• PG-13, 1 hr. 41 min.
  • Comedy
  • Directed By:
    Howard Deutch
    In Theaters:
    Dec 22, 1995 Wide
    On DVD:
    Nov 18, 1997
  • Warner Home Video

Movies Like Grumpier Old Men

Opening

63% The Maze Runner Sep 19
65% A Walk Among the Tombstones Sep 19
42% This Is Where I Leave You Sep 19
82% Tracks Sep 19
93% The Guest Sep 17

Top Box Office

11% No Good Deed $24.3M
70% Dolphin Tale 2 $15.9M
92% Guardians of the Galaxy $8.1M
19% Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles $4.9M
20% Let's Be Cops $4.4M
88% The Drop $4.1M
37% If I Stay $3.9M
35% The November Man $2.8M
35% The Giver $2.6M
67% The Hundred-Foot Journey $2.4M

Coming Soon

67% The Equalizer Sep 26
70% The Boxtrolls Sep 26
84% The Two Faces of January Sep 26
—— Two Night Stand Sep 26
91% Jimi: All Is by My Side Sep 26

Premieres Tonight

100% The Good Wife: Season 6
58% Madam Secretary: Season 1
—— Miss Marple: Season 6

New Episodes Tonight

—— American Dad!: Season 11
87% Boardwalk Empire: Season 5
53% The Lottery: Season 1
89% Manhattan: Season 1
97% Masters of Sex: Season 2
78% Ray Donovan: Season 2
87% The Strain: Season 1
—— Witches of East End: Season 2

Discuss Last Night's Shows

91% Doctor Who: Season 8
—— Hell on Wheels: Season 4
40% Intruders: Season 1
90% Outlander: Season 1

Grumpier Old Men Reviews

Page 1 of 59
Shawn E

Super Reviewer

March 14, 2011
A good sequel to a great classic! Once again Walter Matthau has the best one-liners!
Anthony L

Super Reviewer

September 25, 2009
Walter Matthau & Jack Lemmon. Rest in peace fellas, we miss ya! You too Burgess Meredith!
Jason O

Super Reviewer

August 15, 2009
"Grumpy Old Men" has been one of my favorite comedy movies since I first saw it when it came out. Therefore, I couldn't wait to see "Grumpier Old Men," the sequel. It's pretty much just like the first one except with more laughs and some new faces. In this one, Max (Walter Matthau) has a son (Kevin Pollak) and John (Jack Lemmon) has a daughter (Daryl Hannah). Max's son and John's daughter are supposed to be getting married soon. Ann Margaret returns in this one and another new person is Sophia Loren along with her Italian mom. Best of all, Grandpa Gustafson returns with his hilarious one-liners in this sequel.
"Grumpier Old Men" is even funnier than the first movie was, and the new people fit in with the original cast perfectly. Everybody does a great job of acting. There's a lot of parts in the movie that are unforgettable once you see them such as when Walter Matthau and Jack Lemmon temporarily turn their backs on one another and start playing hilarious pranks on each other, and the fight with the huge catfish. To top it all off, after the movie is over, it shows a lot of outtakes from the film, mainly with Grandpa Gustafson and they're just as hilarious as the movie itself was.

If you liked the first movie or if you like comedy movies where the laughs never stop, I recommend getting "Grumpier Old Men." NOTE: That was my Amazon review from the year 2000. Awesome sequel...can't beat Lemmon and Matthau as a duo...R.I.P.
cosmo313
cosmo313

Super Reviewer

January 4, 2008
The laughs and the story aren't QUITE as strong this time around, but it's still quite a funny and entertaining film.
deano
deano

Super Reviewer

May 27, 2007
The second teaming of Jack Lemmon and Walter Matthau as cranky, lifelong neighbours provides - surprisingly - as many chuckles and guffaws as their first outing. Once again, Burgess Meredith, as Lemmon's sex-obsessed father, gets most of the belly laughs.
Jason S

Super Reviewer

January 31, 2007
A great and funny sequel to the original. No snow in this one!
sainttom93
sainttom93

Super Reviewer

January 14, 2007
a fine topping for their careers
Sunil J

Super Reviewer

January 31, 2008
Sophia Loren cracks me up in this movie.
Lee K

Super Reviewer

July 20, 2008
funny movie, however the prise of these two movies is one of the last performances by the very funny burgess meredith his part as jack lemmons dad is the reason i watch these movies!
alanjayh
alanjayh

Super Reviewer

July 1, 2008
Still grumpy and still funny..
jim222001us
jim222001us

Super Reviewer

August 6, 2007
Just like the original, I love this movie eventhough it's not great, it's entertaining and harmless. Lemmon and Mattau were always fun together. Burgess Meredith's perverted one-liners are funny once again here as well.
iLeo
iLeo

Super Reviewer

April 11, 2007
Still one of the best movies ever! One of my favorites.
Haley A

Super Reviewer

March 18, 2006
"Restauante!"
April 11, 2013
Not quite as good as the first one, but the original was so awesome it's hard to live up to. Still, a hilarious movie, but see Grumpy Old Men first, if you haven't already.
April 15, 2007
As is the case with most sequels, it wasn't good as the original but at least this one ties in nicely with the story from the original and still has enough funny moments and slapstick that makes it worth a look.
February 2, 2007
"Even your infantile penis jokes seem funny and witty this morning."

They weren't grumpier.

"Here's some matches. Set yourself on fire."
February 14, 2009
Walther Mattheau and Jack Lemon are absolutely great together...So this one is as good as the first one.
firstamb
July 8, 2008
Two years later, Lemmon and Matthaw return to the same formula with this follow up, more than sequel, in the saga of the two misfit Minnesota old men. Not as funny or sweet as the first, but the old guys seem to be having a great time.
themasterpiece69
March 18, 2007
This is a great sequel.Once again all of the characters work well together.I highly recommend this movie.
bonasjsb
January 22, 2008
Same jokes, some still funny. A 70 year old Sophia Loren is not hot though, no matter how hard they try.
Page 1 of 59
Find us on:                     
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile