The Green Hornet Reviews

Page 1 of 519
Super Reviewer
June 20, 2011
To me this was an interesting comedy-drama-action movie that if anything showed off the acting chops and skill of Jay Chou here in the states. The movie was uneven at times but overall it was enjoyable. I think it perhaps rand a bit long almost 2 hours. It could have been about 15-20 minutes shorter.
hunterjt13
Super Reviewer
½ May 2, 2014
A spoiled playboy becomes a super-hero after his father leaves him a newspaper fortune.
Seth Rogen proved in Take this Waltz that he can play a character that isn't just Seth Rogen speaking someone else's words, but this is Seth Rogen speaking someone else's words. The rest of the cast is a comic book farce with each character playing type with no dimension.
The plot is about as predictable as it could be without a single twist or variation from the formula.
Overall, I hope Seth Rogen got a lot of money for this film because aside from that, the film fills no other purpose.
Super Reviewer
January 24, 2011
To be honest I think they simply made this film purely to see the 'Black Beauty' (the car) realised and looking sexy as hell in a modern action film. I kinda got the same impression with the film adaptations of 'The Dukes of Hazzard' and 'Starsky and Hutch'.

There is so much car porn in this film its quite incredible. I am a bit of a car bod myself so I admit it was quite nice to see the interior of Reid's garage, but geez! car porn!!. Still the whole thing is predictably your typical blockbuster fare with silly over the top stunts, obvious CGI in places and a very very unoriginal plot which seems to be the standard Hollywood plot formula for all films of this genre. Wash, rinse and repeat folks.

First up, the very odd Terminator style POV vision used for Kato when he fights was rather strange and misplaced I must say, what the hell! frankly. Also the nasty violent segments and graphic deaths of one or two people (Chudnosky especially) seemed out of place for what is advertised as a film for all. Its one of these curious blends where the film appears to be advertised for the family yet out of nowhere BLAMMO! nasty violence which certainly isn't for the kids. Is this a loose comedy parody or a semi violent crime fighting flick? make your minds up.

Cast wise Rogen wasn't too bad as Reid despite him sounding like Fozzie the Bear every time he raised his voice. Some of his quips were amusing yet harmless and his clumsy overweight attempts at action were funny in dumb slapstick kinda way. Chou as Kato was as you would expect really...slick, slim and fast, a basic Bruce Lee air of coolness about his person. The fact he is the guy that does all the actual dangerous heroic stuff yet Reid/The Hornet is useless and gets all the attention was pretty formulaic admittedly, but that's the main gag really.

It does work but also kinda smears the image of this crime fighting hero, bit like 'The Lone Ranger' flick really. Could you say they are ruining the legacy of these characters? I guess, but hey anything for a quick laugh and a quick buck right.

Waltz was good as the baddie of course although this type of film seems way below his standards and he did feel a bit out of place if you ask me. Diaz was hardly used and quite right too as shes practically useless in everything she's ever done and a terrible actress.

Usual silly adaptation from Hollywood here. The original show was a cult but this is just a churned out cookie cutter affair with much over the top nonsense just as we saw with 'Charlie's Angels' and 'The A-Team'. All of which will be (has been) forgotten in the blink of an eye. I'm still waiting for the obligatory film adaptations of 'Airwolf' and 'The Six Million Dollar Man'...come on down.
LWOODS04
Super Reviewer
April 15, 2010
Cast: Seth Rogen, Jay Chou, Cameron Diaz, Tom Wilkinson, Christoph Waltz, David Harbour, Edward James Olmos, Jamie Harris, Chad Coleman, Edward Furlong

Director: Michel Gondry

Summary: Seth Rogen and writing partner Evan Goldberg (Superbad) apply their trademark humor to the superhero genre in this big-screen action-adventure about a newspaper-publishing playboy (Rogen) who dons a disguise to fight crime after hours. As the Green Hornet, Britt Reid's power is no longer limited to the printed page -- and thanks to a nimble martial-arts expert (Jay Chou), he has the skills to expose the city's roughest criminals.

