Opening

19% Transcendence Apr 18
53% Heaven Is for Real Apr 16
7% A Haunted House 2 Apr 18
88% Bears Apr 18
58% Fading Gigolo Apr 18

Top Box Office

89% Captain America: The Winter Soldier $41.3M
47% Rio 2 $39.3M
71% Oculus $12.0M
62% Draft Day $9.8M
77% Noah $7.6M
41% Divergent $7.4M
13% God's Not Dead $5.5M
92% The Grand Budapest Hotel $4.1M
79% Muppets Most Wanted $2.3M
78% Mr. Peabody & Sherman $1.9M

Coming Soon

40% The Other Woman Apr 25
—— Brick Mansions Apr 25
72% The Amazing Spider-Man 2 May 02
100% Neighbors May 09
—— Godzilla May 16

Premieres Tonight

100% Orphan Black: Season 2

New Episodes Tonight

100% Da Vinci's Demons: Season 2

Discuss Last Night's Shows

—— Continuum: Season 3
100% Hannibal: Season 2
—— Hart of Dixie: Season 3
—— Last Man Standing: Season 3
—— Unforgettable: Season 3

Hobo With a Shotgun Reviews

Page 1 of 124
Anthony L

Super Reviewer

September 10, 2013
Well Machete did it so why not, in many respects Hobo with a Shotgun is better because nothing was expected from it and it sticks to its exploitation roots and then goes one further. It doesn't play for laughs or cameos either, this is the child of Romero, Carpenter, Trenchard-Smith, early Peter Jackson to mention but a few, even Rutger Hauer himself packs enough Grindhouse/Exploitation kudos for it to work as what it sets out to be. Like the Grindhouse project set out to do, this film recreates a film of a very different genre and does it exceptionally well, like it or not, this is one film that ticks all the boxes of what it set out to achieve. I liked it for Rutger Hauer, the many tributes to great horror/Grindhouse/Exploitation classics, The Plague - who are the best villains in recent history by a long way (they need their own film) and for not holding back. I like.
puffchunk
puffchunk

Super Reviewer

August 20, 2013
Pretty fucked up. But then again, it's got Rutger Hauer so I'm not complaining.
cosmo313
cosmo313

Super Reviewer

April 6, 2011
Dear God. This movie.....as far as contemporary grindhouse films (and homages to them go), this is one of the better ones. It's also one of the sickest, most violent, and disturbing films I've seen in quite a while, perhaps ever.

It's also really entertaining, sometimes quite fun, and actually pretty well made for what it is. It's a solid B movie, and that's also the grade it gets (for now). The story is pretty basic and concerns a nameless hobo who rides the rails into the ironically named city of Hopetown- an urban wasteland overrun by corruption, vileness, and degradation. He takes it upon himself to clean up the place using vigilante justice, with a shotgun as his primary tool.

Rutger Hauer gives a solid performance as the Hobo, and actually delivers delivers some monologues that help elevate the film from being purely a trashy exploitation fest. Molly Dunsworth makes her film debut as a hooker with a heart of gold who teams up with the hobo after they help one another out. Brian Downey, Gregory Smith, and Nick Bateman all chew the scenery superbly as the megalomaniacial kingpin and two equally sick sons who all control the city.

Despite being absolutely sick and disgusting ,the effects are really well done, hence their effectiveness. All of the violence is ridiculous and over the top (and almost non stop), but while most of it is supposed to be lighter in tone, some of it actually does become truly sick and disturbing tonally. Even then though, there's a lot of inventiveness to the kills, featuring some stuff I've never seen before, but kinda liked. The film overall is very stylish, featuring all kinds of garish lighting, a mish mash of various styles, and some truly odd set pieces (such as a twisted take on the Last Supper).

This film knows what it is, and isn't trying to be high art. There's a bit of room for some subtext, and you wouldn't have to do a whole lot of reaching to make your case in that regard. This is mostly just supposed to be a demented homage to trashy 70s exploitation flicks, and in that regard, it is highly successful, and not only that, but it firmly earns its place amongst the films it is paying tribute to.

