Hellboy II: The Golden Army (Hellboy 2) Reviews

Page 1 of 13
Mal Vincent
The Virginian-Pilot
December 8, 2014
With Hellboy II: The Golden Army, we miss the personal touches that gave the original its offbeat charm.
Jason Lynch
People Magazine
December 8, 2014
Despite a few standout moments -- particularly Hellboy's drunken rendition of Barry Manilow's "Can't Smile Without You" -- the film is unlikely to beguile those who aren't already fans of the comic.
Stephen Himes
Film Snobs
July 22, 2008
Del Toro seems to use this movie as batting practice for The Hobbit.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
July 8, 2008
Despite a handful of creepy and visionary sequences, this sequel remains limp and unengaging.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Phil Villarreal
Arizona Daily Star
July 12, 2008
About a half hour into Hellboy II: The Golden Army, my friend turned to me and asked "Does this movie have a point?"
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
Matt Soergel
Florida Times-Union
December 8, 2014
The action's pretty pedestrian, and you wouldn't be blamed if you wished they'd just get it over with so that we could get back to the glories of Hellboy himself.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Fernando F. Croce
CinePassion
August 26, 2009
An unfulfilling show
Clay Cane
BET.com
July 3, 2009
Even with the quirky superhero conflicts, there isn't a line you have not heard or a fight you cannot predict.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
Jim Vejvoda
IGN Movies
December 8, 2014
Despite the sheer force of imagination that's on display from the first frame to the last, Hellboy II simply feels like an unnecessary vanity project.
Top Critic
Laremy Legel
Film.com
May 6, 2011
In the end I found myself pulling for the bad guy -- because at least he was interesting.
Full Review | Original Score: D+
Garth Franklin
Dark Horizons
April 5, 2011
While the production design, creatures and many visuals benefit greatly from del Toro's unabashed imagination being allowed to run free, the script is even more enslaved to the mechanically cobbled together conventions of everyday Summer blockbusters.
Margaret Pomeranz
At the Movies (Australia)
December 8, 2014
I'm just not interested in this film very much. I wish I was. But it's good to look at.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Rob Vaux
Flipside Movie Emporium
July 10, 2008
This director has shown us how good he can be, and with a character he adores as much as this one, he should have more to show for it than the mixed bag on display here.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
Simon Abrams
New York Press
July 9, 2008
It's not serious enough to be anything more than gee-whiz fun whose gentle touch is more slight than light by the end.
Michael Dance
The Cinema Source
September 5, 2008
The makeup and costumes are great, but for something so otherwise creative, the story is obvious and predictable.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
Prairie Miller
NewsBlaze
July 6, 2008
Del Toro's followup is infused with the creative guru's unique imaginary world blending the fantastical and frightening, but plays out less like an adventure story on steroids, than a mass murderer's wet dream.
Geoff Berkshire
Metromix.com
July 13, 2008
The disappointing storyline is geektacular nonsense.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Adam Fendelman
HollywoodChicago.com
July 11, 2008
In Hellboy II, director Guillermo del Toro delivers the Hollywood filet mignon we've come to expect wrapped nicely in all the special-effects bacon we've come to desire but without the heart we've come to demand.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Top Critic
Bruce Demara
Toronto Star
July 11, 2008
One can't help but wonder whether Del Toro hasn't misjudged the balance between comedy and gravity in this sequel.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Brian Tallerico
Movie Retriever
July 11, 2008
When Hellboy II: The Golden Army gets to its big, titular climax, it's difficult to care because you can sense that the director doesn't really care either. It's a mere obligation.
Page 1 of 13