I Heart Huckabees - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

I Heart Huckabees Reviews

Page 1 of 10
Gavin Smith
Film Comment Magazine
November 19, 2013
I ♥ Huckabees is a rarity-a tremendously optimistic film for a truly dark time.
Nell Minow
Common Sense Media
December 24, 2010
Brilliant existential comedy for adults only.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
Felix Vasquez Jr.
Cinema Crazed
April 29, 2009
Russell directs an excellent cast in a thought provoking existential comedy that is very funny and very well acted.
Urban Cinefile Critics
Urban Cinefile
October 18, 2008
I have no idea what the film is really all about, but this top line cast makes it so much fun, it doesn't seem to matter.
Jason Gorber
Film Scouts
June 21, 2007
Metaphysics, madness and Mancala meet in this fun, fresh and overtly philosophical tale about, well, all kinds of things, really.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
Top Critic
Geoff Andrew
Time Out
June 24, 2006
This feverish state-of-the-split-nation address finds Russell tossing everything that matters -- and more -- into the pot, and producing a pretty indigestible and very messy stew.
Dan Jolin
Empire Magazine
April 1, 2006
If you're up for it, you'll discover a fresh, funny little romp unafraid to tackle the biggest issues of all.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Scott Nash
Three Movie Buffs
September 30, 2005
Despite an outstanding cast of actors and some funny moments, I never cared enough to believe that this movie was anything other than pretentious; the kind of movie they might show in Philosophy 101 classes.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
Nick Schager
Lessons of Darkness
May 4, 2005
Maddeningly uneven but mildly amusing.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
April 16, 2005
Si vous êtes prêt à suivre à votre maximum d'attention une comédie qui ne semble pas faire beaucoup de sens, vous risquez [...] de vous y retrouver.
| Original Score: B
Mark Pfeiffer
Reel Times: Reflections on Cinema
April 14, 2005
I ♥ Huckabees might be too smart for its own good, but that also seems to be the point. Russell extols liberal activism while deflating its self-importance...
Full Review | Original Score: B+
Christopher Smith
Bangor Daily News (Maine)
March 30, 2005
A high-concept, high-minded piece of pseudointellectual trash, "I Heart Huckabees" is one of those stink bombs the intelligentsia like to champion.
| Original Score: C-
John J. Puccio
Movie Metropolis
March 6, 2005
...while it is little more than a lightweight charade masquerading as deep wisdom, there were parts of it I enjoyed.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
Ethan Alter
NYC Film Critic
March 5, 2005
At its heart, this is basically the story of one man's attempt to prove that his life has meaning. What could be more relatable than that?
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Staci Layne Wilson
Fantastica Daily
February 12, 2005
I hate Huckabees!
Philip Martin
Arkansas Democrat-Gazette
January 27, 2005
I ? Huckabees really only succeeds on the level of slapstick, with Tomlin's impeccable timing being the chief delight.
Full Review | Original Score: C
Robert Roten
Laramie Movie Scope
January 26, 2005
The funniest movie I saw in 2004
Full Review | Original Score: B
JoBlo
JoBlo's Movie Emporium
January 15, 2005
A different kind of motion picture, one that challenges the status quo and gives audiences a skewed view on the typical. Here, here!
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
Steven Snyder
Zertinet Movies
December 27, 2004
What in the world is going on with I Heart Huckabees? Please, someone e-mail me and let me know.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Ben Walters
Sight and Sound
December 7, 2004
As with Russell's other films, Huckabees moves its audience from initial bafflement to a broader apprehension of a situation rife with complexity.
Page 1 of 10