If you are going to see this, and you should (at least once), just be prepared for some really messed up violence, revolting gore, and perhaps have a few drinks before hand.
Sam B

Super Reviewer

May 10, 2013
It takes a little time to understand what "Hobo With a Shotgun" is trying to do, but once it clicks, it becomes apparent that this is a brilliantly executed homage to a very peculiar period in pop culture history.
Christopher H

Super Reviewer

June 18, 2012
Intentionally trashy, gritty, and ultra-violent, this piece of exploitation homage is as good as anyone could expect from a movie titled 'Hobo With a Shotgun'. This movie was originally a fake trailer in 'Grindhouse' and it is very much a 70's style exploitation film (even down to being filmed in Technicolor). Rutgar Haur plays the Hobo and his un-ironic serious performance is a nice offset to the film's over-the-top villains. The plot is very simple with the title character taking the law into his own hands and delivering vigilante justice to a crime-ridden city. However, that's is also the problem. The story is so simple that the characters don't get much depth and end up being forgettably one-dimensional with the exception of the Hobo. Plus the film's abundance of gore and violence can get a little un-settling at times. Recommended strictly to exploitation fanatics.
Spencer S

Super Reviewer

March 31, 2011
A trashy, gritty, exploitative piece of seminal garbage, Hobo with a Shotgun is entertaining in a small scope. Originally a fake trailer for the "Grindhouse" experimentation of Robert Rodriguez and Quentin Tarantino, it is just as filthy and wrong as its counterpart Machete, except much less entertaining. I tried to let go of my inner voice that screamed, "Stop watching this!" because I do enjoy exploitation films when they're done right. Though there are some very prominent elements, and a tragic set of circumstances, the villain was too over the top, the hobo was too unbelievably nonplussed by the antics of this hoard of scoundrels, and it was obviously all about bad effects showing blood spurts and shotgun blasts into people's sternums. It dragged for quite a while, but when he finally gets a hold of the shotgun and starts tormenting the bad seed element in this fictitious wasteland it becomes much more about the effects and less about fleshing out the villainous overlord and his sons. When that view was shifted it was much less about the shoddy dialogue and more about the flowing of fake blood, body parts disappearing, and hobos going on rampages for no good reason. There aren't any competent effects, the quality of the film is below par even with seventies flicks, and the villain is more unsettling than scary or even ferocious. Actually, the most earnest thing to be said about Hobo is that it is unsettling. From the infuriatingly grotesque scenes of bloodshed and human sacrifice to sexual violence, and general warfare among the streets, there is very little solace to be had in any of this. Even the good guys are impractically bad, and there seems to be no outside authority or chance for hope. Even the ending is obtuse and plainly stupid, short and bloody as everyone expects. Rutger Hauer is the main redeeming thing about this, and the fact that he did it thanks to his involvement in the fake trailer, was strange. His performance was interesting if not flawed, and the rest of the cast wasn't memorable but at least passive to Hauer's antics. Truly worthy of the grindhouse moniker.
bbcfloridabound
bbcfloridabound

Super Reviewer

March 1, 2012
7 minutes into this movie and you know its pretty sick. If your into trash, this is your movie. 1/2 Star
paul o.
paul o.

Super Reviewer

February 21, 2012
Funny as hell! The villains are so evil to their core and the hobo is well...very hoboish.
366weirdmovies
366weirdmovies

Super Reviewer

February 4, 2012
A hobo (played by the wonderfully grizzled Rutger Hauer) rides the rails into "Scumtown" and pushed into grabbing a shotgun and sweeping the streets clean of pimps, pushers and child molesters, Better than most grindhouse homages because it leaves the postmodern winking to the side and plays it (mostly) straight-faced, depending on the ridiculous of the style and situation to make its jokes for it. With one film Jason Eisner has made the movie Troma studios had been trying, and failing, to produce for more than 20 years now.
DragonEyeMorrison
DragonEyeMorrison

Super Reviewer

August 8, 2011
Well, it's pretty much impossible to give a very low rating to a movie with Rutger Hauer killing lunatics with a shotgun, but Hobo is no classic grindhouse material either. It has some fun moments, but the Troma-esque over the top bad guys are tedious to watch, and the make the whole movie feel like a very forced cartoon of the grindhouse spirit.
Matt G

