How I Ended This Summer Reviews

Page 2 of 3
Jake Wilson
The Age (Australia)
April 8, 2011
Though billed as a psychological thriller, How I Ended This Summer is basically a solemn art movie, leaving ample room for interpretation.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Sandra Hall
Sydney Morning Herald
April 8, 2011
It's a bleak and austere film but Popogregsky knows about subtlety, as well.
Leigh Paatsch
Herald Sun (Australia)
April 8, 2011
Scene by scene, the spartan direction of Aleksei Popogerbsky and extraordinary hand-held cinematography of Pavel Kostomarov drags you reluctantly towards the battle of psyches sure to break out between the two protagonists by film's end.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Matthew Toomey
ABC Radio Brisbane
April 7, 2011
I've not convinced there's enough material to drag this story out into two hours but the film is to be admired for its setting.
Full Review | Original Score: B
David Stratton
At the Movies (Australia)
April 6, 2011
This magnificent film is the third feature from young Russian director Alexei Popogrebsky, who is clearly a major talent, able to tell a story almost entirely through visual means.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
Annette Basile
FILMINK (Australia)
April 5, 2011
How I Ended This Summer is over-long with too many empty stretches. It tests your endurance, yet this uncomfortable Arctic trip just still might be worth taking.
Thomas Caldwell
Cinema Autopsy
April 4, 2011
How I Ended This Summer is a fascinating character study that is beautifully filmed in a largely unseen part of the world.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Andrew L. Urban
Urban Cinefile
April 2, 2011
Filled with cinematic gems, from the time lapse photography of the landscape to the raw storyline (Ingmar Bergman comes to mind), the film has an immersive quality... Flawed, but exceptional all the same
Joseph Proimakis
Movies for the Masses
March 4, 2011
full review at Movies for the Masses
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Simon Miraudo
Quickflix
February 28, 2011
How I Ended This Summer is a frustrating movie. It is unspeakably gorgeous to behold, endlessly enthralling ... and yet, all I can think about is the immense stupidity of its protagonist.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Top Critic
Walter V. Addiego
San Francisco Chronicle
February 24, 2011
What stays with the viewer is a sense of a man unraveling from his own mistakes and weaknesses.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Kimberly Gadette
Indie Movies Online
February 23, 2011
When it finally concluded, how did the filmmakers end this summer? With an aching crawl, all the while giving us a sharp sense of regret for the fine film buried underneath the tons upon tons of tundra.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/10
Top Critic
V.A. Musetto
New York Post
February 4, 2011
Just when you think that nothing more is going to happen, all hell breaks loose in the form of a deadly game of cat and mouse.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Andrew O'Hehir
Salon.com
February 3, 2011
How I Ended This Summer combines memorable images of the gorgeous, rugged wilderness, meticulous sound design that emphasizes the characters' isolation, a dash of dark wit and a dose of madness.
Christopher Null
Filmcritic.com
February 3, 2011
uneasy but important
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Top Critic
Joshua Rothkopf
Time Out
February 2, 2011
Popogrebsky sets up the quiet tensions between his two generationally divided characters like a chess match pocked with occasional power grabs...
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Top Critic
Nick Pinkerton
Village Voice
February 1, 2011
Playing an ignoble protagonist, Dobrygin keeps his motives always quietly evident; later, lost in a fog painted red by an emergency flare, he's an abject vision of man in a hell of his own making.
Louis Proyect
rec.arts.movies.reviews
January 30, 2011
Like the 1951 sci-fi classic "The Thing", this is a movie about monsters in the far north but in this instance the monsters are ordinary human beings transformed by cabin fever.
Andrew Schenker
Slant Magazine
January 30, 2011
A sort of reductio ad absurdum of the long-take approach to filmmaking.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
Top Critic
Stephen Holden
New York Times
January 27, 2011
Above all How I Ended This Summer is a merciless contemplation of the fragile human psyche under siege.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
Page 2 of 3