How High Reviews

Page 2 of 4
Top Critic
Gene Seymour
Newsday
December 21, 2001
Sample what you want. Doze through the rest.
Top Critic
Stephen Holden
New York Times
December 21, 2001
This chaotic mess of a film ... has the disjointed quality of a stoned-out fantasy.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
Top Critic
Lou Lumenick
New York Post
December 21, 2001
A slapdash collection of tired drug jokes, fish-out-of-water clichés, projectile vomiting and gross-out humor.
Claire Bickley
Jam! Movies
December 21, 2001
Like its lead characters, this movie is smarter than it sometimes acts.
Dave White
IFilm
December 21, 2001
I could feel whole chunks of my brain dissolving, my cinematic standards being lowered, and my desire to send a check to NORML grow as I watched this movie and loudly laughed my ass off.
Top Critic
Bruce Westbrook
Houston Chronicle
December 21, 2001
The infectious high spirits amid its cartoonish chaos compensate for the film's bald deficiencies and gag-inducing gags.
Top Critic
Michael Rechtshaffen
Hollywood Reporter
December 21, 2001
Aims low but smacks the funny bone considerably more often than it misses.
Top Critic
Ray Conlogue
Globe and Mail
December 21, 2001
A string of gross one-liners about ho's, white-man university, ho's, marijuana, ho's, the sexual inadequacy of Orientals, ho's, amazingly clueless white people, and ho's.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
Top Critic
Lisa Schwarzbaum
Entertainment Weekly
December 21, 2001
There's ... enough cheery mockery to amuse even non-tokers.
Full Review | Original Score: C+

E! Online
December 21, 2001
Cheech and Chong they ain't.
Ross Brooks
Citysearch
December 21, 2001
This marginally funny cannabis comedy only proves how funny Cheech and Chong movies were in their day.
Dwayne E. Leslie
Boxoffice Magazine
December 21, 2001
The chemically-induced farce scrapes the bowl for cheap laughs from sight gags and sporadic jokes.
Top Critic
Joan Anderman
Boston Globe
December 21, 2001
The biggest problem, ironically, is that even though the plot and the action center on smoking pot, it's not enough of a stoner flick.
| Original Score: 1.5/4
Eric Lurio
Greenwich Village Gazette
December 20, 2001
The fact is that this movie has no real plot, paper thin characters and totally unfunny jokes.
Steve Simels
TV Guide's Movie Guide
December 20, 2001
A hip-hop Cheech and Chong picture crossed with Animal House that's about as cheerfully vulgar as you might expect.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Top Critic
Charles Ealy
Dallas Morning News
December 20, 2001
It begs the response that seems to have been the moviemakers' mantra: 'Whatever.'
George Meyer
Orlando Weekly
December 20, 2001
As for Redman and Method Man, neither should give up his day job in music.
Top Critic
Charles Savage
Miami Herald
December 20, 2001
Most of the movie is simply a series of sex-and-drug adventures as Method Man and Redman romp through campus and play pranks on the dean.
Lawrence Toppman
Charlotte Observer
December 20, 2001
I doubt that Method Man and Redman, the two joint-puffing stars, would watch their own movie without chemical assistance. For that matter, I expect they had plenty while making it.
Top Critic
John Monaghan
Detroit Free Press
December 20, 2001
A hip-hop comedy that succeeds even when How High tests how low it can go.
Page 2 of 4