Iron Man 2 - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Iron Man 2 Reviews

Page 1 of 14
Aaron Asadi
July 7, 2015
It too frequently seems that Iron Man's battles could simply be replaced with a scene featuring Stark and his opponent measuring their respective suit's RAM, with a glance towards their supporting company's share prices.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Will Leitch
June 22, 2013
It's much more fun to create a franchise than to doggedly sustain it.
Full Review | Original Score: C
Jeffrey Lyles
Lyles' Movie Files
May 2, 2013
Throws down the armored gauntlet to all the other summer blockbusters - bring your "A" game or be content being the season's second best movie.
Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
Mark Adams
Screen International
April 15, 2013
Robert Downey Jr., plays Stark with a twinkle in his eye and a sense of fun, but can't quite stamp the same authority onto the film as he did in the first version.
Chris Garcia
Austin American-Statesman
April 15, 2013
It's half the fun of the first movie and twice as convoluted.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
Top Critic
Nick Pinkerton
Village Voice
April 15, 2013
As for the actual grand finale, Downey Jr. and Cheadle seem like they're already network gaming the PS3 release instead of facing any actual threat, and Rourke goes out like a chump.
Top Critic
Tom Charity
April 15, 2013
The whiz-bang stuff here -- while never less than slick -- doesn't produce anything we haven't seen before.
Jason Buchanan
TV Guide's Movie Guide
April 15, 2013
Despite being more traditional in structure and theme than the original, Iron Man 2 offers just about everything anyone could ask for in a superhero spectacular, and then some.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Michael Saba
Paste Magazine
April 14, 2013
The most cynical and calculating part of it all is that the movie never really finds a justification for its existence; except, that is, as a bald-faced setup for The Avengers.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
Jeff Beck
October 1, 2012
Many people will probably not find this one up to par with the fun of the original, but personally, I ended up having more fun with this movie, so while I gave the original a mild recommendation, I can give this one a slightly stronger one.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Adam Ross
The Aristocrat
September 29, 2012
I was predisposed to like Iron Man even if it starred David Hasselhoff wrapped in tinfoil ... Is it worth your time? Definitely. Is it the calibre of Spider-Man 2 and The Dark Knight? Afraid not.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Ali Gray
September 28, 2012
By rights, a superhero sequel should be darker, more intense and more dangerous, but Favreau is happy just to stay cool. That's all Iron Man's job has ever been, and frankly, that's fine by me.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Greg Maki
Star-Democrat (Easton, MD)
November 5, 2011
The bar has been set for the 2010 summer blockbusters.
Full Review | Original Score: A
Ed Whitfield
The Ooh Tray
June 30, 2011
... The visual effects, though solid, may brighten the screen but are a poor substitute for characterisation and style - those two absent friends who we miss the most during the show.
Dave White
April 4, 2011
In the land of sequels it's no Temple of Doom or Empire Strikes Back, but it's also not Rise of the Silver Surfer. Me and my box of Junior Mints, we still had a good time.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Joshua Starnes
March 27, 2011
Iron Man 2 isn't an ideal sequel but it is good, fixing most of the problems of the first movie without giving up what made it work to begin with.
Full Review | Original Score: 9/10
Mike Edwards
What Culture
February 3, 2011
Some critics may claim that the Iron Man films are simply dragging on a genre that's redundant (...) but my view is that it is rescuing a big part of the Marvel universe.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Jason Best
Movie Talk
December 29, 2010
Robert Downey Jr squeezes back into ... Tony Stark's incredible suit ... and his charismatic presence gives the movie a bigger boost than his character's jet-propelled boots.
Simon Miraudo
October 21, 2010
Iron Man bests the biggest adversaries of the superhero genre in his second outing: production troubles, sequel-bloat and overwhelming, unrestrained fanboy hype.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
Matt Neal
The Standard
October 9, 2010
Fans will be satisfied, even if it doesn't match the nuanced and well-rounded brilliance of the first film. But many will be disappointed with this seemingly rushed follow-up.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Page 1 of 14