Super Reviewer

August 6, 2011
Well, what did you expect? The film is what the title says, this is a 90 minute film about a 'Hobo With a Shotgun'. I enjoyed the film for the most part, being that it is an adaption of a thrown away 'Grindhouse' trailer. Rutger Hauer is pretty much the only thing memorable about this movie, who is simply brilliant and downright hilarious in one of his most gruesome roles yet. The supporting cast is just embarrassing, as well as bad actors. Also, it's hard for me to respect a movie where two brothers set a bus of children on fire, in a very graphic way. The action is fine too watch, but it's not like we've never seen it before. As this is the fourth 'Grindhouse' released, it is not my favorite (that goes to 'Planet Terror'), but it is certainly not the worst (that goes to 'Death Proof'). I absolutely loved the old fashioned messed up color saturation, as well as the endless amount of cheesy dialogue. Still, I felt they could have done a bit more with the Hobo himself as we are only presented with one "fun" scene in which the Hobo rampages through the town. Unfortunately, it does not last very long. Despite those flaws, I had a good amount of fun watching this film, and as I mentioned, Rutger Hauer makes 'Hobo With a Shotgun' worth watching. Recommended.
Phil H

Super Reviewer

August 6, 2011
Second film to be made from the small collection of trailers from the Tarantino/Rodriguez collaboration 'Grindhouse'. The first 'Machete' was a loud in your face mess but was just about watchable down to the brilliant character of Machete and the use of Trejo, this second film is again loud and in your face but isn't quite as fun as 'Machete' for me.

OK so I accept that the film is a no bars hold violent revenge/vigilante thriller with the usual amounts of claret on show that I would now come to expect from RR and Tarantino but this film travels down a route that is really quite nasty and slightly disturbing frankly.

Yes the violence is very comicbook and of course very silly in places, plenty of gun killing going on much like say...'Robocop' with big bullet wounds and blood pumping out all over, the issue I had with the film is the quite nasty violence that was maybe just a step too far. A good example of this was when one of the bad guys kills a school bus load of kids by burning them all to death with a flamethrower inside the bus.

The style of the film is actually a good idea having a hobo go around cleaning up a rotten town, quite the classic concept, Hauer as the hobo was a great casting choice with his grizzled old face much like a grizzled Clint, he staggers around and takes bad guys out with sharp dialog. The look and design is of course grindhouse/exploitation and a homage to all those old crappy flicks, personally I really don't like those kind of flicks as I always just took them for cheap films simply trying to squeeze in tits n ass for the hell of it, if you want that then you might as well watch a porn flick. Anyway, there is a certain 'Crow' vibe going on in this film if you ask me, the extreme unique badguy characters, the dingy lighting with only afew colours used and of course the vigilante theme.

I think this film could of been a much better film had it been made more sensibly without the grindhouse aspect and less ridiculous violence, I like the idea of a hobo going around being the no name hero, its simple and works. This film has its good moments but also has many silly moments too, the worst being 'the Plague' that look like characters out of 'Monty Pythons Holy Grail' and go around killing absolutely anyone including staff in a hospital, at that point the terms 'less is more' or 'over the top' spring to mind despite it being deliberately so. Starts off well but slowly degenerates into a showcase for shock value or bodycount and trying to spill the highest amount of blood ever.
WrenchLT
WrenchLT

Super Reviewer

May 14, 2011
A deliberately trashy carnage-fest which see's Rutger Hauer as a wandering homeless drifter who arrives at a town where crime and fear have replaced harmony and police law. Sick of the injustice he witnesses, he decides to paint the town red with the blood of the sadistic gang that pulls the strings behind the anarchy on its streets.

