Hell Baby Reviews

Page 1 of 2
Todd Gilchrist
Comic Book Resources
September 15, 2013
Hell Baby offers a welcome alternative to the overwrought seriousness of modern horror movies with its frequently hilarious take on familiar genre tropes.
Robert Levin
amNewYork
September 12, 2013
This is just about the one-billionth movie to lampoon the horror genre, but so what? It's hilarious.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
James Verniere
Boston Herald
September 6, 2013
Like 98-minutes of 'MADtv.' I mean that in a good way.
Full Review | Original Score: B plus
Top Critic
Robert Abele
Los Angeles Times
September 5, 2013
Its modest (if occasionally gross-out) stabs at genre parody rarely insult our intelligence and even allow for the kind of retro deadpan silliness Mel Brooks used to underline his louder punch lines.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Top Critic
Mike D'Angelo
AV Club
September 5, 2013
Evenly divided, joke-wise, between complete non-starters and uproarious setpieces that overstay their welcome.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
Top Critic
Stephanie Zacharek
Village Voice
September 3, 2013
The movie is delightfully crude in places (including an instance of relay puking) and just plain silly-clever in others.
Chuck Bowen
Slant Magazine
September 1, 2013
The filmmakers satirize the often obscenely meaningless ways in which people of a certain socioeconomic strata attempt to launder their white guilt.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Matt Donato
We Got This Covered
August 18, 2013
Hell Baby is a devilish laugh-riot, providing hellishly indulgent comedy married with lighthearted slapstick comedy - as long as you're into Thomas Lennon and Robert Ben Garant's typical "immature" style.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
Nathan Rabin
The Dissolve
July 26, 2013
It's genuinely funny, a condition all too rare in horror-comedies, comedies, and movies written by Lennon and Garant.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Top Critic
William Goss
Film.com
January 28, 2013
For every oddly specific Shakespeare reference or detour to the local po-boy joint, there's an ongoing parade of puke and an awful rubber suit with which to contend.
William Bibbiani
CraveOnline
January 22, 2013
It doesn't reinvent the wheel after their anarchic sketch comedy show "The State," but funny is funny, and Hell Baby is very, very funny.
Full Review | Original Score: 7.5/10
Brent Simon
Shared Darkness
September 17, 2013
A slog through improv run amok -- a film that seems allergic toward anything that might be construed as a legitimate throughline, lest that somehow be interpreted as 'selling out,' and not subversive enough.
Full Review | Original Score: D
Dan Kaufman
Paste Magazine
September 12, 2013
Given the talent involved, it's a project that sounds promising (if maybe more than slightly derivative), but it winds up an unfortunate misfire.
Full Review | Original Score: 5.6/10
Sean Means
Salt Lake Tribune
September 10, 2013
The jaw drops at the drought of laughs in the horror spoof "Hell Baby," especially considering the massive amount of comic talent in front of and behind the cameras.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
Kevin Carr
7M Pictures
September 6, 2013
I can't say I didn't laugh during Hell Baby. I just didn't laugh as much as I would have liked to, or as much as I expected to.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Al Alexander
The Patriot Ledger
September 6, 2013
Everything about it stinks, from the sophomoric writing to the sleep-inducing performances. But even more frightening is the feeling that the torture being inflicted by the writing-directing team of Robert Ben Garant and Thomas Lennon will never end.
Full Review | Original Score: F
Jeffrey M. Anderson
Common Sense Media
September 6, 2013
Certainly isn't the worst horror comedy of all time (see Transylmania)... But most of it is still pretty bad.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Simon Abrams
RogerEbert.com
September 6, 2013
It soon becomes apparent that the filmmakers, many of whom worked together on "The State" and "Reno 911!", aren't committed to their film's main conceit.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Sara Stewart
New York Post
September 6, 2013
The film's reliance on female nudity for edge seems approximately as ancient as the withered hag who keeps trying to get it on with Corddry.
Top Critic
Neil Genzlinger
New York Times
September 5, 2013
[It] rarely dares to be smart, settling instead for familiar gags that would have the Devil himself yawning.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Page 1 of 2