Katy Perry: Part of Me Reviews

Page 3 of 5
David Noh
Film Journal International
July 5, 2012
Fun, revealing doc about one pop sensation who has truly earned her place in the sun, although the 3D is wholly unnecessary.
Andy Tweddle
Little White Lies
July 5, 2012
Unfortunately, as sweet as Perry come across, the product as a whole is mastabatory, jarring and ultimately pretty dull.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
Michelle Orange
Movieline
July 5, 2012
Perry is no dancer and not much of a mover; she's a more mannequin-ish presence, but an energizer mannequin, expressive and ever connecting.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
Chris Hewitt (St. Paul)
St. Paul Pioneer Press
July 5, 2012
Footage from Perry's elaborate stage show, which hit Xcel Energy Center last August, is so energetic and fizzy that the blandly catchy songs feel like just a small and not unpleasant piece of the puzzle.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Bruce Kirkland
Jam! Movies
July 5, 2012
Personally, I prefer Adele. But teens who adore Perry should be satisfied with the colourful on-stage stuff.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Top Critic
Mario Tarradell
Dallas Morning News
July 5, 2012
I gained respect for Perry, her work ethic and personal rediscovery.
Full Review | Original Score: B
Teddy Durgin
Screen It!
July 5, 2012
Even if you had front row tickets at one of Perry's concerts, you haven't had a visual experience like this with the singer. (Full Content Review for Parents also available)
Top Critic
Rafer Guzman
Newsday
July 5, 2012
I'm willing to believe Perry is everything "Part of Me" says she is: kind, smart, talented, hardworking, deserving of success. I just wish the movie trusted me to decide for myself.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Owen Gleiberman
Entertainment Weekly
July 5, 2012
Part of Me works hard to prove it's more than a glorified infomercial, and one reason it is more is that Perry has a startling story to tell.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
Top Critic
Kevin C. Johnson
St. Louis Post-Dispatch
July 5, 2012
Surely there are more interesting subjects, but Perry manages to pull it off here, coming off completely likable and real, never insufferable and fake.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Stephen Whitty
Newark Star-Ledger
July 5, 2012
[It] goes a bit beyond the usual music documentaries, which rarely document anything beyond how beloved their stars are.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Terry Staunton
Radio Times
July 5, 2012
Perry herself, while clearly driven and ambitious, comes across as hugely likeable and witty - the consummate professional whose personal life is in a tailspin.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Top Critic
Sara Stewart
New York Post
July 5, 2012
Ever the professional, the pop star has surrounded herself with people who know how to make a tour work - but none of them seem well-equipped to give a heartbroken 27-year-old girl a much needed hug.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Bill Goodykoontz
Arizona Republic
July 5, 2012
I'm not sure what I was expecting from "Katy Perry: Part of Me," but I know it wasn't this: a pleasant surprise.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Top Critic
Andrew Matson
Seattle Times
July 5, 2012
You realize the main drama of the movie - and Perry's career - is not that she has any special artistic talent, but rather the drive to take on an insane workload and see it through to the bitter end.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Mick LaSalle
San Francisco Chronicle
July 5, 2012
Any self-produced documentary about oneself is bound to be a propaganda film, but "Katy Perry: Part of Me" is a good one, and a persuasive one.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Edna Gundersen
USA Today
July 5, 2012
It's difficult to assess the authenticity of Perry's big-screen portrait, shaped by handlers, friends, family and gushing Katy Kats. But her zeal, geeky enthusiasm and generous spirit feel genuine.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Betsy Sharkey
Los Angeles Times
July 4, 2012
As one record executive put it, for too long the industry tried to make Katy Perry into something or someone else. The secret, which "Part of Me" captures quite nicely, was to just let her be.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Top Critic
Bruce Demara
Toronto Star
July 4, 2012
There's nothing new or radical in those ideals - learning to accept yourself, not taking life too seriously - but they are messages that resonate with her young fans, female and male, and that's not at all a bad thing.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
Kara Nesvig
Minneapolis Star Tribune
July 4, 2012
"Part of Me" succeeds because it's not afraid to let its big star be vulnerable.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Page 3 of 5