Haunting of Winchester House - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Haunting of Winchester House Reviews

Page 1 of 5
Super Reviewer
January 31, 2011
The sound was creepier than the movie itself. I think the story was good. But it wasn't done well. Bad acting and terrible special effects. And 70% of the movie was done in darkness. I couldn't figure out half of it. Want me to guess? No thanks.
½ October 13, 2013
Very bad acting, fair special effects, and a story that is just not very interesting. The entire production looks like it was green screened - you can see an outline around the actors nearly the whole movie. Ahh, maybe that is one of the special effects, Spooky! The box says the unrated and uncut version. Is there another? Maybe it is better than this one.
December 7, 2010
"A family moves in to look after the Winchester mansion for a few months, and soon find themselves terrorized by vengeful spirits. With the help of a paranormal investigator they'll unravel the mystery of the house"
Super Reviewer
½ August 26, 2010
Picked this DVD out of the $5 bin at Sprawl Mart cauz the description sounded very interesting so I just had to have it.What a MAJOR disappointment.I watched it just waiting for it to be over.The acting sucked & the special effects were horrible.DONT waste your $$$ or time
March 12, 2010
This sounded like a great movie when I read about it. I am always up for a good horror movie. When I finally watched it, I was completely disappointed. The acting was terrible and the effects were even worse. They could have done so much more with this movie. The only reason it even gets two stars is because I loved the concept of the movie. The rest was a complete fail.
½ March 11, 2010
One of the lamest movies I've seen, and, unfortunately, that does take a lot to say. Horrendous acting, a boring/stupid plot, and slooooooow development. Freakin' SLOW. Plus, it really bothered me that the 16-or-so-year-old apparently was playing a 10-year-old. I guess those in charge of casting were as as confused as the rest of the people involved in this.
½ November 20, 2009
Like the majority of Asylum Film productions, this sleazy company hires people to write, direct, and star in cheap knock-off films of major Hollywood films (Transmorphers = Transformers, 2012 Supernova = 2012, Monster = Cloverfied). Not much is different for Haunting of Winchester House, a loose knock-off of A Haunting in Connecticut; I say loose because the film also borrows heavily from the likes of 13 Ghosts, A Stir of Echoes, and The Sixth Sense. Haunting of Winchester House has two parents and their daughter (a real oddity to the film as she looks fairly old, but ?acts? much, MUCH younger in the film; a real annoyance) head to said haunted house as the caretakers of it. It doesn?t take long before they meet a paranormal expert conveniently moseying around at the house (which is in the middle of nowhere) and offers up his help, which couldn?t come sooner as the house is overrun with all kinds of unfriendly ghosts. For the rest of the film, the parents are forced to try to find their daughter who gets taken away from the ghosts, who want something in return. Like any Asylum film, the quality is low and poor, the effects are cheap, the acting is rough, and the story is all too predictable (anyone with a brain could see the twists coming a mile away). I will say the film actually manages to pull off a couple of moderately creepy moments. The crazy thing about this film is that it?s MILES better than everything Asylum has put out thus far. Gasp, could the company actually be working harder to produce slightly better direct to DVD horror films? Only time will tell, but thankfully Haunting of Winchester House is a decent start. A somewhat amusing, less smelly turd amongst a usual bowl of diarrhea.
October 2, 2014
another supermarket DVD 2.99 DVD combo pack purchase
July 23, 2013
For an asylum film, all is expected. If it means anything, this is the scariest asylum flick ever made yet. Not saying much though.
For the exception of one scene that scared me (probably because I was bored) the rest of the entire film is neither scary, suspenseful or fun to watch.
The pacing is slow.
It doesn't keep your attention.
Awful acting and campy dialogue.
The ending was sort of a surprise but that doesn't impress enough to bring the movie up a notch.
Typical The Asylum film.
½ August 6, 2013
Very cheaply made, uninspired ghost flick. I grew pretty bored with the characters and the overall plot was nothing. The little twist as the end is vastly unoriginal. It's sad that simple things as background bookshelves has to be green-screen, and the mansion looked very silly and small, considering that it was CGI.
April 19, 2013
Most of it was so dark you couldn't even tell what was going on....dreadful.
½ November 22, 2012
An honest attempt at a ghost story that falls from poor acting and logic throughout the film.
June 29, 2011
This gets a one star for the twist at the end, from the start to the end its a strange mix of random ghost scares, an odd injection of stolen plot ideas from more successful movies. Too much is happening all the time which doesnt make sense and the entire time youre watching wanting to turn it off, but continue to watch just to see what the next stupid scene might be. Don't watch this, the actors are absolutely terrible, id go as far to say they're straight out of the directors favorite porno, the special effects are basic at best. The story did have potential, if the script was in a better directors hands and with a better cast this could have been something decent, but as it is. AVOID.
January 31, 2011
Very slow and corny. Don't fall for the awesome cover art...
April 19, 2011
I liked this movie I thought the ending was very interesting. I reccomend this movie!
½ April 10, 2011
This movie was downright brutal to watch. I have a very tolerant ability to watch B horror films; however, this one is particularly bad. The acting is worse than brutal, the story is beyond bad with zero back story provided upfront and early on and the direction is...wait a second there was even a director here- if so I doubt he would want his name on this stinker.

I really tried to watch this one, but I had to turn it off about halfway through due to total boredom and due to how completely bad this one is. Don't waste your time on this one- not even to rent.

Because there is no history provided and no story outlined very well at the beginning of this movie, it basically just starts into a freaky horror show of ghosts and ghouls whom you have no idea who or whats going on. I mean- unless you know about the infamous Winchestor mansion and its rumoured history you will really be scratching your head wondering wtf is happening here. To be honest I know the history and I still was asking myself wtf is happening here.

½ April 8, 2011
This "movie" sucks! Don't watch it. It's not scary, awful special effects, terrible acting and sound. I saw it with some friends and we all were laughing all the time, we tought we were watching Scary Movie 5.
April 3, 2011
This was lazy. I disliked the lack of plot, lack of acting and lack of the explanation as to why the house was haunted. I think they mostly paraded around ghosts for the hell of it.
December 28, 2010
asylum need to stop making movie -_-
½ December 12, 2010
man, the end/twist of this movie is better than the whole thing
Page 1 of 5