Inside (└ l'intÚrieur) - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Inside (└ l'intÚrieur) Reviews

Page 2 of 82
½ February 9, 2016
Nasty, brutish and short, "Inside" is another unrelenting nightmare scenario from the French extremist movement.
April 27, 2015
Overall, this is a good film (Though I honestly wasn't all that impressed by it). It certainly is tense, and bloody, and brutal (and even surprisingly fun at odd intervals) but this film resembles more of your typical thriller than anything else. That said, it's your typical thriller done well, and elevated by a real squirmish premise and gnarly choice of weapon (scissors?! YIKES!!!). Most tend to compare this to Martyrs, not a wise choice, because if done so, Inside is bound to come up short.
December 29, 2015
This movie almost made me lose hope in human kind.
October 6, 2015
Part of the cinematic movement 'New French Extremity', a subgenre defined by transgressive displays of extreme bodily violence, the French horror film Inside is very very violent and far more extreme and explicit in its gore than the standard of Western cinema. However, what makes Inside a fantastic horror experience is that it's violence, whilst shockingly extreme, is implemented within the framework of an incredibly well crafted and executed film.
With a running time of only 82 minutes, Inside unfolds at a breakneck speed, taking place over the course of one harrowing night. With one primary location and a very small group of actors, the story and plot are very simple (some would argue too simple). However, the smooth and confident direction keeps the film focused and engaging, and is definitely the film's most striking quality.
Inside is extremely well acted, shot and edited; full of unnerving visuals and captivating action sequences that truly leave you on the edge of your seat.
Rather than being gratuitous and self-indulgent, Inside's extreme violence compliments the film and brings intensity to the events, rather than being distracting and needlessly over-the-top. This ultimately works to elevate Inside above the countless entries of modern horror films grounded in hyper violent spectacle. With moments of pure tension, adrenaline, and even heartbreak, Inside is a devastatingly brutal yet unforgettable experience.
October 27, 2015
A good blood bath thriller about a pregnant widow on christmas eve that a gets a violent visitor.Baby cg images are used when the lead gets tensions and it didn't look very good for a 2007 movie and there is a lot chichÚs.The twist may divide people but overall i would recomend for people who are not faint of heart.
July 31, 2015
this film is batshit crazy, and a MUST SEE, for any horror fan! it is insane, and puts films like Saw or Hostel in their own spot, in the corner of the room, as this takes center stage. A real great piece of horror film, truly hard to watch many of the moments, but a staple in my collection of favorite "scary movies". If you don't like reading subtitles, no worries, because their are few to read. My only issue, was the twist at the end, and that it could've been played out a bit longer... other than that, solid casting, good performances, good makeup effects, lighting, pd, it all worked well... but the simplistic storyline is what pushed the film ahead. Most of it, in one location, centered over just a few characters, and I literally watched the final 15min through my fingers. Really incredible, what they had the balls to put on film!
A horror masterpiece!
August 26, 2012
Fantastic lighting and solid atmosphere contribute greatly to this film's success as a gory, intense home invasion film. However, even genre buffs may have a hard time handling the extreme and explicit violence. [B+]
June 7, 2015
Brutal, concise and engaging, despite an irritating series of CGI unborn baby POV sequences which feel incongruous in an otherwise practical / prosthetic effect driven horror film. Excellent performances and very tastefully scored, with the film often building tension and terror without the impediment of music. This is how it's done.
May 25, 2015
Alexandre Bustill and Julien Maurys' entry into The French Extreme is so brutally violent and graphic that it far exceeds what could be considered "appropriate" -- but the intensity and the suspense is tight most will find it impossible not to watch through to the bitter end. It may go way too far for many, but for those who can stomach it. This is scary and haunting cinematic ride. Beatrice Dalle and Alysson Paradis are both outstanding in their respective roles. This is one film that is not easily forgotten.
May 6, 2015
The only thing more horrific than the gore, were the gaping plotholes and incompetent characters. I have no problem with the gore and found it scarily entertaining. I also have no problem with the less than believable foetus (after all CGI is hideously expensive) but I just can't deal with the plotholes. Everyone seemed to be a bit slow on the uptake, and they weren't exactly portrayed as idiots, so I kind of expected better decisions.
March 17, 2015
Raw, bloody, atmospherical, irrational, yes, smart at times, absurd at others, I enjoyed the film, loved the acting, would recommend only to genre fans
½ April 5, 2015
Gory and grim French stalk and slash
March 23, 2015
In the vein of "High Tension" and "The Strangers", this is perfect home invasion horror. Alexandre Bustillo and Julien Maury's "Inside" is something of a miracle: it manages to balance stomach-churning gore with real, senses-assaulting horror. There are some images in this movie that are just undeniably unshakable, and they prove that "Inside" will terrify even the most jaded horror aficionado. There's nothing like it, and yet, it's one you can't ever watch again. Brace yourself.
March 23, 2015
Holly shit this one was bloody as fuck.
Robbanflix
Super Reviewer
April 25, 2008
This is a very gory and violented horror movie. Some sick scenes aswell many may think. The movie itself could have been better then it was. Perhaps more thriller with a deeper story and less gore.. Anyway if u like blood and brutal death scenes , enjoy.
Super Reviewer
October 21, 2014
A film with ridiculous amounts of gratuitous violence that is presented in a portentous way, as if such graphic grossness could ever be a message about life. Now, in a case such as that of the film Salo by Pasolini, one could understand how such extremety is justified on political grounds, but in Inside there is no excuse. The film is simply part of a trend that takes everything to the extreme in an attempt to cover up the total emptyness behind it. This fetishization of what is essentially a vacuum is for an unaesthetised audience that seeks gratification in what can shock them; it is like a drug addict who seeks stronger and stronger drugs in order to feel anything different.
October 18, 2014
One of the best horror flicks I have ever seen. Truly will make even a hardened movie goer writhe in their chair in discomfort.
October 5, 2014
tasty brutality. nice and straightforward until the several ambiguous bits at the end. not sure how much those parts actually bothered me. loved the piles of bodies. perfect length for what it was. could potentially overanalyze/be annoyed by some of it, but it was visceral enough that letting that sort of attitude go was incredibly easy.
½ September 13, 2014
A ka nije los, dosta ljigav, al nije za 4.
September 7, 2014
This is one of the hardest movies I've ever had to watch. It is also one of the best horror films I've ever seen, an absolutely terrifying spectacle.
Page 2 of 82