Rambo (Rambo IV) - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Rambo (Rambo IV) Reviews

Page 1 of 8
Rob Humanick
Projection Booth
January 24, 2013
Stallone uses his iconic character here to explore the necessary evils of violence through a brutal pop lens.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
Fernando F. Croce
CinePassion
August 27, 2009
Sly may be a crass tyrannosaurus, but he's not a fake
Kamal 'The Diva' Larsuel
3BlackChicks Review
August 3, 2009
Light on plot, heavy on violence - Rambo isn't for everyone, however I think it perfectly appeals to the video game crowd.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Tony Macklin
Fayetteville Free Weekly
February 2, 2009
Do you want disembowelment and decapitation with your popcorn? Is gore glorious? Is brutality orgasmic? Is spurting blood the fountain of fun? If so, Rambo is 4 U.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
Top Critic
J. R. Jones
Chicago Reader
December 16, 2008
The orgy of violence, as ghastly as in any video game, should go a long way toward erasing whatever goodwill Stallone earned with his sentimental Rocky Balboa.
Jeffrey Chen
Window to the Movies
October 1, 2008
Straightforward wish fulfillment -- imagine what crimes against humanity we could punish if we had real, indestructible Rambos.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
Austin Kennedy
Sin Magazine
July 22, 2008
It's not the perfect Rambo film I was hoping for, but it was a pretty entertaining one.
Full Review| Original Score: 3/4
June 14, 2008
Now we are no longer observing the icon... we are the icon.
Adam Tobias
Watertown Daily Times
May 20, 2008
I know my credibility could take a hit here, but I am man enough to admit that I enjoyed watching Rambo once again don his famous headband and shoot enemies with his trusty bow and arrow.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Kevin McCarthy
BDK Reviews
May 17, 2008
(Rambo) really only has 3-4 minutes of redeeming entertainment.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
Prairie Miller
NewsBlaze
May 13, 2008
Suspiciously wrinkle-resistant Stallone in comeback, a Rambo in serious need of anger management and not too shy to get into a little ripping out of throats with bare hands and selective disemboweling too.
May 1, 2008
The film does for the Myanmar genocide what I Now Pronounce You Chuck and Larry did for same-sex marriage...
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Mike Sage
Peterborough This Week
April 15, 2008
Luckily, Rambo's years away from war haven't dulled his ability to rip out a man's throat with his bare hands.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Rossiter Drake
San Francisco Examiner
April 9, 2008
'Rambo' is pure adrenaline, a frenzied rush into the heart of a jungle where the prevailing darkness is far more horrific than anything Kurtz could have imagined.
| Original Score: 3.5/4
Cynthia Fuchs
PopMatters
March 21, 2008
However you parse the character's evolution, Rambo the film shows a peculiar understanding of changes in the industry.
Pablo Villaça
Cinema em Cena
March 1, 2008
Quando comemorei o retorno de Stallone à boa forma artística, não imaginei que empregaria sua recém-reconquistada influência para realizar algo tão abominável quanto este Rambo IV.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Brandon Fibbs
Colorado Springs Gazette
February 28, 2008
While Rambo is certainly not for everyone, it succeeds at being exactly what it sets out to be %u2014 a nostalgic, actionpacked, gore-splattered ode to the antihero of a bygone era.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
Bob Grimm
Tucson Weekly
February 25, 2008
I love Stallone, but this isn't any fun. I'm also concerned because he's starting to look like the Cloverfield monster. No more HGH!
Full Review | Original Score: 2.25/5
Nigel Andrews
Financial Times
February 22, 2008
The hero's iconic inertia is photographed against molten skies or Judgment Day sunsets, providing moments of mythic repose between the pell-mell battle scenes.

The Sun (UK)
February 22, 2008
Makes First Blood look like Bambi.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Page 1 of 8