The film has a surprising amount of bloody violence and gore for a non-horror picture with bloody shotgun impacts, disembowlments and decapitations a taste of what features in this grimy vigilante themed actioner. It's been given the 'grindhouse' treatment in homage to other exploitation films of its type from the 70s and early 80s which was very effective for this film in particular given the subject matter. Special mention also to Rutger Hauer who was perfect in his role and despite the crazy very black humourous tone of the film he manages to be a sympathetic character who adds some humanity to the film as he befriends a prostitute he saved from the streets. Overall I thoght this was a complete ultraviolent blast from start to finish. There's nothing much to it, it is what it is... but it is awesome!
blkbomb
blkbomb

Super Reviewer

July 22, 2011
Hobo: You and me are goin' on a car-ride to hell... and you're riding shotgun! 

I have to say, I'm a little disappointed with Hobo With a Shotgun. It was one of the movies I've been excited to see for awhile and it just didn't thrill me as much as I hade originally thought it would. With that said, it's still a decent and fun exploitation film. 

The movie is full of bloody carnage and inventive kills. And at the end of the day that's all I could really ask for when going into a movie called Hobo With a Shotgun. Rutger Hauer plays that Hobo and although there is nothing exceptional about his performance; he gets the job done. 

The film is completely insane and over-the-top. It's characters are eccentric to say the least. The Drake is one of the most over-the-top characters ever. He screams everything with his hands held up towards the sky. He takes his victims to the Glory Hole, which if your going to kill somebody, is a pretty damn cool way to do it. 

Nothing here is exceptional or at anyway note-worthy, but you'll get what you expected. A fun ride behind the barrel of a shotgun.
Shawn E

Super Reviewer

April 22, 2011
A gritty gore-fest of revenge and self sacrifice for a town that's gone to hell.
TheDudeLebowski65
TheDudeLebowski65

Super Reviewer

May 19, 2011
Hobo With A Shotgun is an ultra violent action film that has lots going for it. The basic idea of the plot is exactly what the title of this film is. Nothing special, just a hobo with a shotgun delivering vigilante justice, one shell at a time. Ultra violent, fast paced action delivery, Hobo With A Shotgun is a no nonsense action film that is brutally violent, and not for the faint of heart. I admire the fact that the filmmakers were able to use such a simplistic idea and turn it into an entertaining, and fun film. Though no the best action film, it certainly is one of the most interesting films in the genre in quite some time. The acting is average, but its deliberate considering that Hobo With A Shotgun is a Grindhouse style film. As far as the action is concerned, Hobo With A Shotgun delivers insane, over the top action that the word ridiculous doesn't seem adequate to describe the content of this film. Rutger Huaer is one bad assed hero in this over the top actioner. Though not fo everyone, Hobo With A Shotgun will definitely appeal to fans of Tarantino and Rodriguez' Grindhouse films, Death Proof and Planet Terror. An over the top action film that delivers the goods, Hobo With A Shotgun is one action film that you won't easily forget this year. With a straight up title like this film, how can one forget it? One terrific, yet gruesome original action film that is just as fun as it is shocking.
Lewis C

Super Reviewer

February 2, 2011
"I'm gonna wash this blood off with YOUR blood."

Remember that initial contest-winning Hobo with a Shotgun trailer? The movie uses that as a starting point, and then proceeds to get way weirder, gorier, more over the top, and very zany. I wouldn't call this a "good" movie, but it is very entertaining in spots, and it's creative enough to keep the joke going beyond the simple premise of the trailer.

Just be prepared for a lot of blood, truly funny dialogue and a lot of equally opportunity violence. No one is safe in Hope Town, including heroes, heroines, kids, and everyone in-between. If you're anything like me, you won't be able to help chuckling at how laughably extreme the violence gets at times, it reminded me of one of the gory Japanese flicks like The Machine Girl more than anything else.

Don't expect a lot from Hobo with a Shotgun, just a lot more (and more, and more) of the faux-grindhouse carnage that the trailer offered. I think I like the idea that a movie like this can be made more than I like the actual movie.
DerekA101
DerekA101

Super Reviewer

July 11, 2011
Well, that was fun...I didn't love it, but it's everything you want out of a B movie: bums, prostitutes, violence, and lots of blood.Rutger Hauer was damn good in this too by the way.
axadntpron
axadntpron

Super Reviewer

May 26, 2011
Everything Grindhouse wanted to be, but better.
Page 1 of 124
Find us on:                 
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile