Hostel

Hostel

61%
  • R, 1 hr. 34 min.
  • Horror
  • Directed By:
    Eli Roth
    In Theaters:
    Jan 6, 2006 Wide
    On DVD:
    Apr 18, 2006
  • Lions Gate Films
  • Hostel
    1 minutes 17 seconds
    Added: May 9, 2008

Opening

65% The Maze Runner Sep 19
65% A Walk Among the Tombstones Sep 19
52% This Is Where I Leave You Sep 19
84% Tracks Sep 19
92% The Guest Sep 17

Top Box Office

11% No Good Deed $24.3M
72% Dolphin Tale 2 $15.9M
92% Guardians of the Galaxy $8.1M
19% Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles $4.9M
20% Let's Be Cops $4.4M
89% The Drop $4.1M
37% If I Stay $3.9M
36% The November Man $2.8M
33% The Giver $2.6M
67% The Hundred-Foot Journey $2.4M

Coming Soon

68% The Equalizer Sep 26
70% The Boxtrolls Sep 26
86% The Two Faces of January Sep 26
—— Two Night Stand Sep 26
91% Jimi: All Is by My Side Sep 26

Premieres Tonight

24% The Mysteries of Laura: Season 1
59% Red Band Society: Season 1

New Episodes Tonight

86% The Bridge (FX): Season 2
83% Extant: Season 1
—— Franklin & Bash: Season 4
—— The League: Season 6
56% Legends: Season 1

Discuss Last Night's Shows

—— Brickleberry: Season 3
88% Finding Carter: Season 1
67% Matador: Season 1
71% The Mindy Project: Season 3
100% New Girl: Season 4
83% Sons of Anarchy: Season 7

Hostel Reviews

Page 1 of 1210
Jens S

Super Reviewer

June 13, 2006
It starts out as a stupid dope and sex comedy for a while before things get uncomfortable and ultimately unbearably cruel. And for the longest time it's easy to keep your distance to the film, shake your head at the mediocre acting and unrealistic character decisions. In the last 30 minutes the film goes so batshit crazy, incredibly cruel and basically out of its way to give each character what they deserve that it's actually kinda fun. At least if you don't mind watching someone's eye hanging out of the socket getting cut off with a pair of scissors. Insane.
TheDudeLebowski65
TheDudeLebowski65

Super Reviewer

June 9, 2010
After giving the first Hostel a second viewing, I found myself liking it more than the first time. The first time I saw this film, I absolutely despised it. I didn't like it whatsoever. I don't know what I liked from the second viewing, but I guess that it what it was supposed to. The gore is unrelenting, this film is violent and disgusting, and it's a true thrill ride and brings Horror porn to a whole new level. Eli Roth is a fairly decent director; I also enjoyed his first film, Cabin Fever. Hostel is definitely not for the faint of heart, there are some strong graphic scenes of violence that even the strong stomachs won't be able to tolerate. A decent enough film, only the second time around Hostel was a good film but I personally prefer the Saw series. Hostel has definitely unnerving sequences that aren't for the squeamish. The film is very much a different type of film than the Saw series, but it still has the vibe. Hostel is yet another gore riddled torture porn horror flick that will most likely appeal to fans of horror that enjoy good gore. This is the only film in the trilogy that I enjoyed, and that I really recommend. This is worth watching if you want something a bit different, and very disturbing. This definitely one of few original ideas for a horror films that works. The film has its flaws, but Eli Roth delivers a good flick that definitely is worth your time. This is a work of a director who took a risk, and it has definitely paid off.
Jason C

Super Reviewer

October 25, 2011
Now this is a horror movie that you can sink your teeth into. Assuming of course you have an appetite for this level of depravity. "Hostel" has a perfectly acceptable build and a very original plot for a horror movie. When it hits it's stride, it goes straight for the jugular with relentless brutality. We're not talking about hokey little gore scenes either, this is filled with believable torture and violence. It is not for the weak of heart. Along with "Cabin Fever", which I also enjoy, Eli Roth has proven he can more than hold his own in the horror genre. Watch this, it's cool.
Eric A

Super Reviewer

October 2, 2011
It's okay, just what I expected. For what it is, i think it does well with the gore and storytelling. However, the film takes SO long to get started and into the mix of things, that it hurts the film a bit.
murphmann93
murphmann93

