Opening

33% As Above/So Below Aug 29
34% The November Man Aug 27
98% Starred Up Aug 27
74% The Congress Aug 29
61% Life Of Crime Aug 29

Top Box Office

92% Guardians of the Galaxy $17.2M
20% Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles $16.7M
39% If I Stay $15.7M
20% Let's Be Cops $10.8M
18% When The Game Stands Tall $8.4M
34% The Expendables 3 $6.5M
32% The Giver $6.4M
46% Sin City: A Dame to Kill For $6.3M
65% The Hundred-Foot Journey $5.3M
20% Into The Storm $3.8M

Coming Soon

—— Innocence Sep 05
—— The Identical Sep 05
—— The Longest Week Sep 05
67% The House of Magic Sep 05
74% God Help the Girl Sep 05

Premieres Tonight

88% The Cosmopolitans: Season One

New Episodes Tonight

100% Defiance: Season 2
100% Garfunkel and Oates: Season 1
89% The Honorable Woman: Season 1
56% Married: Season 1
39% Rush: Season 1
82% Satisfaction: Season 1
82% Welcome to Sweden: Season 1
77% You're the Worst: Season 1

Discuss Last Night's Shows

86% The Bridge (FX): Season 2
91% The Divide: Season 1
83% Extant: Season 1
—— Franklin & Bash: Season 4
—— Graceland: Season 2
—— Hot in Cleveland: Season 5
58% Legends: Season 1
—— Motive: Season 2
69% Mystery Girls: Season 1
38% Taxi Brooklyn: Season 1
43% Young & Hungry: Season 1

I Am Trying to Break Your Heart - A Film About Wilco Reviews

Page 1 of 12
Stephen M

Super Reviewer

September 21, 2007
Wilco are one of the greatest bands on Earth and this documentary film of the making of their masterpiece, "Yankee Hotel Foxtrot", is a fascinating glimpse at record company machination vs the creation of art.
Beefy
Beefy

Super Reviewer

March 3, 2007
An interesting look at the creative process and a must see for Wilco fans, who will get to see the drama behind one of the best albums of the past ten years.
Michael G

Super Reviewer

October 25, 2006
A drama cleverly disguised as a band documentary.
John B

Super Reviewer

February 3, 2010
Not a fan of the band films but I really take my hat off to Wilco for their attempts to bring back Woody Guthrie into the mainstream. As a result, I really got into the storyline here and enjoyed it.
Patrick D

Super Reviewer

June 3, 2009
Really fascinating and sad. The filmmaker takes a meandering sort of approach, complemented by great photography. The film really makes you feel like the album is important, and I feel to a certain extent it is.
The appeal of this film, may be lost on the non-Wilco fan as it's very very Wilco.
kevinsur
April 22, 2007
One of the most important documents of the modern day music industry and it's inability to nurture real art
berlinalexanderplatz
February 12, 2007
I think the real gold here lies in the performances and the behind the scenes look at the making of Yankee Hotel Foxtrot. And by the "behind the scenes look" I'm not talking about the People magazine stuff between Tweedy and Bennett. I'm talking about the process of recording such a forward thinking record. I'll admit that there is a lot of self- congratulation on this film, but over all as a fan of the band I liked it and would recommend it to like-minded people.
gelatodude
January 7, 2007
I love Wilco. So, naturally I would LIKE this movie. However, it is not why I LOVE it. I love it because it is a very well made documentary. I love it because it gives great insight into the creative process that the band goes through and into the chemistry, (or lack thereof), between the band members. The extras on the DVD are also a treat for fans of the band, featuring some wonderful live concert and in-studio performances.
hensonkid
May 2, 2006
I'm sort of a documentary whore AND a Wilco whore, so I don't know if my opinion counts, but if you don't love this film, you might not have a soul.
Your Friend Goo
September 11, 2012
An interesting peek into the music industry (for Wilco fans and non-Wilco fans alike). A story that shows that there are still some real artists out there, putting their integrity above profit and commercial success. It's made all the better by the fact that the events occurring in the film were pure surprises. Reprise Records must still be kicking themselves for letting what became an immensely acclaimed and successful album go.
Warchief
January 29, 2012
"They Hated the record so much they paid for it twice"

Synopsis: Rockumentary following the band "Wilco" in the making of "Yankee Hotel Foxtrot".

