as the action goes there is about the same amount as the first film (most appearing at the end), but this flick does have better cinematography and it was more suspenseful. The story itself isn't as deep as the first but it is just as good. The ending fight scene was more enjoyable as well. It does a complete 180 compared to the first. Instead of a handful of people taking on a whole bunch of vampires there are 4 vampires taking on a whole bunch of humans (mostly cops). In the entire movie there were maybe only 5-6 vampires total, so if your looking for a bunch of vampires like the first you will be disappointed. Don't be fooled though, just because there are only 4 vampires at the end doesn't mean there isn't a blood fest. As a matter of fact this movie is as gory as the first, maybe even gorier.When all is bitten and done this movie isn't anything spectacular, but if your in the mood for a good western vampire tale then this movie should quench your thirst just fine.
Super Reviewer
½ October 15, 2012
The ridiculous low-budget sequel From Dusk Till Dawn 2: Texas Blood Money is a bit of fun, but overall it's garbage. The story follows a Mexican bank robbery where one-by-one the robbers are being turned into vampires. The vampire effects are a little better and more consistent than in the first film, but they're still rather hokey. And, the acting is terrible across the board. It's rather clear that no one's putting in much effort on this film. From Dusk Till Dawn 2: Texas Blood Money is a weak and poorly made film that doesn't have the charisma of the original.
Super Reviewer
March 29, 2012
While it is fun to watch bad B-movies like this, it's still a terribly bad waste of time.
Super Reviewer
January 11, 2009
I know I saw this craptacular, and it was just dumb
Super Reviewer
March 16, 2008
The POV movie from hell. Every inanimate object gets a POV in this one, whether it a rotating fan or a wheel of a car. The movie's not all that hot, especially since I loved Spiegel's Intruder so much, but maybe now that I know what I'm getting into I could enjoy it more.
iLeo
Super Reviewer
December 10, 2007
I don't know about this one, I think the first was the best. The third is a little all right, but I think the plot lacked luster.
PC79
Super Reviewer
January 13, 2007
Not really as good as the first one, but I still enjoyed it.
FanGirl
Super Reviewer
June 21, 2006
The first one is the best and the 3rd is better then the 2nd.
November 17, 2015
Pros:
-Danny Trejo as a bartender... again
-Makeup isn't bad, but not great
-Bruce Campbell as Barry (don't get too attached though)

Cons:
-Sub-par acting
-Bland story and characters
-Bad special effects
-Blood is present, but not enough for my tastes

Conclusion:
From Dusk Till Dawn 2: Texas Blood Money is a bad film and an even worse sequel to an actual good film. Avoid it like bat guano, Gorehounds.
½ November 17, 2015
She sucked me dry.

A group of outlaws are planning to rob a bank in Mexico to obtain some valuable diamonds stored there; unfortunately, one of the crew members has been turned into a vampire. During the heist, the vampire crew member goes ballistic and the police arrive at the scene. Members of the crew will need to survive both the police as well as their crew members turned vampire...

"Come with me, Jesus, just in case I need to talk Mexican."

Scott Spiegel, director of Hostel 3, Intruder, My Name is Modesty, and the upcoming Spring Break '83, delivers Dust till Dawn II: Texas Bloody Money. The storyline for this picture was nothing special and reminded me of a vampire version of Assault on Precinct 13. The acting was also nothing special and the cast includes Robert Patrick, Bruce Campbell, Bo Hopkins, Duane Whitaker, Muse Watson, Danny Trejo, and Tiffani Theissen.

"This ain't the Olympics. It's fucking dog fighting."

I remember not liking this movie when it first came out but it has grown on me a little. This still isn't good but has some nice mindless violence/gore sequences that place this in a "so bad it is good" category for entertainment value. This is a huge step down from the first film, but not a complete waste of time. I would catch this on cable.

"...like we suck farts out of dead chickens..."

Grade: C
½ August 10, 2014
One of the things that was really cool about "From Dusk Till Dawn" is that it wasn't shot like a horror movie. It looked like a crime thriller, and when the Vampires hit it was out of nowhere...totally unexpected (if you didn't read a synopsis that is). For the most part, this is shot like a cheap horror movie, and despite trying to start off with a whole heist plot, you know from the start it is a horror movie and you just want it to get to the point. It is hard to make a movie designed to have a major plot point come out of left field when you are a sequel. The music is also terrible and the movie just never clicked for me, not in the same way that the original did.
Page 1 of 42