My Thoughts: "It's fun, funny, full of action, and you get a great tag team in The Green Hornet and Kato. I like Seth Rogen, I find his kind of humor funny. He was great in this, but Kato a.k.a. Jay Chou completely stole the show. He was just great in this. The film is just so much fun with all the fight/chase scenes and the bantering back forth from Britt and Kato. I also loved Christopher Waltz as the insecure thug. Cameron Diaz does well in her small part as well. The car is amazing. All the gadgets are incredible. It puts a lot of super hero cars to shame. Loved the movie. Probably much more then other's will. Give it a go if you have yet too."
Super Reviewer
July 13, 2012
Meh, it was okay.
Bathsheba Monk
Super Reviewer
½ May 18, 2011
When a movie calls forth my inner Professor, that's not a good thing, is it? It was a great idea. Great acting, really. But it was the slowest action adventure movie I've ever seen. I kept counting my pills to make sure I didn't take an extra one wondering why everything's going in slo-mo. And the relationship between the two male leads, I kept thinking...are they supposed to be gay? Just trying to figure out the dynamic. I think the problem was in the editing...a lot of stuff in the front should have landed on the proverbial floor and it didn't. Okay, so he had a prick father and he was the non-achieving rich kid. A lot of this background stuff could've been covered in five word asides, they did't warrant scenes. "Yeah, Dad was a prick." "Don't touch my Porsche." See? like that. So, 20% idea, 20% acting, 10% sets. The rest- stay after school!
Super Reviewer
½ September 24, 2011
Yay! I love this movie. I don't know how anyone with a brain cell and a sense of humour can't enjoy it. It's not meant to be serious, the original series was almost very tongue in cheek so why did people expect the movie to be any different? Lighten up and just enjoy it for what it is.... a load of green cheese!
sanjurosamurai
Super Reviewer
½ January 12, 2011
a pleasant surprise. this wasnt a "great" film as it was a bit cliche for the genre despite the stronger language and violence and there were no real revelations here, but the movie's strength was its extremely effective humor. i dont even usually like seth rogen or cameron diaz but i laughed in this film multiple times and the chemistry between rogen and chou was solid. although a bit beneath them it was solid to see wilkinson and waltz and james franco's cameo might have been the funniest part of the entire film. overall a very entertaining movie.
FiLmCrAzY
Super Reviewer
January 16, 2011
Well for a super hero movie its enjoyable enough!
I think with these movies its just an excuse for the leads to live out their boy hood fantasy!
Its an amusing movie in places and is a fun simple movie, but its simply no more than just a simple silly movie with a mediocre storyline and okay acting from what is quite a good cast!
middleeasternfilms
Super Reviewer
½ September 23, 2011
Not as bad as I thought it would be, quite honestly. The storyline was pretty decent really and the movie as a whole wasn't too slick. Seth Rogan surprised me quite a bit. Worth a watch or two.
Super Reviewer
½ July 5, 2010
I was kind of on the fence about seeing this, but having given it a shot now I gotta say it is a fun entertainment film, that could have been much more. First off, it's director Michel Gondry, so you expect incredible visuals and quirky camera angles. There is some of that, mostly in the really fun action scenes, but not enough. The rest of the film is the rather generic vigilante super hero flick, with all the good and bad that comes with it. Waltz makes for a fun villain with his insecurity and illusions of grandeur. Rogen may be an unusual choice for the leading man, but actually delivers and has a good chemistry with the real action hero of the film, Jay Chou. There is plenty of humor and the film never tries to be more than it actually is. So in the end it is a more than decent piece of entertainment, no more, no less.
cosmo313
Super Reviewer
June 29, 2010
After an absence of many years the Green Hornet finally made a return in early 2011 for a feature film, no doubt with the hopes of introducing this character for a whole new generation and starting up the franchise again.

I have some mixed feelings about this movie, so I'm gonna do something I really don't do too often, and give it some multiple ratings. It's gets 3 overall as a movie, but as entertainment, it gets a 4. The biggest issues are that the script is quite lackluster, uneven, and filled with a lot of jokes that dont quite work. It's also a major case of style over substance.

As a superhero story, it's fairly standard stuff, but as a hybrid action comedy, it's a little odd. And by odd, I mean uneven, but also unique since Michel Gondry brings his signature style and quirk to things. So yeah, it's style over substance, but the style is awesome, and gives the film a lot of energy and flair.

This film has some neat surreal moments, some strong montages, and some killer needle drops. The action is wild and plentiful, and I had a blast watching it. I'm just bummed that the acting, like the jokes, was hit or miss. Jay Chou is definitely the best thing here, stealing all the scenes, being a total badass, and holding everything together. Rogen is good at playing the spoiled jerk, and, while I kinda liked seeing him bumble around as a hero (due to inexperience), he didn't seem quite as convincing as he needed to be. I liked that Cameron Diaz gracefully showed her age, but she's really just kinda there, and doesn't do a whole lot or add much. Waltz, as we know, makes a good villain, but he's too silly and campy here, and not nearly as threatening as he needed to be.

Maybe the whole point of the movie is that it wasn't supposed to take itself seriously, which I can deal with, but only when the film is far stronger overall. I did like two of the nice cameos though, those were fun. At least the Black Beauty was awesome. Like Chou, it's the real highlight.