Super Reviewer

June 23, 2011
Creepy and definitely had me scared!
3niR
3niR

Super Reviewer

February 25, 2010
So much nudity that made me forgot what this movie was about. When will the film industry start thinking about making a decent horror movie instead of piling up with porn scenes in it? The torture scenes was the only horrifying part that made this movie worth it. But do I recommend this to watch? Not really. It's cheap. Not worth your money or your time.
KJ P

Super Reviewer

January 18, 2010
It's not a movie! It's a non-talented porn film with blood, and it is even more dreadful than watching paint dry! Its more like watching wet paint run down the walls!
Japes
Japes

Super Reviewer

August 13, 2010
It was okay. The intensity and gore was really impressive and enjoyable. I think the movie had some plot holes, like the random little kids running around like a badass gang. What was that?

Jay Hernandez was amazing in the movie though! My favorite character and I'm really glad he was able to survive at the end!

The movie leaves you with a lot of questions that I kind of wanted answers too, like why are they killing tourists? Why are they getting paid? Who really cares? Then I thought the nudity parts were a little unnecessary and exploited the women just a bit. I guess if you're a horny teenage boy you didn't mind those parts.

It was an all right movie, not bad. I probably wouldn't have watched it if Jay Hernandez wasn't in it...
Bannan i

Super Reviewer

March 14, 2007
Up there with Dead Snow, hands down. Can't believe it took me THIS long to finally watch it! I love impromptu gorewhore movie marathons! :D
FilmFanatik
FilmFanatik

Super Reviewer

January 12, 2007
I was on the fence about this movie for a while, I can safely say that its not the piece of crap I once made it out to be, but I still don't regard it as a classic. Just not my kind of horror film I guess.
Conner R

Super Reviewer

November 17, 2009
Another example that Eli Roth is exactly what the horror genre needs right now. Directors are too afraid to have fun in their movies, it's all about shock and awe. This film is such a brilliant piece in that it allows the audience to have fun at the movies again. It makes you laugh and creeped out at the same time. There's so much charm and energy that you can't help but fall in love with this. The characters are scarily accurate and do exactly what they would in the given circumstances.
Anthony L

Super Reviewer

September 29, 2009
I liked it a lot, it is probably one of the best and most original horrors of the last 10 years. Only watch if you like your horror to be dark though as this isn?t your run of the mill highschool slasher movie!
LorenzoVonMatterhorn
LorenzoVonMatterhorn

Super Reviewer

April 4, 2009
"Welcome To Your Worst Nightmare"

Three backpackers head to a Slovakian city that promises to meet their hedonistic expectations, with no idea of the hell that awaits them.

REVIEW
Half silly sex farce and half gore-fest, Hostel is unworthy of the hype and controversy it received upon release. It starts excellently, mysteriously and impressively, before descending into clichéd American's in Amsterdam, looking for sex and drugs. Sure, this does provide us with plenty of boob action, but it does little to develop this characters beyond mere caricature. This first section drags, and it's only when the gruesome moments start coming that Hostel springs to life. Sliced ankles, severed fingers and pus-oozing eyeballs are just some of the lovely images you can feast on. Eli Roth intended to push audiences to their limit with this film, "torture-porn", but there's not nearly enough gory or inventive moments to make Hostel overly memorable, nor was I ever truly on the edge of my seat with my hands over my eyes. That being said, it is a great idea for a film and it does have it moments, but I just wish Roth had pushed it even further. Your better off watching the first couple of Saw films, for a more inventive take on the "torture-porn" sub-genre.
Jani H

Super Reviewer

November 28, 2007
Seems like Eli Roth is a protege for Quentin Tarantino. His first feature, "Cabin Fever" was a total fuck-up, a perfect example of a film that has nothing original in it. Tarantino's sin every now and then... But Tarantino is a good filmmaker and especially a writer.

The duo team up for "Hostel", Big T as a producer and Roth behind the camera. After 15 minutes I lost it for a first time when the characters discussed about the war in Slovakia. What war? Get the facts straight if your writing a screenplay.

The screenplay is in fact very mediocre, weak at times. The film only lives of the torture scenes, nothing more. Ok, those scenes were made in a decent way, I'll give credit to that.

