The Goods: Live Hard, Sell Hard Reviews

Page 1 of 6
Nell Minow
Movie Mom at Yahoo! Movies
February 18, 2012
Full Review | Original Score: B-
David Nusair
Reel Film Reviews
January 18, 2010
...an agreeable piece of work...
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Peter Bradshaw
Guardian
October 23, 2009
This film is so crass and so lowbrow its hairline is level with the carpet underlay. And yet, and yet, I must hang my head and confess I did laugh a fair bit.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Leo Robson
Financial Times
October 23, 2009
The film is randy and rough-hewn even by the standards of its genre. I could claim to have found it tasteless and mirthless, but that would be a lie.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5

Daily Record [UK]
October 23, 2009
Packed with some very average and at times very filthy jokes, The Goods is thankfully redeemed by some decent laugh-out loud moments.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Sonny Bunch
Washington Times
August 28, 2009
The humor comes not from the picture's setup but the absurd behavior of its characters. Mr. Piven does an able variation on Ari Gold, the caustic agent from Entourage
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
J. R. Jones
Chicago Reader
August 20, 2009
It's a grab bag of comic ideas, but some of the gags are impressively perverse.
Jimmy O
Film Snobs
August 17, 2009
Needs Less Sentiment and More Charles Napier. But Still Rapid-Fire Funny in Nature.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Top Critic
Ben Lyons
At the Movies
August 17, 2009
I definitely laughed, just not enough to fully recommend it.
Austin Kennedy
Sin Magazine
August 16, 2009
I think it's worth it just to witness the comic genius of Kathryn Hahn.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Linda Cook
Quad City Times (Davenport, IA)
August 16, 2009
Raunchy, crass and simply loopy, this is a movie you're either going to love or hate.
| Original Score: 3.5/4
James Rocchi
Redbox
August 14, 2009
The Goods is uneven, mis-shapen, lumpy, bumpy and scattershot; it's also funny, or funny in bits, or very funny in very weird bits that almost, kind of, make up for how uneven, mis-shapen, lumpy, bumpy and scattershot it is.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Drew McWeeny
HitFix
August 14, 2009
'The Goods' isn't going to revolutionize comedy, but it does exactly what a good comedy should: it focuses on laughs above all else.
Top Critic
Michael Phillips
Chicago Tribune
August 14, 2009
I laughed more than I thought I would (though of course hope springs eternal at the movies) and if I ran the Hollywood zoo, I'd give these particular screenwriters another assignment.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
Robert Abele
Los Angeles Times
August 14, 2009
The Goods: Live Hard, Sell Hard has a beater's clunky, fast-moving charm.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Stan Hall
Oregonian
August 14, 2009
The gold standard of used-car comedies is still, well, Used Cars. But I laughed out loud about a dozen times watching The Goods, and not even in spite of myself.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
Christian Toto
What Would Toto Watch?
August 14, 2009
The Goods gets saved from the scrap heap by the winning comic players behind star Jeremy Piven.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Bruce Kirkland
Jam! Movies
August 14, 2009
Start laughing.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Sean Means
Salt Lake Tribune
August 14, 2009
Like Don's sales technique, the movie ... pushes its humor aggressively but closes the deal.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Chris Hewitt (St. Paul)
St. Paul Pioneer Press
August 14, 2009
Piven's aggressive energy doesn't wear well over the course of the movie, but the supporting cast is stocked with choice comedy talent.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Page 1 of 6