This film is by no means terrible, but it doesn't live up to it's potential, and that's a real shame. Give this one a watch on cable or something, and just sit back and enjoy it as a fun, yet forgettable ride.
Super Reviewer
January 29, 2011
While there are flashes of the film it could have been, The Green Hornet fails as an action movie, it fails as comedy, and it fails as a 3-D movie. The last is actually the worse offense - not only is it yet another crappy 2D conversion, but they barely even bothered to do that. I frequently lowered my glasses and realized just how little they converted. Entire scenes were left in 2D, and those that were altered had only a very few objects adjusted.
I'm also not sure they could have cast this movie worse. Seth Rogen is just Seth Rogen (as usual), which only works in all-out comedy films, and even then only in supporting roles. Cameron Diaz has no reason being in the movie at all, and Jay Chou's action skills were fine, but he has limited acting ability and his broken english was kind of annoying.
All in all, a typical January movie graveyard film. Not the worst film I'm bound to see this year, and an okay distraction for two hours, but definitely sub-par and nothing I'll ever need to watch again.
TheGame90
Super Reviewer
½ August 16, 2011
He has no excuse what so ever...since he wrote this himself.....Seth Rogan...Is not funny. Crappy, loud movie without a point
Nate Z.
Super Reviewer
½ July 6, 2011
Unassuming, impetuous, and with a lowbrow sense of duty, Green Hornet gets by on its self-aware, campy, chummy tone thanks to co-writer/star Seth Rogen. The slimmed-down comedian plays a news media playboy who tries to right his life by becoming a super hero with his deceased father's assistant, the kung-fu connoisseur Kato (Jay Chou, making a very poor English acting debut). Where the movie works best is when it upends formula convention, like making every character insecure about their personal standing, including the villain (Oscar-winner Christoph Waltz), who is aggravated that the "Green Hornet" is dazzling criminals with his digital age marketing. When the film thumbs its nose at convention, it plays like a mischievous prank on super hero/crime fighting tales. Green Hornet is a movie that at times is too busy, too childish, bordering on a bromance between Rogen and Chou. But with director Michel Gondry (Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind) at the helm, there are enough quirky visuals to keep things interesting to the noisy climax. Rogen and his film can never be accused of being too serious, and given the material that's a blessing.

Nate's Grade: B-
blkbomb
Super Reviewer
½ July 5, 2011
Britt Reid: Everyone knows, when you corner a hornet, you get stung.

I went in expecting to like The Green Hornet and I did. It's for the most part a very cool, funny, and entertaining movie. Sure it's stupid, but it's co-written by Seth Rogen so you already know before hand that it's not Oscar level writing he's trying to accomplish. He sells stupid humor and I for one continue buying it. Kato(Jay Chou) really makes this movie go from dull and boring to extremely entertaining. Seth Rogen is pretty much the same Seth Rogen in this movie, but I like his character; so I'm a little biased in my opinion. James Franco has a really cool cameo right at the start of the movie. Christoph Waltz definitely could have been used more effectively, but he was still good as the villain. Overall I had fun watching The Green Hornet, but it's not a great movie by any stretch of the imagination.
TheDudeLebowski65
Super Reviewer
January 20, 2011
Like everyone else, I was afraid to see this due to the negative reviews. However, sometimes ignoring negative reviews is the way to go, and sometimes you gotta trust your gut. Well, I expected something bad with The Green Hornet, but I was surprised that it was a good flick. I thought that The Green Hornet was underrated and it doesn't deserve the bad press it has gotten. I can understand why some people feel it's bad, but as someone who's never read the comics, I really enjoyed it. Obviously the diehard fans of the comics will think this is a piece of crap, but for common filmgoers who've never read the comics, then you're most likely going to enjoy this film. Seth Rogen stars as Britt Reid and he is an asshole, I mean thats the way he plays the character and thats the best way to describe him in the film. The film is a mindless actioner with bits of comedy thrown in. The film is meant to be mindless entertainment, and like I said might appeal more to people who've never read the comics. The Green Hornet is an underrated film that shouldn't be dismissed that quickly. Yes, there are things that could have been done better. But for what it is, The Green Hornet is a fun, action film that has a fairly good cast. Take it or leave it, I think this is the type of film that appeals more to film buffs than comic fans because comic fans will definitely scrutinize everything about the film. While the film lover will either love it or hate, but will keep a more open mind.
Super Reviewer
½ November 29, 2010
I guess I had heard so many bad things about this movie going into it I had low expectations, but ended up pleasantly surprised. I did enjoy it and I am no big comic fan. It was just fun for me.
Page 1 of 519