Gloomy Sunday Reviews

Page 1 of 16
Super Reviewer
July 1, 2007
creaky melodrama
Super Reviewer
½ September 20, 2011
The story about the song is absurd, the menage-a-trois is not sexy, but the atmosphere is nice and you cant take yours eyes off Erika Marozsan..she is just gorgeous. A little slow, though, and a little uneventful. Really good ending, however, which almost makes me forgive the rest.
Super Reviewer
½ October 30, 2011
Seeing its high rating and believing it to be factual, I pounced upon it. But no sooner did the movie begin I found the proceedings to be too good to be true. And so it obviously was. The factual events are finely woven in this drama. I'd have enjoyed it more had it been without certain scenes. But having seen it, I guess they were necessary, or at least some of them. But I can't have everything my way. Putting that aside, the movie takes a dull start, but gets its grip firm as it advances, then takes a nap, then again becomes interesting,... and so on and forth. This tale of love, lies and betrayal is full of highs and lows. Predictable as it stands, it's interesting nevertheless. In fact, it's so great that (happened to encounter in Trivia section) it's been running daily since 2001 (till at least 10.30.2011 when this was written if the facts were factual!!!) at the Academy Arts Centre Theatre in Christchurch, New Zealand (so what if it's an accommodating 11 seat theater?).

Surely worth a watch... and a gloomy Sunday may help more ;-)
Super Reviewer
½ January 19, 2011
As lovely and haunting as the song...
Blaster1618
Super Reviewer
½ September 13, 2010
It?s a has a good twist but wrapped around it is a European period romance story and the low point is the character development. Erika Marozsan simple beauty really bumps this film up a ½ star. But her character in the beginning you know she?s Yugoslavian and possibly gypsy and at one point studied the piano, that?s it for her character. The other characters are as equally one dimensional. The relationship is also hit and miss. The scenes when she is with either of the men contain allot of nudity, but it is just a matter of course of the exposition. Not like Hollywood movies where so many times every time someone looses clothing the theme turns pornographic. The restaurant owner and the piano player both being her lover and good friends just seem too contrived for me. Worth a watch I?m usually on to the twist but the ending had me trying to put it together furiously.
mvieaddict
Super Reviewer
January 23, 2009
This film is about the life of a woman, who got caught between 2 lovers in times of the Holocaust.
Words cannot describe how beautiful and powerful this film is. Everything is excellent. The sets are beautiful, and the scenes are beautifully composed. Ilona is great as the lady which every men would fall in love with. She has this elegance which is very magnetic. Laszlo's work as the restaurant owner is convincing, he has every detail of the restaurant under control.

This film's about love, jealousy, hate, and betrayal and revenge. The actors were stunning. To understand the whole concept of this film, you must watch it. "Gloomy Sunday" is a masterpiece.
½ March 29, 2009
Miss Marozsan was dazzling, and Krol and Dionisi likeable, but the story just didn't have enough juice to make it more than passingly interesting. Does killing an 80-year-old man who had 50 years to enjoy the fruits of his ill-gotten gains satisfy the vengeance quota? I think not.
½ December 16, 2010
Beautiful and lush German drama centered around a love triangle in pre-WWII Hungary.
I loved every second of it and it even made me cry.
Absolutely fantastic.
June 26, 2007
Haunting melody, alternate lifestyles, a heart-wrenching movie about difficult choices amid difficult times -- and the price of not choosing
June 21, 2014
On the surface, "Gloomy Sunday" is an ordinary melodrama. And yet, it has something strangely hypnotic, it works more like a song rather than a movie. So it is no wonder, that it works best, in the moment it draws us into the gloomy notes of its title's (in)famous song.
½ September 8, 2012
Having grown up in post-war Bavaria, I gravitate toward atmospheric films which remind me of the melancholy of the middle of the century in Central Europe. This film stretches the heart strings to the breaking point. At first, I thought it was to be "Jules and Jim", then it became much more. J&J seems almost frivolous by comparison. Gloomy Sunday haunts in a way only hinted at by "The Damned" and others. GS is melodrama, yes. But it is as bittersweet as the best dark chocolate.
½ August 18, 2012
It's more Tod than Liebe !
July 28, 2012
Rolf Schuebel looks at a different side of WWII in this love story full of crime and passion. The love triangle pursues the true meaning of an epic piano piece and why it has it's effect on all who hear it. I was fully captivated until the end credits. This is an absolute must-see!
½ January 28, 2012
There are 2 versions -- we have seen both. Different slants but equally compelling love stories.
August 9, 2011
absolutely amazing and deathly sad
February 6, 2011
A very good European film that tells a true story in the late '30s just before the start of WWII. You won't forget this movie.
November 30, 2010
good performances by joachim krol, hungarian beauty erika marozsan and haunting melody of rezso seress with holocaust as background works for me.
Blaster1618
Super Reviewer
½ September 13, 2010
It?s a has a good twist but wrapped around it is a European period romance story and the low point is the character development. Erika Marozsan simple beauty really bumps this film up a ½ star. But her character in the beginning you know she?s Yugoslavian and possibly gypsy and at one point studied the piano, that?s it for her character. The other characters are as equally one dimensional. The relationship is also hit and miss. The scenes when she is with either of the men contain allot of nudity, but it is just a matter of course of the exposition. Not like Hollywood movies where so many times every time someone looses clothing the theme turns pornographic. The restaurant owner and the piano player both being her lover and good friends just seem too contrived for me. Worth a watch I?m usually on to the twist but the ending had me trying to put it together furiously.
½ February 3, 2010
A wonderfully powerful and melancholy film beautifully filmed in Budapest. Marvelous!
Page 1 of 16