Opening

17% Transcendence Apr 18
—— A Haunted House 2 Apr 18
55% Heaven Is for Real Apr 16
87% Bears Apr 18
55% Fading Gigolo Apr 18

Top Box Office

89% Captain America: The Winter Soldier $41.3M
48% Rio 2 $39.3M
71% Oculus $12.0M
63% Draft Day $9.8M
77% Noah $7.6M
40% Divergent $7.4M
13% God's Not Dead $5.5M
92% The Grand Budapest Hotel $4.1M
79% Muppets Most Wanted $2.3M
78% Mr. Peabody & Sherman $1.9M

Coming Soon

44% The Other Woman Apr 25
—— Brick Mansions Apr 25
72% The Amazing Spider-Man 2 May 02
100% Neighbors May 09
—— Godzilla May 16

New Episodes Tonight

—— Anger Management: Season 2
92% Community: Season 5
55% The Crazy Ones: Season 1
100% Grey's Anatomy: Season 10
90% Parenthood: Season 5
100% Parks and Recreation: Season 6
100% Portlandia: Season 4
55% Reign: Season 1
0% Saint George: Season 1
100% Scandal: Season 3
73% Sirens: Season 1
68% Surviving Jack: Season 1
92% Vikings: Season 2

Discuss Last Night's Shows

72% The 100: Season 1
97% The Americans: Season 2
100% Arrow: Season 2
—— Baby Daddy: Season 3
—— Hot in Cleveland: Season 5
100% Legit: Season 2
—— Melissa & Joey: Season 3
36% Mixology: Season 1
—— The Soul Man: Season 3
—— Workaholics: Season 4

Certified Fresh TV

77% About a Boy: Season 1
97% The Americans: Season 2
82% The Blacklist: Season 1
88% Brooklyn Nine-Nine: Season 1
85% Enlisted: Season 1
98% Fargo: Season 1
98% Game of Thrones: Season 4
100% Hannibal: Season 2
96% Silicon Valley: Season 1

F/X2 (F/X 2: The Deadly Art of Illusion) Reviews

Page 1 of 6
Anthony L

Super Reviewer

September 29, 2009
I preferred this one to the first, the only thing that lets it down is the lack of moustache under Brian Dennehy?s nose!
deano
deano

Super Reviewer

March 15, 2007
This sequel is more exciting and great special effects with Bryan Brown than the original. Brown seeks the help of ex-cop Brian Dennehy when he gets into trouble.
Anthony V

Super Reviewer

August 13, 2007
Half-hearted followup to the first film isn't nearly as good.
April 8, 2013
The original "F/X" is a personal favorite of mine from the 80s when it comes to the suspense/thriller genre with a good dose of action. Even with that praise I'm hard pressed to believe that it really needed a sequel. The original had a solid rap-up for a good story that did not warrant the audience to revisit. Still five years after the fact "F/X 2" was released not surprisingly to a luke warm response.

Everyone's favorite intelligent movie special effects artist Rollie Tyler (Bryan Brown) returns only this time he's given up the special effects business for good and has moved on to making high tech children's toys. This doesn't stop his new lover's ex-husband to ask him to provide some nifty illusions in order to catch a killer. Obviously not learning from his first experience, Rollie accepts and predictably the stunt turns sour with his lover's ex getting his throat sliced. Smelling a cover-up, Rollie enlists the help of his old buddy Leo McCarthy (Bryan Dennehy), now a private detective, to save his life.

Typical with sequels the plot is just a muddled down carbon copy of the original. I mean what are the chances Rollie would be part of a police cover-up twice in his life-time... seriously?! His illusion trickery this time around also seem far more forced, shoed-in to the plot in order to meet the audiences expectations in how he outsmarts the baddies (though the mechanical clown is the most memorable). Due to this director Richard Franklin, responsible for the respectable sequel "Psycho II", is handcuffed to the script and Lalo Schifrin's music, though not bad, seems more like a rejected score for "Romancing the Stone".

What helps this sequel rise above its predicable plot is the return of its high caliber cast headed by Bryan Brown and Brian Dennehy. In the first "F/X" they were mostly off screen from each other but here they get plenty of time and material to bounce off one another. I also dug how they brought back Dennehy's little crush as the cutesy computer nerd. Their flirting was one of the nice highlights of the original and it's nice to see that aspect brought back.

"F/X 2" is a by-the-numbers sequel. It's just plain and simple not as engaging as the first trying desperately trying to make up for the fact by shoe-horning in scenes of "movie magic" despite our character not even being in the profession any longer. The chemistry between our two leads makes it worth a watch but not worth a hunt. If you can find it in a double feature with the first "F/X" then I say go for it as it is watchable, just not memorable.
rodjeckrich
February 6, 2013
I saw this in the early 90's without really seeing the first. I don't think that I got much out of it as I wasn't familiar with the character's background from the first but it was ok. I remember a clown type scene and those are always good
filmguy55
June 21, 2007
Bryan Brown's best performance. Great Script. A very fun thriller. A movie you can watch over and over.
mouse21
August 11, 2006
Hah! Watch for the crack about the movie Cocktail from Brian Demmehy about Bryan Brown's appearance with Tom cruise.
July 2, 2007
Nowhere near as good as the first. I'm pretty sure a large chunk of it was filmed in the mall near my childhood home in Toronto.
Robyn M.
August 7, 2012
wow, i can't believe i actually enjoyed this detecive/ thriller film. I learned a crazy fact about the first F/X the film bombed in the theatre but made record sales on video back in 1986, that the producer made a sequal and oddly enough did the opposite effect doing better in Theatres
Gordon Franklin Terry Sr
November 30, 2011
. . . well, I LOVE it at least.
(I'm rating this 100 percent fresh because
YES: I would see this film again
and YES: I'd tell 5 of my friends to see it as well)

F/X 2 is a light-hearted sequel to the serious original.

I love the montage where we get to see Dodi Fayed (who would go on to die with Princess Diana) laughing and having a good time while on set.

In the first FX, Bryan Brown needed help from Brian Dennehy and in this one Brian Dennehy needs Bryan Brown's help.

directed by the same guy who directed PATRICK, Richard Franklin.

hey, either you like it or you don't:

I like it; so its 100%.

Richard Franklin 1948 - 2007 Rest in Peace

Dodi Fayed 1955 - 1997 Rest in Peace
jay jay
November 28, 2009
a film that i remembered bein brilliant when i was younger but when i watched it back recently i didnt feel the same. a cool film with some good moments but not a classic.
Page 1 of 6
Find us on:                 
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile