Opening

90% Guardians of the Galaxy Aug 01
81% Get On Up Aug 01
88% Calvary Aug 01
0% Behaving Badly Aug 01
36% Child Of God Aug 01

Top Box Office

59% Lucy $43.9M
63% Hercules $29.8M
91% Dawn Of The Planet Of The Apes $16.8M
57% The Purge: Anarchy $10.5M
44% Planes: Fire And Rescue $9.5M
18% Sex Tape $6.1M
17% Transformers: Age of Extinction $4.7M
16% And So It Goes $4.6M
24% Tammy $3.5M
91% A Most Wanted Man $2.7M

Coming Soon

—— Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles Aug 08
88% Step Up: All In Aug 08
—— Into The Storm Aug 08
—— The Hundred-Foot Journey Aug 08
87% What If Aug 08

Premieres Tonight

90% The Honorable Woman: Season 1

New Episodes Tonight

100% Defiance: Season 2
40% Dominion: Season 1
41% Gang Related: Season 1
86% Maron: Season 2
56% Married: Season 1
94% Rectify: Season 2
—— Rookie Blue: Season 5
39% Rush: Season 1
82% Satisfaction: Season 1
85% Welcome to Sweden: Season 1
41% Working the Engels: Season 1
77% You're the Worst: Season 1

Discuss Last Night's Shows

86% The Bridge (FX): Season 2
91% The Divide: Season 1
83% Extant: Season 1
—— Graceland: Season 2
—— Hot in Cleveland: Season 5
50% Jennifer Falls: Season 1
—— Motive: Season 2
69% Mystery Girls: Season 1
—— Rogue: Season 2
100% Suits: Season 4
38% Taxi Brooklyn: Season 1
—— Wilfred: Season 4
43% Young & Hungry: Season 1

In the Cut Reviews

Page 2 of 30
closedmouth
April 14, 2014
It was doing OK until it completely lost me in the third act. Frannie's suspicions of Malloy are so stupid, and motivated by nothing but plot contrivance, and all the annoying red herrings are forgotten about for that ridiculous, stupid denouement. I advise you turn it off once the handcuffs come out and just make up your own ending.
Wayne H.
April 8, 2014
I like Meg Ryan and I liked her performance. The movie kept my interest, but the ending was a bit "meh".
March 8, 2014
Reviews all but slaughtered this but I adored the book and maybe that predisposed me to like the film. It looks beautiful and while it might have been confusing to someone who hasn't read the source material, I found it a satisfying and sensitive companion piece.
January 12, 2014
1/11/14 This film should be rated NC-17. Lots of sex and some very bloody scenes. I feel the film probably should have only been a book. I could see that the story might work as a book, but they were really trying to stretch things by making it a film. It felt like an adaptation. Not a lot going on in the plot until about half an hour left. The film is mainly just trying to set a mood (and a mood very different from most every other film). Not many characters either, so it isn't too hard to figure out how the plot is going to end up. Anyway, I guess it is okay; I was never really bored, but I didn't really get excited about anything either.
January 11, 2014
I was surprised at the low use and critic reviews for this movie, I was never on the edge of my seat but something kept my interested. I guess i was more into the weird relationships these people had with each other then the "mystery". you dont usualy expect this much sex and nudity from a movie with meg ryan in it. also mark ruffalo's penis.
August 17, 2013
Not really bad, but pretty unmemorable nonetheless.
July 14, 2013
In The Cut is an awkward, clumsy, and unintentionally hilarious erotic thriller. This film is so inept in its execution that it became a fascinating catastrophe of a film that I had a lot of fun watching. The storyline meanders all over the place and goes in all sorts of bizarre directions, there's random sex scenes and nudity, hilariously awful dialogue (Especially the sex dialogue), a murder aspect of the plot that comes and goes, bizarre characters, and other random shit. By itself, it is completely terrible when judged as what it was supposed to be. But...as a comedy and surrealistic film, it works pretty well. I wouldn't recommend it to most people, but I sure had fun watching this wacky erotic thriller.
May 5, 2013
I would hardly call this movie "thrilling" or "suspenseful." Bad soft porn, maybe. There's a little bit of interesting storyline that emerges mostly toward the end, but it's too little too late. I sat through the entire thing because I kept hoping it would get better, but it really never did.
July 5, 2007
Meg Ryan completely drops her nice girl image for this sleazy flick. At least Mark Ruffalo was captivating as usual.
February 17, 2013
The criticism of its failures as a conventional thriller are misguided as this is something very different - a superbly dark, moody and surreal psychosexual noir drenched with poetic symbolism into its mediations into gender and sexuality.
April 5, 2011
Gave it almost an hour. The way the movie was put together was exhausting and boring to watch and seemingly random.
January 27, 2013
Well worth the watch if you can handle the sex and the blood. Liked the performance of Sharrieff Pugh. Or was it just the muscles, big lips and bald head that I liked?
Gary S.
January 26, 2013
A movie for and by man-haters. A pretty good movie though.
January 14, 2013
After a brief career break following Kate & Leopold, Meg Ryan returns to the big screen in one of her very few...thrillers! In the Cut is a slick thriller with first rate performances and plot turns galore. Fans of the stars (especially Ryan and Mark Ruffalo) may object to seeing them in a dark movie like this, yet many should consider it one of the better thrillers on the rental shelf.
Ryan steps aside from her "sweet girl" routine to play Frannie, an English teacher and writer in a grim high school in Manhattan's lower side. Torn with teaching difficult teens and several loose ends of her own, her situation becomes even more tedious when she becomes involved romantically with a hunky detective hot on the trail of a serial killer. A witness to a dirty act seeming to involve the same perpetrator, she becomes compelled to risk her own safety and grows instantly flirtatious with not only him, but other men who come into the picture (she is a bit slutty, actually). But will her knowledge and bravery lead to the end of this sicko and the gruesome murders, which claimed the life of her best friend and possibly others to come?
This kind of story is awfully tough to take and could use some work in the storytelling department, though it certainly is compelling, nevertheless and is performed with expertise by the whole cast. The steamy sex scenes may be considered a highlight for some perverted viewers and reveal several full frontal nude shots of the leads...though only the unrated version on DVD contains most of this. Based on a novel and directed by Jane Campion, who appears in a cameo as a waitress. Nicole Kidman originally was going to play the lead, but decided to co-produce instead. Look for Kevin Bacon in an unbilled role.
January 2, 2013
In The Cut is shot and edited very well and explores some interesting territory now and then, but it's not very suspenseful.
December 7, 2012
Would like to get round to watching.
November 6, 2012
The worst movie we have ever seen! Kept waiting for something to happen...the dialogue was awful...it was about nothing! Half the time ur saying to yourself "why in the world would they even put that sentence in the movie!" It is dreary, depressing, AWFUL!!! I can't imagine the actors reading this script and saying "oh, wow, I've got to do this movie!" Wow!
October 28, 2012
It is a good thriller on it's own but suffers from bad writing, un-needed characters and an ending that is so underwhelming.
October 21, 2012
It's worth it to meg naked..
April 3, 2012
Other than some decent acting by Ryan and Ruffalo In the Cut is just a drab serial killer flick without any spark. Not much more can be said as In the Cut just didn't offer anything worth watching.
Page 2 of 30
Find us on:                     
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile