I Heart Huckabees - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

I Heart Huckabees Reviews

Page 1 of 10
Steven Snyder
Zertinet Movies
December 27, 2004
What in the world is going on with I Heart Huckabees? Please, someone e-mail me and let me know.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Philip Martin
Arkansas Democrat-Gazette
January 27, 2005
I ? Huckabees really only succeeds on the level of slapstick, with Tomlin's impeccable timing being the chief delight.
Full Review | Original Score: C
Top Critic
Roger Ebert
Chicago Sun-Times
October 8, 2004
The movie is like an infernal machine that consumes all of the energy it generates, saving the last watt of current to turn itself off. It functions perfectly within its constraints, but it leaves the viewer out of the loop.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Scott Nash
Three Movie Buffs
September 30, 2005
Despite an outstanding cast of actors and some funny moments, I never cared enough to believe that this movie was anything other than pretentious; the kind of movie they might show in Philosophy 101 classes.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
Top Critic
Richard Roeper
Ebert & Roeper
October 4, 2004
This is a wildly uneven farce that circles around and around and around, and finally runs out of energy.
Victoria Alexander
Movie Reviews in Croatian
October 11, 2004
Horrible torture. David O. Russell hates us.
Full Review
Prairie Miller
WBAI Web Radio
November 1, 2004
In this chaotic style of skit moviemaking, plot resolutions are thrown at you like a multiple choice quiz.
Jeffrey M. Anderson
Combustible Celluloid
October 8, 2004
The film roars with rapid-fire chatter and a great deal of heated arguing. It becomes abrasive and oppressive, and we yearn for a break.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Staci Layne Wilson
Fantastica Daily
February 12, 2005
I hate Huckabees!
Top Critic
Geoff Andrew
Time Out
June 24, 2006
This feverish state-of-the-split-nation address finds Russell tossing everything that matters -- and more -- into the pot, and producing a pretty indigestible and very messy stew.
Nick Rogers
State Journal-Register (Springfield, IL)
October 21, 2004
For all its what-are-we-all-here-for frenzy, the forced and gimmicky Big Spiritual Revelation boils down to taking the good with the bad. And that's not worth the $8.
Full Review| Original Score: 2.5/4
Christopher Smith
Bangor Daily News (Maine)
March 30, 2005
A high-concept, high-minded piece of pseudointellectual trash, "I Heart Huckabees" is one of those stink bombs the intelligentsia like to champion.
| Original Score: C-
Jeanne Aufmuth
Palo Alto Weekly
October 5, 2004
Transports characters and altered states with the spunk of a deadly game of Go Fish.
| Original Score: 1.5/4
Robin Clifford
Reeling Reviews
October 11, 2004
...the result is a sometimes amusing, mild mannered philosophical comedy that is, in the end, shallow.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
Alan Dale
November 8, 2004
[T]alk all they want, nothing the characters say alters the [simplistic] melodramatic mechanism.
John J. Puccio
Movie Metropolis
March 6, 2005
...while it is little more than a lightweight charade masquerading as deep wisdom, there were parts of it I enjoyed.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
Top Critic
Jan Stuart
September 30, 2004
The trip is a little too academic to reach its own heart.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
Stephen Whitty
Newark Star-Ledger
October 1, 2004
The characters themselves barely exist, as do the supposedly deep thoughts the film is supposed to express.
Top Critic
Carrie Rickey
Philadelphia Inquirer
October 7, 2004
A head-scratcher.
| Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Desson Thomson
Washington Post
October 8, 2004
Theirs is too painfully forced, from the movie's thin premise to its ideas about what's funny: Hoffman in a Beatles wig?
Scott A. Mantz
Scott Mantz' Movie Reviews
March 3, 2012

October 6, 2004

Film Comment Magazine
January 15, 2005

Sight and Sound
June 18, 2012
Page 1 of 10