The Hudsucker Proxy - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Hudsucker Proxy Reviews

Page 2 of 109
October 12, 2013
You know, for the kids.
½ April 16, 2016
Tim Robbins is a looking for jobs, but all of them require experience. He eventually finds a job in a mail room working for a large corporation Hudsucker industries. The CEO recently committing suicide, the board of the company come up with a scheme to have him be the new president so he can be a patsy for the stock that is sure to fall. Although dim-witted, he proves them wrong as he presents the Hula-Hoop invention which seemed foolish, but becomes a huge hit. The Hudsucker Proxy is a movie that fails to be a good comedy. Some of the jabs on big companies and business ethics were entertaining, but the fantastical elements and narrative that the comedy is presented in is simply not my style. I grew tired quickly of Jennifer Jason Leigh as the reporter looking to advance her career as she reports on the developing story. I will say the film is somewhat original and Coen brothers films are always worth giving a chance, but this is one of the lower tiered films.
½ April 4, 2016
"You know... For kids!"
March 22, 2016
Intricate script and dialogue timing, this Coen Brothers film seems to be underrated.
Robert B.
Super Reviewer
October 8, 2015
The Hudsucker Proxy is a fun fun film and the less seriously you take it, the more you will enjoy it. The shooting is great to watch and the sets are great to look at. The story and acting are appropriately silly. Might have rated this five stars as it is very well-done but it is also a very light film.
½ August 28, 2015
Fun be it a little long at times.
½ June 26, 2012
Whatever the producers intended for this film, it disappoints on every expectation, both artistic and commercial. It does make for a decent pastiche of Old Hollywood, but it does little other than that, and feels like a film that's trapped in its own heavy-handed sense of nostalgia. The chief problem is that it's very big on style, but is desperately short on substance. The story might have been interesting if the characters were more believable as opposed to being caricatures of old film stereotypes. The narrative is fairly predictable, but otherwise would have been alright were it not for the film's decision to resolve the plot with a magic solution ending. In all fairness, the film had a cast of good actors, but those same actors are condemned to play the roles of bad characters with a flimsy script. The film's focus on style wouldn't be so bad if the film's Old Hollywood style weren't so dull and pretentious. If nothing else, the film is a good example of what happens when a film-maker concentrates on style rather than substance. In terms of actual substance, however, it's quite forgettable.
August 9, 2015
The Hudsucker Proxy is delightful from an artistic standpoint. The scene documenting Hula Hoop craze is wonderful. But a lot of the humor falls flat, and the characters aren't really likable. I applaud the Coen Brothers for trying, but they didn't quite hit the mark with this one.
March 1, 2015
Easily the most underrated Coen Brothers movie.
May 15, 2015
A mystifying fail of a movie from two of the most important filmmakers working and featuring one of history's most charismatic movie stars. This oddly experimental attempt to merge "art" with "screwball comedy" never works. Jennifer Jason Leigh, one of the most important actors of her generation, is given the foolish challenge of imitating Katherine Hepburn. She gives it a valid shot, but ends up coming out of this mess the most wounded. The entire movie is grating, but her performance is just obnoxious. An epic fail by some very talented artists.
March 24, 2015
Love Coen Bros love this tongue in cheek movie
August 1, 2007
Fun movie with Paul Newman and Tim Robbins both giving fun performances and the best use of false teeth in film history.
March 9, 2015
I remember I had rented the VHS back then. By re-watching it in 2015, I found it kinda over-the-top plus overacted however. And that's why I have been trying to avoid watching old movies, no matter how masterpiece or classic they said to be.
May 18, 2012
A funny and original (and under-appreciated) comedy collaboration between Joel & Ethan Coen and Sam Raimi; even if it comes across as lacking and synthetic at times, it still remains enjoyable, and wonderfully mirrors the old-fashioned screwball comedy capers of Capra and company.
½ October 22, 2009
One of the worst oen bros movies but still good. Jennifer Jason Leigh is doing a Kathrine Hepburn impression that's a little to obvious to work. Tons of great unique characters in this film. You get the feeling the Coens made this movie partially for themselves to satisfy a love of art deco and black and white movies. There are a couple old movies with similar plots and a few movies after that have the same. a few good silly laughts as well.
Robbanflix
Super Reviewer
July 9, 2008
This is a comedy by Coen's altho it didn't deliver so much of that i thought. Atleast not as much as some of the other Coen movies. But the movie strengths are once again the great acting with a pretty good story. Tim Robbins plays a man with no job but gets a job as president at Hudsucker but with a scam behind the lucky opportunity.. Overall a nice movie from the Coen's but not quite in the same league as Fargo or other superb flicks.
December 24, 2014
The Coen Brothers don't make bad movies. Hudsucker is on par with their other creations Raising Arizona and Big Lebowski. It's an excellent sendup of Capra-style morality plays with beautiful compositions and cinematography, insidious humor, and pitch perfect performances from Newman, Robbins, Durning, Leigh and Buscemi(!). Some reviewers tend to rate this one lower in the Coen filmography because it's a little more comedy/schmaltzy than the others; all it shows to me is that they're capable of working at an incrediby high level in any style. And that flexibility is, after all, the definition of an auteur. If you haven't seen this, take the time!
December 24, 2014
I cannot understand how people do not love this movie. Thank you Coen brothers!
December 2, 2014
Not the Coens best film, but I appreciated it more this time than the first. Newman is great, and it's an homage to the Screwball Comedy which I like. Thought it doesn't totally work, there's a lot of worthwhile elements and it's definitely worth a watch!
October 16, 2014
I guess this is supposed to be a comedy but it's barely funny at all.
Page 2 of 109