Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows - Part 2 - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows - Part 2 Reviews

Page 1 of 16
Kate Muir
Times [UK]
November 18, 2014
The final instalment, Deathly Hallows Part 2, is a bravura duel between good and evil. It's also a cathartic, occasionally clunky nostalgiafest.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
John Serba
MLive.com
November 18, 2014
Come the conclusion, tears no doubt will be shed, probably by those more devoted than I. Whether they cry because of overwhelming emotion or in mourning an era's end, I'm not sure. Probably both.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Carol Cling
Las Vegas Review-Journal
November 18, 2014
Radcliffe retains an endearingly owlish demeanor. But he also captures the quiet determination of a young man determined to confront his life-or-death destiny -- making the world safe for good folks, wizards and Muggles alike -- with admirable aplomb.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
Brad Keefe
Columbus Alive
November 18, 2014
It's a bittersweet end as the final adaptation of the beloved books hits the big screen. Expect tears, both from nostalgia and some truly amazing storytelling.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Top Critic
Christopher Kelly
Fort Worth Star-Telegram/DFW.com
November 18, 2014
For 10 years and eight films we've gotten to watch these young actors grow as people, as performers and as characters. It has been a true coming-of-age saga, in the fullest and most moving sense of the term.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Michael Smith
Tulsa World
November 18, 2014
Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, Part 2 is a fine finish to a franchise that most, including myself, wish would never end.
Sean Burns
Philadelphia Weekly
November 18, 2014
It comes to an end with class, dignity and a fair amount of relief on the part of yours truly.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
Mal Vincent
The Virginian-Pilot
November 18, 2014
Goodbye, Harry. You certainly know how to make an exit.
Sean Means
Salt Lake Tribune
November 18, 2014
The most enduring aspect of the Harry Potter films, and the reason this one works, is the acting of its three young leads.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Aaron Mesh
Willamette Week
November 18, 2014
It unspools like gangbusters.
Cleaver Patterson
Starburst
November 18, 2014
It certainly went out making its presence felt, but in my opinion, though there were explosions aplenty, a few deaths, and everyone inevitably ended up with who they should, I felt it ended with more of a fizz than a bang.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
David Elliott
San Diego Reader
November 18, 2014
The grand finish, if not always inspired, feels necessary. In a sustained, imaginative way, this is the best of any movie series.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Ryan Gilbey
New Statesman
November 18, 2014
The film is strong enough to have the unusual effect of improving its predecessors in the memory simply by association.
Cameron Williams
The Popcorn Junkie
November 18, 2014
Sadly, though, the finale isn't the spectacle the series really deserves, and I feel fans will gloss over the film's dull points and poor direction in favour of facing the reality that 'the Deathly Hallows Part 2' is an average affair.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Chris Tinkham
Under the Radar
November 18, 2014
Deathly Hallows -- Part 2 lives up to the standard set by its predecessors, remaining true to their spirit while also delivering an epic battle royal between Harry (Daniel Radcliffe) and Lord Voldemort (Ralph Fiennes).
Paul Whitington
Irish Independent
November 18, 2014
As to the three principals, they've grown up with the Potter saga and have done so reasonably gracefully.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Alynda Wheat
People Magazine
November 18, 2014
When the time comes to face Harry's fate, Radcliffe confidently, casually shows how much he's matured as an actor.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Toby Young
The Spectator
November 18, 2014
I must confess to being completely unmoved by the Harry Potter phenomenon. The books strike me as derivative and bland, and the film versions are, if anything, even worse.
November 18, 2014
When Yates gets it right, Deathly Hallows: Part Two roars with majestic otherworldly oomph.
William Bibbiani
CraveOnline
November 18, 2014
I for one am glad to see Harry Potter come to a close. It was one of the most reliable film franchises ever to go beyond a trilogy, even at its spottiest, and I imagine that an entire generation will look back on it with fond memories.
Full Review | Original Score: 8.5/10
Page 1 of 16