Hello I Must Be Going Reviews

Page 1 of 3
Top Critic
Ben Sachs
Chicago Reader
September 21, 2012
Sarah Koskoff's screenplay is flagrantly duplicitous, introducing the heroine as a self-pitying sloth, then trying to pass her off as likable by making nearly all the other characters drips, snobs, or unfeeling scolds.
January 23, 2012
At the end of this hello/goodbye, we'd have to say that though it's a sweet visit ... it's not as memorable as we'd hoped.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
Edward Douglas
ComingSoon.net
January 30, 2012
It's hard to fully appreciate [the film] just for Lynskey's performance, which is often it's one saving grace.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
Austin Kennedy
Sin Magazine
September 26, 2012
It's harmless, and there's really nothing outright awful about the movie, it just could have been so much better if the filmmakers thought outside of the Sundance box for this one.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
Todd McCarthy
Hollywood Reporter
January 21, 2012
A credibly drawn central character is trapped inside a half-cooked dramatic stew in Hello I Must Be Going.
Jeffrey M. Anderson
Combustible Celluloid
September 26, 2012
It has plenty of little moments for a great actress to shine. It's just not very deep, or particularly fresh.
Matt Pais
RedEye
September 20, 2012
Familiar messes that are somewhat too easily cleaned up.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
Keith Uhlich
Time Out
September 4, 2012
Koskoff's script is all stock epiphanies about getting your life in order and following your dreams.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Shawn Levy
Oregonian
September 21, 2012
The script's contrivances and the director's lax handling aren't enough to hold you.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
Top Critic
Peter Debruge
Variety
January 20, 2012
Even the look seems to be at odds with the material.
Harvey S. Karten
Compuserve
September 1, 2012
The emotional range is too limited
Full Review | Original Score: C+
David Noh
Film Journal International
September 6, 2012
An affectless approach muffles any interest one might have in this failed rom-com.
Top Critic
G. Allen Johnson
San Francisco Chronicle
September 20, 2012
Sarah Koskoff's play-it-safe script and Louiso's heavy-handed direction combine to kill the potential of "Hello I Must Be Going."
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Farran Smith Nehme
New York Post
September 7, 2012
Overall, the comedy is a lovely showcase for Lynskey and the rest of the cast.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Top Critic
September 12, 2012
While there are laughs and plenty of them sprinkled throughout, Hello I Must Be Going is predictably sweet and ends up exactly where you think it might, safe and sound.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
Kate Erbland
Film School Rejects
February 1, 2012
Hello I Must Be Going overcomes its formulaic plot with solid performances, genuine warmth and humor, and some uncloying honesty about the nature of relationships.
Landon Palmer
Film School Rejects
June 2, 2014
...a sincerely personal take on its subject matter, opting for three-dimensional leads and earned pathos over quirky character traits, cynical humor, or an invasively stylized visual approach.
Full Review | Original Score: B
Annlee Ellingson
Paste Magazine
September 14, 2012
[Lynskey] woefully underrated as an actress, for her work in Hello I Must Be Going is subtle and tender.
Full Review | Original Score: 6.6/10
Top Critic
Roger Ebert
Chicago Sun-Times
September 20, 2012
Much credit goes here to Christopher Abbott, whose persuasive performance bridges the gap. He's like a living embodiment of the cliche, "I love you enough for the both of us."
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Alonso Duralde
TheWrap
September 6, 2012
But while this is Lynskey's show, the real gut-punch comes from Danner as the uptight and dissatisfied Ruth, who loves her daughter but also wants her to get her life together (and, ideally, the hell out of the house).
Page 1 of 3