Halloween H2O - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Halloween H2O Reviews

Page 1 of 3
Steve Newton
Georgia Straight
February 2, 2014
Too bad it's only a smidgen better than the series' first first sequel, 1981's gory Halloween II.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
Felix Vasquez Jr.
Cinema Crazed
October 31, 2013
[Director] Miner is tasked with getting these characters in one setting, and he accomplishes his duty for the most part.
David Nusair
Reel Film Reviews
March 9, 2011
Unquestionably the best of the Halloween followups...
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Tim Brayton
Antagony & Ecstasy
August 24, 2008
It's somewhere around minute 58 - that's in a film that runs 80 minutes before credits, folks - before anything particularly interesting happens.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/10
Top Critic
Derek Adams
Time Out
August 16, 2007
While Carpenter's film was all about economy and a skilful use of empty space, Miner's busy compositions have a cluttered feel that is echoed by superfluous orchestral music.
Chuck O'Leary
FulvueDrive-in.com
January 24, 2006
H2O successfully captures the foreboding mood of Carpenter's 1978 original before eventually settling for the obvious. And at 86 minutes, it's just too short.
| Original Score: 2.5/4
Ron Wells
Film Threat
December 6, 2005
Brilliant and witty. Those are two words that will not be used to described this film, nor, I suspect, its target audience.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Robin Clifford
Reeling Reviews
April 9, 2005
The horror genre is not my forte in either taste or interest, but I have to admit, I enjoyed sitting through Halloween: H20.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
Judith Egerton
Courier-Journal (Louisville, KY)
July 1, 2004
The selfish pea brains who brought their bright-eyed infant to...this violent horror movie deserve a private, late-night visit from the uncompromising Michael Myers.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Eric D. Snider
EricDSnider.com
November 29, 2003
Then Michael shows up and blah blah blah.
Full Review | Original Score: D+
John R. McEwen
Film Quips Online
February 8, 2003
If you're a Halloween fan, you're probably over 30, and this film will suit you--you need your sleep.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Top Critic
Paul Tatara
CNN.com
November 15, 2002
I'm currently stuck watching the revival of a movie form that appalled me the first time around, then disappeared from view after a torrent of thoughtless re-workings that resembled bloody tape loops.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Margaret A. McGurk
Cincinnati Enquirer
October 15, 2002
The biggest mystery about Halloween: H20 is why the filmmakers bothered to send it to theaters.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Kevin N. Laforest
Montreal Film Journal
September 10, 2002
I thought the original Halloween was overrated, the 2 or three cheapie sequels I've seen were even worse, and this new entry is still crap.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
Wade Major
Boxoffice Magazine
June 25, 2002
...a welcome resurrection for which fans will undoubtedly be grateful.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Top Critic
Rick Groen
Globe and Mail
April 12, 2002
...Steve Miner is no Carpenter.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
Jeremiah Kipp
ToxicUniverse.com
January 27, 2002
Halloween: Twenty Years Later has forgotten the wellspring from which it flows.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
James Kendrick
Q Network Film Desk
February 27, 2001
Nothing more than a dull retread of worn-out cliches, buoyed only by the much-anticipated return of a familiar face.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
Top Critic
Kevin Thomas
Los Angeles Times
February 21, 2001
Halloween: H20 is as stylish and scary as it is ultra-violent. It brings back a stunning Jamie Lee Curtis in the role that made her a star and it's a work of superior craftsmanship in all aspects.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Robert Roten
Laramie Movie Scope
January 1, 2001
The movie was competently staged by director Steve Miner, and the actors were fine. It held my interest throughout. It's just that this story has worn itself out from the retelling.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
Page 1 of 3