The main characters are lousy, the Slovakian females are beautiful. What more can I say. Only for the avid horror fans.
cancercapricorn2002
cancercapricorn2002

Super Reviewer

July 1, 2007
"Hostel" is definitely not a film for everyone. With intense depictions of torture and camera shots that force the viewer to observe every gory detail, "Hostel" pushes the R rating to its limit.

Produced by Quentin Tarantino and written and directed by new comer Eli Roth, this film gave the horror movie genre a wake up call that it desperately needed after the rise of the pg-13 horror films

The film begins with three friends Paxton (Jay Hernandez) Josh (Derek Richardson) and their new found friend Oli (Eythor Gudjonsson) who are backpacking through Europe. Paxton is the typical college guy who encourages all of the bad behavior that they participate in. Josh on the other hand is the shy type and has to be forced to do anything. Then there is the laid back Icelander Oli who Josh and Paxton met on their travels and has now joined their group.

Of course they partake in the activities of drug use and other debauchery that characters in horror movies usually do, but what they are really looking for are beautiful women. This is when the three bump into a local in Amsterdam who tells them of a secret hostel in Slovakia where the most gorgeous women are located.

Unable to resist, the three jump on the next train to Slovakia. At the hostel things start to take turn for the worse when after the first night Oli is missing. After worrying a bit Paxton and Josh brush it off and decide to continue partying with the girls they have met. Naturally the next morning Josh cannot be found. Paxton then becomes desperate to find his missing friends. Interrogating the girls they were with Paxton is lead to a place where people are violently tortured as a way of fulfilling people's fantasies and reaching a new emotional rush.

The horror movie genre has become extremely formulaic recently with movies that are either remakes of older films or use every cliché possible. Fortunately Roth being a fan of horror movies knows what has become tiresome and tries breaks away from the sameness that has corrupted the genre. Although he does resort to using characters that are the typical young rule breakers, they are given some characterization that allows the viewer to feel sympathy for their situation. Not to mention when the characters do something that might seem stupid, he gives ample reason for their actions.

What Roth does well is he understands exactly how to build tension throughout the film. Alot of horror films have relied on the use of quick cuts and cheap scares in order to frighten the viewer. Roth though utilizes the atmosphere of the scene by using close up shots that allude to the painful acts that will soon occur. Do not worry though because when those acts do occur the camera does not switch over to something else. Roth instead decides to show the whole gruesome act. This gives the film an intensity that other horror films have begun to lack.

Realism is a key element that Roth emphasizes throughout the film. From what I have read the premise for the movie originated when Roth stumbled upon a website that said one could kill someone for $10,000. Thus the movie advertised that it was based on true events. Here he uses ordinary people in a plausible situation in order to cause fear. This strays away from the typical plot of an un-killable monster or a ghost that has been overdone.

"Hostel" is a horror movie that is refreshing due to its original story and strong direction from Eli Roth. Be warned though that this movie is fairly intense at times, but any fan of the genre will appreciate this fresh approach to horror film making.
Luke B

Super Reviewer

May 23, 2006
Awesome 70's inspired horror. Simple story, some sick killings, and a cameo from Takashi Miike. Couldn't ask for more in a horror.
Eric S

Super Reviewer

August 23, 2008
Before I begin, I must say that this film is quite disturbing. However, I have to give credit to Eli Roth for taking the horror genre in a new direction.
This film is scarily realistic horror that I believe is loosely based on real occurences. Quite gruesome and disturbing, yet I couldn't take my eyes away from this. The story is brilliantly written, so it has the necessary beginning, middle, and end. And a perfect end at that.
Adam M

Super Reviewer

June 1, 2007
Almost everybody hates this movie, but it's much more introspective about violence and exploitation and horror movies than you would think. After this didn't turn out bad, I saw "Saw"--which most "Hostel"-haters liked--to compare them, and "Saw" was the movie that got off on torture.
Lady D

Super Reviewer

February 10, 2007
Of course the main interest in this film is how much can you stomach. In fairness a strong stomach is needed for the first viewing of this, it doesn't seem as bad on a second viewing.

Surprisingly, there is a rather good story to this as well, so it's not just a film with all gore and no contect.

The intenseness of this film multiplies as you see the journey through the main character's eyes, luring you into a personal journey.
Page 1 of 1210
Find us on:                     
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile