• R, 1 hr. 33 min.
  • Comedy
  • Directed By:
    Chris Rock
    In Theaters:
    Mar 16, 2007 Wide
    On DVD:
    Aug 7, 2007
  • Fox Searchlight Pictures

Movies Like I Think I Love My Wife

Opening

91% Dawn Of The Planet Of The Apes Jul 11
100% Boyhood Jul 11
15% Rage Jul 11
21% A Long Way Down Jul 11
—— The Class Of '92 Jul 08

Top Box Office

17% Transformers: Age of Extinction $37.1M
23% Tammy $21.6M
85% 22 Jump Street $9.8M
31% Deliver Us from Evil $9.7M
92% How to Train Your Dragon 2 $9.0M
48% Earth to Echo $8.4M
49% Maleficent $6.2M
53% Jersey Boys $5.2M
24% Think Like a Man Too $4.9M
90% Edge of Tomorrow $3.7M

Coming Soon

—— The Purge: Anarchy Jul 18
—— Sex Tape Jul 18
36% Wish I Was Here Jul 18
—— Hercules Jul 25
—— Lucy Jul 25

Premieres Tonight

100% Masters of Sex: Season 2
60% Ray Donovan: Season 2
79% The Strain: Season 1

New Episodes Tonight

—— Devious Maids: Season 2
—— Endeavour: Season 2
100% Falling Skies: Season 4
79% Halt and Catch Fire: Season 1
64% The Last Ship: Season 1
100% Last Tango in Halifax: Season 2
69% The Leftovers: Season 1
50% The Musketeers: Season 1
46% Reckless: Season 1
54% Salem: Season 1
50% True Blood: Season 7
—— Unforgettable: Season 2
80% Vicious: Season 1
—— Witches of East End: Season 2

Certified Fresh TV

—— 24: Live Another Day: Season 9
84% Extant: Season 1
79% Halt and Catch Fire: Season 1
73% Murder in the First: Season 1
97% Orange is the New Black: Season 2
97% Orphan Black: Season 2
79% Penny Dreadful: Season 1
84% Welcome to Sweden: Season 1

I Think I Love My Wife Reviews

Page 1 of 6
Roger Moore
Orlando Sentinel
Top Critic IconTop Critic

Full Review Source: Orlando Sentinel | Original Score: 2/5

May 13, 2009
Neil Miller
Film School Rejects

Full Review Source: Film School Rejects | Original Score: C-

March 16, 2007
Lisa Kennedy
Denver Post
Top Critic IconTop Critic

Directed and written by the talented comic, the movie suffers from the overblown notes of a punch-line-driven routine.

Full Review Source: Denver Post

March 16, 2007
Pete Hammond
Maxim

Rock really is attempting to channel Woody Allen in trying to craft a flick that flows freely from his own stand-up comedy style into a more sophisticated setting.

Full Review Source: Maxim | Original Score: 2.5/5

March 16, 2007
Nell Minow
Movie Mom at Yahoo! Movies

The film ultimately fails to make Nikki an enticing character. She is just a one-dimensional manipulator. This removes the drama, the danger, and the interest from the story.

| Original Score: C

March 15, 2007
Michael Phillips
Chicago Tribune
Top Critic IconTop Critic

You can enjoy the cast in I Think I Love My Wife, but it's too bad they don't have more notes to play.

Full Review Source: Chicago Tribune | Original Score: 2.5/4

March 15, 2007
Fernando F. Croce
CinePassion

Pootie Tang was spikier and funnier

Full Review Source: CinePassion

August 27, 2009
Amy Biancolli
Houston Chronicle
Top Critic IconTop Critic

I Think I Love My Wife slogs through drama and comedy as though both were a duty as onerous as a sexless marriage. Rarely do characters display anything approaching logic, unless their 180-degree turnarounds are part of a geometry proof.

Full Review Source: Houston Chronicle | Original Score: 1.5/4

March 16, 2007
Kirk Honeycutt
Hollywood Reporter
Top Critic IconTop Critic

As a director, Rock has little visual flair, so the film looks clumsy and stilted.

March 7, 2007
Chris Hewitt (St. Paul)
St. Paul Pioneer Press

There's an undercurrent of misogyny in Wife, which is odd, since it ultimately wants to be a celebration of marital happiness.

Full Review Source: St. Paul Pioneer Press | Original Score: 2/4

March 15, 2007
Nick Schager
Slant Magazine

Just because this union of artist and material isn't a complete mind-bender doesn't mean that it works.

Full Review Source: Slant Magazine | Original Score: 2/4

March 16, 2007
Garth Franklin
Dark Horizons

Until Rock is able to find a vehicle suitable for his unrestrained talent, there'll no doubt be more duds like this on the way

Full Review Source: Dark Horizons

April 24, 2007
Kam Williams
AALBC.com

I think I hated this movie!

Full Review Source: AALBC.com | Original Score: 0/4

March 19, 2007
Eric D. Snider
EricDSnider.com

The problem with Chris Rock writing, directing, and starring in a film is that every character winds up talking just like Chris Rock.

Full Review Source: EricDSnider.com | Original Score: D+

March 21, 2007
Bob Grimm
Reno News and Review

Perhaps some comedians aren't meant for the big screen.

Full Review Source: Reno News and Review | Original Score: 1.5/5

March 24, 2007
Brian Orndorf
OhmyNews.com

Wife is profane, awkward, and sprinkled with a strange racial subtext; basically the cinematic equivalent of Rock himself.

Full Review Source: OhmyNews.com | Original Score: C+

March 15, 2007
Prairie Miller
Long Island Press

Buppie infidelity, marital boredom and female temptation on every street corner are the predicaments posed by this Chris Rock directed oddly unromantic fare.

Full Review

May 15, 2007
Jim Lane
Sacramento News & Review

The movie has overtones of misogyny that stick in the craw.

Full Review Source: Sacramento News & Review | Original Score: 2/5

March 23, 2007
Tim Brayton
Antagony & Ecstasy

A roly-poly CBS sitcom, only with more liberal use of the f-word.

Full Review Source: Antagony & Ecstasy | Original Score: 5/10

September 27, 2007
Cole Smithey
ColeSmithey.com

Spazzing bubbles of slapstick humor, melodrama, musical numbers and sterile jokes emphasize Rock's unpolished acting and directing abilities.

Full Review Source: ColeSmithey.com | Original Score: C-

March 15, 2007
Urban Cinefile Critics
Urban Cinefile
February 22, 2008

St. Louis Post-Dispatch
Top Critic IconTop Critic
March 17, 2007
Page 1 of 6
Find us on:                     
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile