An Inconvenient Truth - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

An Inconvenient Truth Reviews

Page 2 of 9
David Edwards
Daily Mirror (UK)
September 23, 2006
Presented by former US Vice President Al Gore, this documentary is a cool, clinical examination of global warming. And if you thought the repercussions were years off, think again.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Peter Bradshaw
Guardian
September 23, 2006
Despite or perhaps because of Gore's schoolmasterly attitudes, his arguments have force. A kind of anti-charisma sees it through.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Top Critic
Dave Calhoun
Time Out
September 23, 2006
It is utterly convincing, it's emotionally powerful and it makes Gore look more charming than he ever did as a presidential candidate.
Brent Simon
Now Playing Magazine
September 18, 2006
Though generally presented in a fawning, overly obsequious style, the film also has a heartening degree of candor... and its triumph is the manner in which it highlights the notion of political will as a renewable resource.
Full Review | Original Score: B
Urban Cinefile Critics
Urban Cinefile
September 8, 2006
Gore is inspired here, a man on a crusade that slide by slide and impassioned remark by remark drives home the inconvenient truth about global warming. It's an alarming scenario so calling him alarmist really misses the point.
Kamal 'The Diva' Larsuel
3BlackChicks Review
August 21, 2006
The truth hurts.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
Bruce Bennett
Spectrum (St. George, Utah)
August 14, 2006
Controversy isn't always a bad thing, and Mr. Freeze's surprising warmth ignites a worthy discussion.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
August 10, 2006
In spite of brief missteps, the film has an important message that needs to be heard. It's not a doom-and-gloom movie as much as it is a call to action.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Robert Roten
Laramie Movie Scope
July 16, 2006
If you are unfamiliar with this issue, or are a sheltered dittohead, this film is a good primer on arguments supporting the idea of global warming.
Full Review | Original Score: B
Walter Chaw
Film Freak Central
July 11, 2006
I'm recommending what is essentially a non-film because I agree with its politics and I'd like for more people to agree with me than disagree.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Jonathan R. Perry
Tyler Morning Telegraph (Texas)
July 11, 2006
... For those within its reach, 'An Inconvenient Truth' is a film we can ignore only at our own peril.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Ken Hanke
Mountain Xpress (Asheville, NC)
July 5, 2006
Yes, it's a science lecture when all is said and done, but it's a science lesson that's never dull -- chilling in its conclusions, but hardly boring.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Linda Cook
Quad City Times (Davenport, IA)
July 3, 2006
In my heart of hearts, I know this isn't the best way to start a movie review. But in my heart of hearts, I also know I need to do what's right.
Full Review| Original Score: 4/4
Michael W. Phillips, Jr.
Goatdog's Movies
July 1, 2006
Every responsible, thinking American should see this film.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Rob Gonsalves
eFilmCritic.com
July 1, 2006
It's hard to make a visually compelling narrative out of 100 minutes of a 58-year-old man talking about carbon-dioxide emissions, but director Davis Guggenheim does it.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
John Wirt
Advocate (Baton Rouge, LA)
June 30, 2006
As lectures on film go, An Inconvenient Truth sends its message in clear and engaging fashion.
Philip Martin
Arkansas Democrat-Gazette
June 30, 2006
... an important subject, and... possibly an important film.
Full Review | Original Score: 87/100
James Sanford
Kalamazoo Gazette
June 29, 2006
The material is presented clearly and, for the most part, persuasively, although the side-trips into Gore's family history... seem like the minibiographies that are traditionally served up during election time.
Garth Franklin
Dark Horizons
June 29, 2006
The educational moments work beautifully, the personal bits don't. Still, one of the year's best - frightening, compelling and at points unforgettable.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Lori Hoffman
Atlantic City Weekly
June 28, 2006
The United States is by far the worst polluter on the planet, a shameful fact that has to change.
Full Review| Original Score: 4/4
Page 2 of 9