Opening

100% Guardians of the Galaxy Aug 01
—— Get On Up Aug 01
93% Calvary Aug 01
—— Behaving Badly Aug 01
50% Child Of God Aug 01

Top Box Office

57% Lucy $44.0M
62% Hercules $29.0M
91% Dawn Of The Planet Of The Apes $16.4M
57% The Purge: Anarchy $9.9M
43% Planes: Fire And Rescue $9.3M
18% Sex Tape $6.0M
17% Transformers: Age of Extinction $4.6M
15% And So It Goes $4.6M
23% Tammy $3.4M
90% A Most Wanted Man $2.7M

Coming Soon

—— Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles Aug 08
—— Step Up: All In Aug 08
—— Into The Storm Aug 08
86% What If Aug 08
—— The Hundred-foot Journey Aug 08

New Episodes Tonight

—— The Fosters: Season 2
—— Hit the Floor: Season 2
—— Longmire: Season 3
—— Major Crimes: Season 3
73% Murder in the First: Season 1
—— Switched at Birth: Season 3
67% Teen Wolf: Season 4
62% Under the Dome: Season 2

Discuss Last Night's Shows

—— Agatha Christie's Poirot : Season 12
100% Falling Skies: Season 4
79% Halt and Catch Fire: Season 1
64% The Last Ship: Season 1
100% Last Tango in Halifax: Season 2
69% The Leftovers: Season 1
60% The Lottery: Season 1
87% Manhattan: Season 1
100% Masters of Sex: Season 2
50% The Musketeers: Season 1
78% Ray Donovan: Season 2
46% Reckless: Season 1
87% The Strain: Season 1
50% True Blood: Season 7
—— Unforgettable: Season 2
80% Vicious: Season 1
—— Witches of East End: Season 2

Certified Fresh TV

85% The Bridge (FX): Season 2
83% Extant: Season 1
79% Halt and Catch Fire: Season 1
100% Masters of Sex: Season 2
73% Murder in the First: Season 1
97% Orange is the New Black: Season 2
97% Orphan Black: Season 2
82% Satisfaction: Season 1
87% The Strain: Season 1
85% Welcome to Sweden: Season 1
77% You're the Worst: Season 1

Grande École Reviews

Page 2 of 4
March 14, 2012
It is a beautifully acted film, and the lead character's confusion and heart being torn in all directions is so true to life. It's also a very educated film with all the subject matter that is touched on. Oh, and maybe the best shower scenes of any movie!! Yummy!
Tyler V.
December 18, 2010
Well made and more professional than one would imagine.
SarahTheMovieLover
SarahTheMovieLover

Super Reviewer

January 29, 2010
I really was let down by this film. Usually after watching a movie I will want to explain it to a friend of mine, but this one...I honestly dont think I could explain. There are several themes that are touched on but then never fully explored or concluded. Some of the characters were entirely pointless. And dont even get me started on the ending. Sure, I could see why some people would say this movie is "realistic", but when I watch a movie I want one that actually leads to some sort of conclusion and where at least most of the questions formed are answered. This movie just left me somewhat bored and craving more answers which I never got. Disappointing.

What did this movie teach me? Some girls are actually delusional.
dilansasque
April 25, 2010
(France) a Robert Salis film
October 29, 2008
naked gay frenchmen making love, naked gay frenchmen in an orgy, naked gay frenchmen cooking eggs..lol..nudity everywhere..sooo erotic..and ofcourse boring.
nkkigrrl28
December 23, 2009
Heart-breaking, moving, intense, insanely sexy, wow. Felt like a movie made for me. I identified with Paul a lot, and it's impossible not to fall hard for the earnest Mécir.
dfwforeignbuff
October 23, 2009
Grande École (Great School/Grand School/Upper Class Private School) Paul is an upper-class young adult who is about to start out at a private school. He has chosen to live with two new roommates instead of living with his girlfriend, Agnès. As a result of this he gets little time to see her. Agnès starts to find the cracks in their relationship when she suspects Paul's attraction to a new roommate Louis-Arnault which leaves Paul in denial of any homosexual attraction. She decides to make a bet with him, who ever gets Louis-Arnault first wins. If she gets him, he will stop exploring his sexuality, if he does, she will leave him. In between this bet, Paul meets Mecir, a young Arabic worker who is keen on him. With Mecir, Paul goes on a journey of discovery that teaches him more to life than barriers of class, cultural differences and sexuality. "Grand Ccole" aspires to be the sort of existential drama that the French New Wave directors produced in the 1950s and 1960. It pours race, class, intellect, economic status, history and sexuality into a big martini shaker and pours out a heady concoction. But just what the film is, in the end, is not clear at all. It's slickly produced, and director Salis captures the physicality of the characters extremely well in the sex scenes and especially in the swim team's locker room. The cast is uneven, but they do nicely convey suppressed longings, deep suspicions and secret glances. And these things hold our attention even when the film wallows in its stew. When it starts boiling over, the dialog takes a distasteful turn, becoming preachy (Mecir actually insists that he went to a posh school too: the school of life!) and dipping into some awkward dream sequences. It's still watchable, but only because we can glimpse real friendship, desire and loyalty deep inside. Better than most gay movies but still pretty typical. This one is satisfying.. three stars maybe four
May 30, 2007
Ooh my goodness pornnnnnnnnn! Or heavy romance.. Ah! I don't get this movie lol...
jazza923
January 23, 2009
Tastefully done and professionally made. The performances are quite good, as is the score. The characters develop well and you feel for them, Good direction.
Piblopan
June 2, 2008
This French film is like an unfulfilled promise. I feel as though it could have been so much more. I was totally satisfied visually in the sexual sense; after all it was the DVD cover what made me see the movie in the first place. However I really don't see how it explains anything about French society, race, sexuality or anything at all about France. As a matter of fact it seems to me it is a highly unrealistic movie. Far from being a story about social tension between classes and races, Grande Ecole is much like an erotic film. It is centered on the mostly sexual relationships of several rich students who attend a private school and the relationship of one of the boys with an Arab - French poor young man. Just because there is a character that belongs to an immigrant family and there is lots of both hetero and homosexual sex in the movie; that doesn?t mean that it is a social examination of the real, present day, French society. The acting was good and so was the music. Everyone is super hot, so in that sense it?s not so different from Hollywood.
April 2, 2008
Didn't like it that much.
sleepykiss
April 21, 2008
Reminded me of THE DREAMERS (which I really didnt care for, all hype) so much that I thought MPitt would pop up in a scene sooner or later LOL. Disappointing for a French flick.
logged81
April 17, 2008
Complicated, but simple movie. Drags you into the plot. nicely done - caught me.
January 7, 2008
This was a decent film. I enjoy the inhibitions of the french with nudity and sex. At times I felt the characters were a little inconsistent, but there was plenty of visual stimulation to make up for that. If you are not comfortable with male gay sexual scenes then this is not the movie for you. However, I think it captures the complexity of the heart and coming to terms with sexual orientation quite well. Not to mention a pretty steamy locker room shower scene that I fully appreciated.
hannsenctan
October 29, 2007
Nude scenes, for adults only :D
April 2, 2007
This european film is not for everyone, it deals with sexual experimentation, and relations.
April 2, 2007
This was a very artistic film, and because of that parts of the movie leave you a bit confused.
December 16, 2006
That is an abundance of very pale flesh. It's an interesting premise. Reminds me of KM.0 for some reason.
December 8, 2006
A poor excuse for voyeurism. Has the longest naked shower scene outside of porn!
Page 2 of 4
Find us on:                     
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile