Opening

64% The Maze Runner Sep 19
53% This Is Where I Leave You Sep 19
—— A Walk Among the Tombstones Sep 19
82% Tracks Sep 19
92% The Guest Sep 17

Top Box Office

13% No Good Deed $24.3M
73% Dolphin Tale 2 $15.9M
92% Guardians of the Galaxy $8.1M
19% Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles $4.9M
20% Let's Be Cops $4.4M
88% The Drop $4.1M
37% If I Stay $3.9M
36% The November Man $2.8M
33% The Giver $2.6M
67% The Hundred-Foot Journey $2.4M

Coming Soon

68% The Equalizer Sep 26
69% The Boxtrolls Sep 26
86% The Two Faces of January Sep 26
—— Two Night Stand Sep 26
91% Jimi: All Is by My Side Sep 26

Premieres Tonight

—— Brickleberry: Season 3
—— The Mindy Project: Season 3
—— New Girl: Season 4

New Episodes Tonight

88% Finding Carter: Season 1
67% Matador: Season 1
83% Sons of Anarchy: Season 7

Discuss Last Night's Shows

71% Dallas: Season 3
62% Under the Dome: Season 2

Hellboy Reviews

Page 1 of 10
Tyler Hanley
Palo Alto Weekly

Writer/director Guillermo del Toro puts too much effort on image and not enough on background.

| Original Score: 2/4

April 5, 2004
Scott Nash
Three Movie Buffs

Visually attractive, but not much else.

Full Review Source: Three Movie Buffs | Original Score: 2.5/4

April 1, 2004
Richard Roeper
Ebert & Roeper
Top Critic IconTop Critic

... I loved about 49 percent of this movie but I hated 51 percent of it so I'm going to give this film thumbs down.

Full Review Source: Ebert & Roeper

March 29, 2004
Garth Franklin
Dark Horizons

Inventive but derivative, well performed yet slightly hokey, visually lush yet over-stylised.

Full Review Source: Dark Horizons

July 7, 2010
Rob Vaux
Flipside Movie Emporium

Without conveying its uniqueness to a larger audience, it finally becomes an empty spectacle of confusion and lost opportunity.

Full Review Source: Flipside Movie Emporium | Original Score: C

April 2, 2004
Claudia Puig
USA Today
Top Critic IconTop Critic

A fiery action picture destined to please fans of other comics-turned-adventure flicks such as X-Men. The rest of us will find ourselves left out in the cold.

Full Review Source: USA Today | Original Score: 2/4

April 1, 2004
Peter Sobczynski
Critic Doctor

Every scene is an orgy of elaborate visual effects but there is so little to tie them together that the reels could be shown in any order...

Full Review Source: Critic Doctor

March 31, 2004
Christopher Null
Filmcritic.com

del Toro's focus on the mood and the effects unfortunately causes the characters to suffer

Full Review Source: Filmcritic.com | Original Score: 3/5

March 31, 2004
Nick Rogers
State Journal-Register (Springfield, IL)

The promise is in the premise. Next time (and after Hellboy makes millions, there will be a next time), someone just has to make good on it.

Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4

April 1, 2004
Erik Childress
eFilmCritic.com

Hellboy is as magnificent looking a comic book film as I've ever seen, but an increased sense of boredom detached me about midway through.

Full Review Source: eFilmCritic.com | Original Score: 2/4

April 1, 2004
Mark Caro
Chicago Tribune
Top Critic IconTop Critic

The movie feels at odds with itself, embracing the comics' idiosyncratic creations without an idiosyncratic worldview.

Full Review Source: Chicago Tribune | Original Score: 2/4

April 1, 2004
Stephen Whitty
Newark Star-Ledger
Top Critic IconTop Critic

For all the monstrous eviscerations, there's no real heart here.

Full Review Source: Newark Star-Ledger

April 2, 2004
Robert Wilonsky
Dallas Observer

Del Toro has traded the subtlety for special effects that aren't.

Full Review Source: Dallas Observer

April 2, 2004

I enjoyed the first 90 minutes and was ready to give this a recommend, but the last 30 minutes sent the movie straight to hell for me.

Full Review Source: TheMovieChicks.com | Original Score: 2.5/5

April 2, 2004
Jeffrey Overstreet
Christianity Today

... a dull, derivative, poorly plotted movie. Hellboy's enemies are interesting at first, but they wear out their welcome quickly.

Full Review Source: Christianity Today | Original Score: 2/4

December 31, 2004
Mark Collette
Tyler Morning Telegraph (Texas)

The trouble with computer graphics in films these days is that a computer doesn't have half the imagination of a human.

| Original Score: 2/4

September 16, 2004
Thomas Delapa
Boulder Weekly

This isn't the first comic-book movie to think it's the Book of Revelations, but I wish to hell it were the last.

Full Review Source: Boulder Weekly

April 9, 2004
Jake Euker
F5 (Wichita, KS)

Parts of Hellboy are enjoyable enough, I guess, but there's way, way too much to potentially enjoy.

Full Review Source: F5 (Wichita, KS) | Original Score: 2/5

June 16, 2004
Eugene Novikov
Film Blather

Seems to be a blend of X-Men and The Mummy, but even The Mummy has a more coherent mythology.

Full Review Source: Film Blather | Original Score: C

April 1, 2004
Brian Mckay
eFilmCritic.com

Although Perlman's presence provides the heart and soul of Hellboy, the film's fire dies down the moment he disappears from sight

Full Review Source: eFilmCritic.com | Original Score: 3/5

April 16, 2004
Page 1 of 10
Find us on:                     
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile