The Handmaid's Tale Reviews

Page 1 of 10
Super Reviewer
April 28, 2011
The best thing to be said about this is that Natasha Richardson is really, really beautiful in the film. What a dull adaptation of a slightly less dull novel.
Super Reviewer
June 3, 2009
The film adaptation of a dystopian future as envisaged by Margaret Atwood. Part morality tale, and part cautionary, told with a touch of intrigue. Natasha Richardson plays a woman caught in a web of moral rationalization and becomes the chosen vessel for the Commander's (Robert Duvall) seed. His wife (Faye Dunaway) holds the reigns of power. This film does not hold up well, as most tales of the future do not. The prop master is limited in what technology he can predict and therefore the film looks dated. However, the moral and religious climate still makes the basic premise a possibility and for that, the story still resonates. Well done, but this viewer would recommend the book over this. The three main actors do a credible job, as do the supporting actors, Aidan Quinn and Elizabeth McGovern.
Super Reviewer
January 3, 2010
The screenplay and the film fall short of Margaret Atwood's novel. It seems more like Lifetime porn than a disturbing look at a possible future. Disappointing.
½ November 6, 2009
Very controversial feminest film. To think that woman were ever used as baby makers and how little value was placed on them as human beings. In some cultures this attitude actually still exists, slavery and bigitry in any form sickens me. Great job on this film.
March 30, 2009
It doesn't fastenate me the way it did a decade ago. Still it was nice to rewatch her great early performance so soon after her passing.
½ March 8, 2009
Follows one woman's story in a future where women are enslaved and society's sins are purified through military occupation.
The cast makes it interesting at times, but overall a forgettable film.
October 14, 2008
If you haven't already picked up the book, do that! Though the movie was nowhere as deep and meaningful as the book, it tries to stay true on some points. Three stars for trying.
June 27, 2008
this was a very interesting movie about the future and having trouble bearing children.....very weird...lol
October 1, 2007
this is one of my favorite movies. this movie totally made you think about what it would be like to deal with that kind of society. Great love story.
½ May 8, 2007
This movie was not as good as the book. The book scared the heck out of me. REALLY good book! OK movie.
April 10, 2007
A well done film about a futuristic United States that is being runned by a fascist theologist government, the nation is called the Republic of Gilead, an ecological disaster caused a lot of women and men to be sterile and the few fertile ones are used as breeders. A great film based on the novel by Margaret Atwood.
March 28, 2007
I give this such a high rating because I saw it as a young girl, and it's basic story and images stuck with me through adulthood-until I was forced to use what I remembered of the movie to figure out the title. Haunting.
December 6, 2006
This is a very powerful drama that I am a big fan of...The acting in this film is superb and it is one of the many films that was shot in North Carolina...
½ May 28, 2015
The film itself was great, by being a controversial feminist film. Natasha Richardson was gorgeous. But compared to the novel, much of the important aspects of the dystopian society was missing, and I felt as though the film was not as thrilling. Overall, a nice film to watch when you want to feel a little bit better about your current life.
½ January 21, 2015
I think the movie abridged to much from the book to be good. Many elements that connected you (or disconnected you) from the characters were missing. Not a fair representation of the book at all.
½ October 17, 2014
A weak adaptation of Atwood's famous novel, in addition to a rushed, cliché ending that deviates far from the novel.
½ February 22, 2013
Intelligent science fiction with good actors.
½ December 11, 2012
Really badly done, this looks like a very low-budget TV movie, at best. This was at the top of my Netflix queue since she died and just came in the mail. I think they have like one copy worldwide.
½ July 14, 2012
Tale leaves you with an uneasy feeling. I love Duvall and he plays his role well. The movie has a futuristic mood about it but seems believable which is what makes it a chilling tale.
February 12, 2011
After reading the book in my senior English class, I didn't think the story could get much worse. I was wrong. Very wrong. Not only does the movie come across as even more preachy and boring than the book, which is no easy feat, it also fails to deliver on any cinematic level.
Page 1 of 10