The source material is what ultimately carries this documentary above anything other than obscurity. It's extremely well photographed, the black and white imagery accompanies the music perfectly, but most of the actual imagery is typical rock band stuff that you yourself probably made for your own band in your teens with your home video camera. There is close to no real insight into the band or the record its documenting, you can literally find most of the information covered here in any literary article about about Yankee Hotel Foxtrot. Intellectually the film is a bit of a disappointment.

Yankee Hotel Foxtrot however, is simply a masterpiece of modern alternative rock (i'm not familiar with much Wilco music, but i love Foxtrot), and the feature is loaded to the brim with alternate takes of many of the tunes on the landmark record as well as music from Wilco's other albums (i'm assuming the ones i didn't recognize were from other Wilco works) and interviews with Wilco and their inner circle, such attractions are enough to warrant a watch by fans.

Though it doesn't offer much for non-fans, I Am Trying To Break Your Heart offers enough for those familiar with Wilco or their acclaimed fourth album.
Kate I.
June 12, 2011
Beautifully shot in black and white, very interesting story about dealings with the record label, but the first really interesting thing happens at minute 40. It's too long.
justin g.
June 15, 2010
wilco fans will love it aswell as people not familiar with the band.
Michael C.
September 4, 2010
For Fans Of: Wilco, Indie Rock, Drama, The creative process
Date Night: No
Art Factor: High
Fun Factor: Low
Emotional Factor: Medium
Intelligence Required: Low
Essential Viewing: No

Let it be said that as far as movies about bands, The Last Waltz will never be touched. Ever. Just the way the world is. I Am Trying To Break Your Heart comes close. Not a concert movie like Waltz, this is more of a story about how the pressure of trying to break through the glass ceiling can start to break a band. Honest to an almost uncomfortable point, you will leave this film with a great knowledge of just how much a band can (and should) be pouring into a record you buy (or probably steal). Also, if you have never heard of or just plain heard Wilco, great place to check them out. An amazing band in an amazing doc.
JEDweese
July 15, 2010
I have always been a Wilco fan, the lyrics just drain into me, and they make me feel relaxed, I listen to their music during times that are hard for me. Jeff Tweedy is a great writer, and Wilco is a great band. When I watched this right after Bennett died, I felt upset, although he should have just left Tweedy with last word, during a awkward fight, before Jeff had to throw up due to his Migraines, Wilco has always been a great band, and this movie was amazing. I Am Tryig To Break Your Heart, said "hello" to me, and I said it back, and listened.
bladerunner112
December 11, 2006
Documentaries are wierd...its hard sometimes to know whether you are watching a good sort of TV documentary or something worthy of film. It took me a bit to decide on this music doc about Wilco. First, I never heard their music before watching the doc...but their music is really good and its the music that drives the movie...director Jones gives us enough of their soulful/folk/rock in performance or video style to keep the viewer engaged...he also filmed in B/W and delivers an artsy sort of feel...kinda cool.

The movie however is trying to make big statements about the state of the union in big music business and how they are trying to commercialize art...nothing new here really albeit somewhat interesting to watch it all unfold live so to speak.

Overall, pretty good and definitely worth the time.
Nathan Weinbender
December 11, 2005
[color=white]Being a big Wilco fan, I'm probably a bit more partial to this documentary than most. It does feature a lot of their brilliant music, chronicling the making of their masterpiece "Yankee Hotel Foxtrot." Unfortunately, the doc isn't all that exciting. In 92 minutes, the band is dropped from their record label and fire one of their members, but that's about it. Although it's nice to see a portrait of a musical group that is more interested in creating music than inflating egos, everything in the film is underplayed and deadpan, which grows a little thin after awhile. You'd probably be better off going out and actually listening to a Wilco record.[/color]
your mother was a hamster
August 26, 2004
Nice to see that music has been added to the database. Once that makes it to lists I can waste even more time on this site.

I just burned a copy of Yankee Hotel Foxtrot from a friend. I was curious after he lent me the Wilco documentarty I Am Trying to Break Your Heart. I enjoyed the movie but felt it would have been even better with a working knowledge of their music. What I like best about Wilco's music is the fact that Jeff Tweedy never takes the easy way out with a lyric. Some bands you know what the lyric will be before they start because some words are easy to rhyme. But Tweedy's lyrics tend to avoid that and surprise me with the end result. I need to spend more time with Yankee Hotel but I'm enjoying what I've heard.
Page 1 of 12
Find us on:                     
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile