Joy Ride 2: Dead Ahead - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Joy Ride 2: Dead Ahead Reviews

Page 1 of 19
Super Reviewer
January 22, 2009
Actually starts out okay, in a mindless sort of way, but goes steadily downhill.
Way inferior to the original movie. Cast are not too bad, considering, but it really is a second rate effort.
Super Reviewer
½ May 1, 2010
For the first half of the film we are just seeing a repeat theme of the first installment, however the second half evolves from just a chaser film, into a torture type Slasher, it's still very predictable and very much a no - brainer.
TheDudeLebowski65
Super Reviewer
February 4, 2011
Considering that this is a direct to DVD film to the awesome Joy Ride, the filmmakers managed to pull something off that worked quite well on screen. The film though flawed makes up for it in some genuinely tense moments of terror. When a group of teens go cross country, they come across a seemingly abandoned house after their car breaks down and take a car found in the houses barn. Bad idea because now Rusty Nail lives there and he comes back to his place to discover that his ride missing. Now he's in hot pursuit, and plays an even more deadly game than in the first Joy Ride. Joy Ride: Dead Ahead is a very well crafted direct to DVD film, and it's a far superior film that the usual films released in such a manner. The cast here are a talented bunch, they won't win any Oscars, but they definitely do a fine job at this second entry. Though the film flawed, like I've previously said, Joy Ride:Dead Ahead has lots of tension and scares going for it. The actor playing Rusty Nail is fairly good, and we see a bit more of him. Also the film is more gory than the first, so it has a that going for it. The cat and mouse game is terrific and you're constantly on the edge of your seat on wondering what will happen next. A fine sequel that will probably appeal to fans of the first Joy Ride, I went in with low expectations and was fairly surprised by the overall film. Very well done, and very entertaining. Rusty Nail's cat and mouse game is even more deadly this time around and delivers good thrills. Not perfect, but not terrible. This is one direct To DVD film that was done right.
Japes
Super Reviewer
½ October 25, 2010
30% for Nick Zano's presence 0% for everything else associated with this movie.

The script was soooo terrible it was hilarious. "Is it over?" *dramatic pause* "It is now" haha so great. The script probably wouldn't have seemed so bad if the actors in the movie had tried harder (Nick Zano was good though). The one boy actor was so annoying, and honestly the trucker killing everyone was annoying too. His voice was obnoxious like just kill people and shut up already.

The plot was also pretty stupid and unbelievable. I mean, most horror movies are indeed unrealistic, but this one was just crazy. If those people REALLY wanted to escape from that guy, I bet they could've. I like watching a cast that fights back and is brave/determined. These people clearly did nothing to make me believe they deserved to live. It really irritated me. However I still loved watching this movie. I love watching shit awful horror movies.

The part at the end with the girl's Mustang breaking down was also so unrealistic. Like girl, that's a brand new completely reliable Mustang. What are the odds it would just break down? It wouldn't. Unless she was a crappy car owner, in which she deserves her car breaking down. Like I said shit awful movie, but fun to watch.
LWOODS04
Super Reviewer
September 1, 2009
Not as good as the first one in my opinion but well worth the watch.
Super Reviewer
October 26, 2008
A decent follow up to the first Joyride (Roadkill) film. Although not quite as good as the first it still has some good scenes and decent action as ol' "Rustynail" causes more havoc for some youngsters off the beaten track. No doubt the 3rd one will be along in no time!
Super Reviewer
½ March 1, 2009
Joy Ride 2: Dead Ahead isn't as good as its predecessor, but manages to entertain almost in spite of itself.
bbcfloridabound
Super Reviewer
February 14, 2009
This one just didn't have what it takes to make a thriller / Slasher Movie exciting. It was pretty dull throughout, thought I did like the charareter Rusty Nail. I didn't see the first Joyride, and when I saw the trailer to Joyride 2 Dead Ahead I thought it would be better then it turned out, its one of those movies where the trailer is the best thing and shows it all. Rusty Nail will be back as there will be a Joy ride 3 not doubt. Glad I rented this one, it will not be added to my collection.
Beefy
Super Reviewer
½ November 10, 2008
Attractive cast can't help give this pointless sequel a reason to exist. No suspense.
Super Reviewer
½ October 11, 2008
Remove the (meager) star power that the original Joy Ride had, and you're left with this mess.
Super Reviewer
June 17, 2014
a b grade movie done well.. without the decent actors I would have gave up on this one, but it kept me hooked until the end.
Super Reviewer
June 9, 2011
Just as great as the first.
xxdebxx
Super Reviewer
½ January 20, 2009
Four kids on their way to Vegas, run out of gas while traveling down a long lonely stretch of road. They stumble upon an old farmhouse owned by Rusty Nail and decides to "borrow" his Chevy Chevelle (yep, the man has taste!). For one reason or another, they feel it's just OK to risk messing with a guy who they don't know and might very well be a psycho (weird, old house in the middle of the desert, nobody at home) Rusty Nail tracks them down, kidnaps the lead's boyfriend and forces the three to play deadly games to save his life.
With a basically unknown cast, the fact that they changed Rusty Nail who is now a killer on the loose which pretty much kills his character, the acting is what you can expect from B rate movies and his voice is... very weak.

However, there is one scene that will definitely please seekers of intense feelings: The one where the two male protagonists are taken to RN's garage and tortured, forced to throw some dices and each number had its own 'surprise' for the other one, gruesome!
In the end, if you liked the original Joy Ride for the psychological side of it you will HATE this movie. However, if you enjoy movies with no plot and lots of blood then you might like it
Super Reviewer
October 26, 2008
More of a torture porn riff than the suspense or psychological tension of its predecessor.
jim222001us
Super Reviewer
½ April 22, 2009
The truck driver nicknamed Rusty Nail is back and menacing people again. The movie started out mildly entertaining but it gets worse and worse as the movie goes on.

It just becomes vicious and brutal while the original was at least some fun. Rusty Nails motive in this one is just plain stupid. 2 couples on the way to Vegas borrow a car from a house after there's breaks down. Guess who's car it was and he's of course not happy about it. While he has no problem ramming them with his truck while they drive the car that's supposed to mean something to him. Stay far away from this movie.
bamadeb77
Super Reviewer
½ May 6, 2009
I never understood why they make sequels to movies that where not that good in the first place. JOYRIDE 2 could off had some potential but as usual with these type of movies or sequels, it's a road going to nowhere!! Cool start to the movie but by the middle(actually before the middle), You start questioning yourself, should I finish watching this movie or not. storyline was very weak, the characters in the movie were pathetic(especially the men in this movie, They should have been wearing the wig through out the movie). And what about the end, how is that possible?? This is not jason or michael now, its just a sicko truck driver!!
John2223
Super Reviewer
October 2, 2008
Above average D-To-DVD sequel with good suspense moments and decent acting.
Super Reviewer
October 2, 2008
When two couples out on a road trip to vegas have there car breakdown thats the least of there worries as they walk a stretch of dirt road they come upon a house that seems to be abandoned as they are lookin around they find the owner has left a car in the garage thinking there problems are solved they take the car not knowing that they just took a car belonging to the crazy trucker *Rusty Nails* from the first movie and he is gonna make them pay. Pretty good direct to dvd sequal of the first movie that is alittle bit above many straight to dvd sequals out there and should keep fans of the first movie entertained.
½ June 9, 2014
Not as good as the first one by far. Rusty Nail in this movie isn't as bad-ass and terrifying, the two scenes at the ending were extremely stupid... this movie relies a little more on torture then being psychologically creepy like the first one. Disappointing.
Page 1 of 19