I.O.U.S.A. Reviews

Top Critic
David Fear
Time Out
November 18, 2011
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Top Critic
Hank Sartin
Time Out
November 17, 2011
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Top Critic
Dave Calhoun
Time Out
November 14, 2008
This solid doc reminds us how unsustainable the current American economy is.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/6
Top Critic
Tom Long
Detroit News
October 31, 2008
A movie that should be seen by everyone.
Full Review | Original Score: B
Top Critic
Richard Nilsen
Arizona Republic
October 30, 2008
You will not likely forget the Jeremiad it presents about how the United States has been living on borrowed money -- and borrowed time -- for decades and now is presenting the bill for our extravagance to our grandchildren.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Top Critic
Jason Anderson
Toronto Star
October 24, 2008
I.O.U.S.A. is a clear, cogent and compelling primer on contemporary American economics and the not-so-small matter of how we ended up at the edge of a precipice.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Liam Lacey
Globe and Mail
October 24, 2008
A documentary about the U.S. addiction to debt, I.O.U.S.A. could have easily taken the title of another movie released this week, What Just Happened?
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
John Hartl
Seattle Times
October 3, 2008
If this week's headlines have failed to convince you that the United States is on the verge of an economic meltdown, Patrick Creadon's scary new documentary, I.O.U.S.A., will demolish any lingering doubts.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Owen Gleiberman
Entertainment Weekly
August 28, 2008
A sharp, absorbing portrait of our national debt crisis.
Full Review | Original Score: A
Top Critic
Nathan Rabin
AV Club
August 22, 2008
Though the filmmaking is playful at times, the film is essentially 90 percent message, 10 percent movie. Then again, sometimes a message is important enough to make other considerations seem irrelevant.
Full Review | Original Score: B
Top Critic
Sheri Linden
Los Angeles Times
August 22, 2008
Packed with facts, figures and the testimony of policy experts, the film is no wallow in wonkiness, but a surprisingly sprightly tough-love lesson in fiscal responsibility.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Top Critic

Miami Herald
August 22, 2008
Documentarian Patrick Creadon does a nice job of making the daunting math and economic theories associated with our national debt accessible.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Walter V. Addiego
San Francisco Chronicle
August 22, 2008
Any documentary about the alarming level of our national debt faces a major hurdle -- making the dismal subject at least somewhat palatable. I.O.U.S.A. does about as good a job as any film could be expected to, thanks to the direction of Patrick Creadon.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Michael Rechtshaffen
Hollywood Reporter
August 22, 2008
The buck stops here in this sobering but disarmingly irreverent look at the national debt.
Top Critic
Jeannette Catsoulis
New York Times
August 22, 2008
Yet another documentary that everyone should see but most will not.
| Original Score: 4/5
Top Critic
Roger Ebert
Chicago Sun-Times
August 22, 2008
Here's the bottom line, kids. The United States is probably going to go broke during your lifetimes.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Top Critic

St. Louis Post-Dispatch
August 22, 2008
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
Steven Rea
Philadelphia Inquirer
August 21, 2008
There's no quick fix for a culture 'addicted to debt,' as one wag puts it in the film. But watching I.O.U.S.A. is a good place to start.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Top Critic
J. R. Jones
Chicago Reader
August 21, 2008
Forceful and lucid.
Top Critic
Robert Koehler
L.A. Weekly
August 21, 2008
This is less a film than an argument -- so much so that it's hard to imagine many film critics, or audiences, without some knowledge of economic history being able to respond to it in any way except with sheer terror.
Top Critic
Michelle Orange
Village Voice
August 19, 2008
Both a handy election primer and a bowel-rattling cry of fiscal doom.
Top Critic
Justin Chang
Variety
January 24, 2008
An alternately amusing and alarming primer on America's off-the-charts fiscal irresponsibility.