Opening

65% The Equalizer Sep 26
71% The Boxtrolls Sep 26
84% The Two Faces of January Sep 26
20% Two Night Stand Sep 26
81% Jimi: All Is by My Side Sep 26

Top Box Office

63% The Maze Runner $32.5M
66% A Walk Among the Tombstones $12.8M
44% This Is Where I Leave You $11.6M
11% No Good Deed $9.8M
71% Dolphin Tale 2 $8.9M
92% Guardians of the Galaxy $5.2M
20% Let's Be Cops $2.7M
19% Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles $2.7M
89% The Drop $2.1M
37% If I Stay $1.8M

Coming Soon

56% Men, Women & Children Oct 01
87% Gone Girl Oct 03
—— Annabelle Oct 03
67% The Good Lie Oct 03
—— Left Behind Oct 03

Premieres Tonight

—— Chicago Fire: Season 3
—— Faking It: Season 2
—— Marvel's Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D.: Season 2
—— NCIS: Season 12
64% NCIS: New Orleans: Season 1
—— Person Of Interest: Season 4

New Episodes Tonight

—— Awkward: Season 4
—— Brickleberry: Season 3
56% Forever: Season 1
67% Matador: Season 1
75% The Mindy Project: Season 3
100% New Girl: Season 4
85% Sons of Anarchy: Season 7

Discuss Last Night's Shows

—— The Big Bang Theory: Season 8
80% The Blacklist: Season 2
71% Dallas: Season 3
56% Forever: Season 1
94% Gotham: Season 1
36% Scorpion: Season 1
100% Sleepy Hollow: Season 2
62% Under the Dome: Season 2

Harold & Kumar Escape from Guantanamo Bay Reviews

Page 1 of 7
Ben Kenigsberg
Time Out
Top Critic IconTop Critic

Full Review Source: Time Out | Original Score: 3/5

November 17, 2011
Dave White
Movies.com

Full Review Source: Movies.com | Original Score: 4.5/5

April 4, 2011

The Australian

As the idea is no longer fresh and the plot has basically the same structure, it doesn't quite match the original. But the sequel delivers enough new developments to keep it interesting.

Full Review Source: The Australian | Original Score: 3.5/5

September 12, 2008
Jason Di Rosso
MovieTime, ABC Radio National

For a stoner comedy, it makes some lucid points.

Full Review Source: MovieTime, ABC Radio National

September 5, 2008
Jarrod Walker
FILMINK (Australia)

Just make sure that you're really stoned when you see it.

Full Review Source: FILMINK (Australia)

September 5, 2008
Jim Schembri
The Age (Australia)

Amid the dick jokes, drug taking and gratuitous nudity, the film also serves as a salient reminder about what actually ranks as subversive comedy.

Full Review Source: The Age (Australia) | Original Score: 3.5/5

September 5, 2008
Christopher Smith
Bangor Daily News (Maine)

Uses its sly brand of humor to say plenty about the state of race relations in the U.S. (really).

Full Review Source: Bangor Daily News (Maine) | Original Score: B

August 9, 2008
Beth Accomando
KPBS.org

Now only a pot comedy would conceive of turning George W. into a goofy, dare I say even likable pothead who's afraid of his dad and Dick Cheney.

Full Review Source: KPBS.org

July 31, 2008
Prairie Miller
NewsBlaze

A prison sex slave rebellion having to do with an organ sandwich, don't ask, and a detour over to Bush's secret sex den, make this ballsy doper duo and their Blue State versus Red State rant hard to resist.

Full Review Source: NewsBlaze

July 18, 2008
Stephen Silver
The Trend

Those wishing to defend the honor of the red states will find much to dislike here, starting with the depiction of Southerners as rednecks and Klansmen

| Original Score: 4/5

June 11, 2008
Michael Dance
The Cinema Source

A surprisingly 'post-9/11' movie, it combines typical stoner humor with a plot about ethnic profiling, torture, and War on Terror paranoia. But, like, in a funny way.

Full Review Source: The Cinema Source | Original Score: B

June 3, 2008
Kevin McCarthy
BDK Reviews

This movie has everything. Violence, racism, incest, sex, drugs, gross-out humor, insane amounts of nudity and Neil Patrick Harris!

Full Review Source: BDK Reviews | Original Score: 4.5/5

May 12, 2008
Phil Villarreal
Arizona Daily Star

The sequel proves you can still have fun with Harold and Kumar, but you can never go back to White Castle again.

Full Review Source: Arizona Daily Star | Original Score: 3/4

May 12, 2008
David Denby
New Yorker
Top Critic IconTop Critic

Harold & Kumar Escape from Guantánamo Bay, a loosely strung-together collection of sex, race, and stoner jokes, is, by any rational standard, a terrible movie, yet I kept laughing at it, and I came out of the theatre in a good mood.

Full Review Source: New Yorker

May 12, 2008
Michael W. Phillips, Jr.
Goatdog's Movies

Overall, it's an enjoyable sequel, although not up to the admittedly high--heh--standards of the first installment.

Full Review Source: Goatdog's Movies | Original Score: 3/5

May 11, 2008
Rob Humanick
Projection Booth

After two films of their joyous irresponsibility and hedonistic pleasures, I can say with confidence that I wouldn't want to live in a world without them.

Full Review Source: Projection Booth | Original Score: B-

May 10, 2008
John Beifuss
Commercial Appeal (Memphis, TN)

The gross-out and gay-panic humor is overdone, but like its predecessor, the movie makes some cogent if clumsy points about racial identity.

Full Review Source: Commercial Appeal (Memphis, TN) | Original Score: 2.5/4

May 9, 2008
Stephen Himes
Film Snobs

If you're really, really high, you might think that H&KEfGB suggests that we are only truly free when we transcend our own racial identities.

Full Review Source: Film Snobs | Original Score: 6/10

May 8, 2008

[A]ctually scores more points off the nation's paranoid and repressive post-9/11 mindset than all of Hollywood's hand-wringing war-on-terror dramas put together.

Full Review Source: MSNBC | Original Score: 4/5

May 1, 2008
Tim Brayton
Antagony & Ecstasy

Insightful this film may not be, but that's never its aim. It's about making us laugh at the silly antics of a couple of dudes we met before and pretty much like.

Full Review Source: Antagony & Ecstasy | Original Score: 7/10

April 30, 2008

Atlanta Journal-Constitution
Top Critic IconTop Critic
April 12, 2011
Page 1 of 7
Find us on:                     
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile