Funny Face - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Funny Face Reviews

Page 1 of 2
Dennis Schwartz
Ozus' World Movie Reviews
July 6, 2002
A stylish, wistful musical, typical of the 1950s.
Full Review | Original Score: C
David Nusair
Reel Film Reviews
November 19, 2012
...a sporadically engaging yet hopelessly erratic old-school musical.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Ryan Cracknell
Movie Views
February 1, 2009
Despite some memorable musical numbers, gorgeous sets and energy galore, there's something about Funny Face that wasn't working for me, and it wasn't just the absurd idea about Audrey Hepburn being a frumpy bore.
Ian Waldron-Mantgani
Apollo Guide
October 23, 2001
If Funny Face is worth seeing, then it is because of Audrey Hepburn. Even when her character is being awkward or shy, she's absolutely enchanting -- pretty, smart, with an inimitable grace to her.
Full Review | Original Score: 65/100
Eric Henderson
Slant Magazine
September 29, 2007
The Devil may wear Prada, but the rest of the fashion world wears pink, at least according to Stanley Donen's endearingly naive Funny Face.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Philip Martin
Arkansas Democrat-Gazette
March 27, 2005
| Original Score: 3/5
Nell Minow
Movie Mom at Yahoo! Movies
May 12, 2005
| Original Score: 4/5
Simon Kinnear
Total Film
February 24, 2014
One of Hollywood's funniest, most stylish musicals, this breezy satire from 1957 thrives on the pairing of Fred Astaire and Audrey Hepburn.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
Michael Szymanski
Zap2it.com
July 9, 2003
| Original Score: 4/5
Cole Smithey
ColeSmithey.com
November 1, 2005
| Original Score: 4/5
Charles Cassady
Common Sense Media
December 15, 2010
Bubbly, fashion-crazed Hepburn-Astaire musical.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Paul Brenner
Filmcritic.com
December 28, 2008
one of the finest movie musicals of all time.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
David Jenkins
Little White Lies
February 27, 2014
It's an intermittently charming trifle with directorial style to burn in the place of any kind of satisfactory substance.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Jeffrey Westhoff
Northwest Herald (Crystal Lake, IL)
September 4, 2002
| Original Score: 3/5
John J. Puccio
Movie Metropolis
January 4, 2009
I didn't appreciate every song-and-dance sequence, yet I could hardly keep my eyes off the screen for all the showy merriment going on.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
Kevin Carr
7M Pictures
March 5, 2009
Of her iconic films, Hepburn shines the most in Funny Face by focusing on what makes her beautiful.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Top Critic
Mark Bourne
Film.com
February 2, 2009
...can clunk like a tin can in the dryer. But hey, we're talking Audrey Hepburn and Fred Astaire, so that's some mighty elegant slack we're willing to cut here.
Carol Cling
Las Vegas Review-Journal
August 22, 2003
| Original Score: 4/5
Top Critic
Keith Uhlich
Time Out
June 26, 2012
Sensation trumps cogitation-unsurprising in a Hollywood production-which doesn't negate the enduring allure of this beautiful bauble.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Urban Cinefile Critics
Urban Cinefile
July 26, 2002
I could watch this classic over and over again
| Original Score: 5/5
Jeffrey M. Anderson
Combustible Celluloid
August 28, 2006
John Thomason
Orlando Weekly
October 6, 2007
Top Critic

Time Out
January 26, 2006
Top Critic

Variety
March 26, 2009
Page 1 of 2