In the Name of the King: A Dungeon Siege Tale Reviews

Page 1 of 3
Jeffrey M. Anderson
Combustible Celluloid
April 17, 2008
I wouldn't change a thing. It's been a while since I've seen Hollywood filmmaking this unsafe and unhinged.
Joshua Tyler
CinemaBlend.com
January 11, 2008
Boll manages to hold this disaster in the making together by infusing it with unexpected energy.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Top Critic
Hank Sartin
Time Out
November 17, 2011
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
JoBlo
JoBlo's Movie Emporium
April 15, 2011
Don't waste your time.
Dave White
Movies.com
April 4, 2011
Will any other movie ever be as amazing as this one?
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
Sandie Angulo Chen
Common Sense Media
December 31, 2010
LOTR copycat is so bad it's good -- for laughs.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
Garth Franklin
Dark Horizons
December 28, 2010
It's not bad enough to warrant burning copies of, rather it'll sit on the back of video store shelves for the rest of its time and that's where it should stay.
Austin Kennedy
Sin Magazine
August 22, 2008
If you can appreciate bad cinema, than I recommend it, but anyone that is looking to watch an actual good movie, avoid like the plague!
Full Review | Original Score: .5/4
Linda Cook
Quad City Times (Davenport, IA)
February 24, 2008
Why in the world would I give a terrible, terrible move 1 star?Well, how can I call a film worthless when it's so awful that it provides unintended laughs?
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
Todd Gilchrist
IGN Movies
January 22, 2008
Not only is Dungeon Siege the best film of Uwe Boll's career, but it's also guaranteed not to be the worst one released in its year.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
Nick Schager
Slant Magazine
January 20, 2008
Only Uwe Boll would assume that the moviegoing public craved a trashy Lord of the Rings rip-off starring Burt Reynolds and Matthew Lillard, and only he could then manage to make such a potentially riotous endeavor so humorless.
Full Review | Original Score: .5/4
Annlee Ellingson
Boxoffice Magazine
January 18, 2008
Uwe Boll uses his biggest budget ever to produce a cheap knockoff of LOTR, complete with an Orc-like army of beasts called Krug, elfin woodland beings, and a wizard-esque magus played by John Rhys-Davies, but without a comprehensible plot.
Jim Lane
Sacramento News & Review
January 17, 2008
...like a Florida dinner theater production of The Lord of the Rings...
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
Chuck O'Leary
FulvueDrive-in.com
January 16, 2008
When King Burt Reynolds says, 'What kind of joke do the gods play on me?,' we feel the pain of a downslide that took him from No. 1 box-office star to appearing in an Uwe Boll schlockfest.
| Original Score: 3/10
Kit Bowen
Hollywood.com
January 16, 2008
This Lord of the Rings wannabe gives fantasy adventures a bad name.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
Ken Hanke
Mountain Xpress (Asheville, NC)
January 15, 2008
Just where this kingdom is I don't know, but since the king of the title is played by Burt Reynolds, I'm guessing it's the Lost Continent of Atlanta.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
Mark Palermo
Coast (Halifax, Nova Scotia)
January 15, 2008
Boll is in fact fascinating - largely because his movies assume their audiences exist in an alternate dimension of human experience.
Tim Brayton
Antagony & Ecstasy
January 14, 2008
Like all Uwe Boll films, it is terrible. Sadly, it is perhaps not terrible enough.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/10
Larry Ratliff
San Antonio Express-News
January 14, 2008
Part of (the) sizable budget must have been spent on a medieval era cosmetic dental plan. I've never seen so many perfectly straight sparkling pearly whites in a time of brutes and hand-to-hand brutality.
| Original Score: 2.5/4
Daniel Eagan
Film Journal International
January 14, 2008
Offers scenic locations, some passable special effects, a couple of large-scale battles, and an exceptionally incongruous cast ill-served by feeble scripting and indifferent direction.
Page 1 of 3