Just My Luck Reviews

Page 2 of 6
John Thomason
Orlando Weekly
May 18, 2006
An amazingly unfunny 'comedy' vehicle for Lindsay Lohan to do her Freaky Friday thing again.
Paul Schrodt
Slant Magazine
May 17, 2006
The shallowness of female pop culture that Holofcener courageously tears down is just the thing Just My Luck successfully re-perpetuate.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
Jonathan R. Perry
Tyler Morning Telegraph (Texas)
May 17, 2006
Lohan can be good in characters endowed with a glimmer of intelligence. But too often she shoehorns herself into vehicles operating under the fallacy that stupidity is cute.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
Ken Hanke
Mountain Xpress (Asheville, NC)
May 17, 2006
Take Just My Luck for what it is -- a moderately successful attempt to move Lohan away from teenage roles and into an adult one.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Top Critic
Scott Tobias
AV Club
May 17, 2006
A lazy spitballing session of karmic humor, hinged on the sort of generic rom-com contrivances that keep movies like these from ending at a reasonable time.
Full Review | Original Score: D
Top Critic
Richard Roeper
Ebert & Roeper
May 16, 2006
... a real piece of junk.
Mike McGranaghan
Aisle Seat
May 15, 2006
Just My Luck is the cinematic equivalent of stepping on a crack and breaking your mama's back.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Linda Cook
Quad City Times (Davenport, IA)
May 15, 2006
t's not like Lindsay Lohan is down on her luck. But she'd be more fortunate -- at least if she wants to be considered as a serious actress -- if she'd appear in movies of a higher quality than "Just My Luck," a by-the-numbers teen-type romantic comedy.
| Original Score: 2/4
Frank Ochieng
Movie Eye
May 14, 2006
Slight, pointless and convincingly witless. Lohan's cinematic Luck runs out instantaneously...[this] convoluted comical piece is as lucky as a mutilated 2-leaf clover
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
Susan Granger
Modamag.com
May 14, 2006
Lindsay Lohan's a loser this time round with this forgettable, featherweight, cliche-filled contrivance.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/10
Michael Ferraro
Film Threat
May 13, 2006
Just My Luck is the kind of film that's too romantic for younger viewers and too redundant for young teens.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
Cynthia Fuchs
PopMatters
May 13, 2006
"I'm like the rest of the rabbit after they cut off the lucky foot," moans Ashley (Lindsay Lohan). Poor girl: her sense of self wasn't always so dire.
Pete Croatto
Filmcritic.com
May 13, 2006
just another reason for moviegoers to (perhaps unfairly) deride Lindsay Lohan
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
Top Critic
Roger Ebert
Chicago Sun-Times
May 13, 2006
It's safe, competent and bland.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
James Berardinelli
ReelViews
May 13, 2006
From my perspective, it's watchable, but barely, and nothing I would go out of my way to locate, even if going 'out of my way' represents using a remote control to change TV channels.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Betty Jo Tucker
ReelTalk Movie Reviews
May 12, 2006
Filmmakers were lucky to pick the perfect co-stars for 'Just My Luck.'
Robin Clifford
Reeling Reviews
May 12, 2006
Lindsay Lohan will draw the femme fan crowd that, in turn, will bring their boyfriends. Don't worry guys, it's not just another teen chick flick.
Full Review | Original Score: B
Angel Cohn
TV Guide's Movie Guide
May 12, 2006
Director Donald Petrie's niche seems to be lighthearted, instantly forgettable romantic fantasies like Miss Congeniality and How To Lose A Guy In 10 Days, and this sweet-natured bit of fluff fits right in.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Peter Howell
Toronto Star
May 12, 2006
Word on the street -- we're not sure which street -- has it that Just My Luck is Lindsay Lohan's final teen comedy. If so, the timing couldn't be better.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Moira MacDonald
Seattle Times
May 12, 2006
If Just My Luck was intended to showcase a more grown-up Lohan (she'll soon be 20), it fails -- but it gives hints of the fine screwball comedian she's already becoming.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Page 2 of 6