Kickboxer 3: The Art of War Reviews

Page 1 of 3
deano
Super Reviewer
March 20, 2007
This Sasha Mitchell martial arts flick seems not really bad in his action at Rio de Janeiro for a kick-boxing exhibition.
sanjurosamurai
Super Reviewer
½ January 24, 2007
please stop
½ May 24, 2009
Not nearly as bad as people say. It has an interesting story, Sasha Mitchell has always been great in the fight scenes, and the way the bad guy tortures him is interesting.
½ December 24, 2008
This is the weakest of the series, and definitely the one where Sasha Mitchell is in full on Cody from Step by Step form here. David Sloan was always a likable, fun character, but for some reason, the makers decided to turn him into a bumbling, semi-retarded idiot. The plot is simple, David and Xian travel to Rio and get involved in a bunch of stuff. Thankfully, this one was completely ignored in the fourth movie.
½ May 8, 2008
Another great mindless Kickboxer flick. Turned out though the ass on screen wasn't the only one getting whooped on my Sasha.... he was going a little Kickboxer 3 on his girlfriend/wife also.... Pretty cool dude.
October 20, 2007
The actor in this one cannot live up to the expectations left by Van Damme. lf l'm not mistaken, he used to be on "Step By Step."
½ March 27, 2015
"Oh - Please"

**** 1/4

This Movie Got A Lot Of Air Time Back In The Early 90's On The Movie Channels
(Hope Sasha Mitchell Got Syndication Royalties)
& As A Martial Arts Buff I Watched It My Fair Share.
The Rival Kick Boxer That David Sloan Is Up Against Is A Bad Brazilian Attitude Boxer That Looks Like A Swayze...
(It Always Makes Me Laugh When David Jumps In The Ring)
(After Martine Demolished An Underdog That David Was)
(Coaching In An Expedition Fight. The Match Is About To)
(Start Early But They Get Pulled Apart & Martine Starts To) (Snarl At David Ready To Get It On!)
His Boss Frank Is A Mob Ridden Human Trafficking Gambling Gangster. He Knows That The Champ Looks Good In The Ring, But His Boy Looks Pretty Darn Good Too, & He's Gonna Give The Champ A Real Run For His Money.
Feeling The Pressure By Other Prominent Mob Gamblers To Make A Bet For All That He Has Frank Is Determined To Do Anything Possible To Make Sure David Losses The Fight When He Gets In The Ring.
For A Straight To Dvd B Movie Or As It Was Said Back Then, Straight To Video, This Martial Arts Film Was Pretty Decent. Sure It Had Scenes Were Some Of The Viewers Said...
"Oh - Please"
(Like The Water Fall Scene)
(The Body & The Mind Don't Always Travel Together)
But For A B Grade Movie Of This Style I Thought It Was Entertaining Enough To Keep It Playing A Few Times.

~

I Give This Film A B - (Bright) **** 1/4
July 31, 2014
Isn't that Cody from "Step by Step"?
September 20, 2013
Everything you might expect from a Kickboxer sequel is here. David Sloane, exotic locations, and trainer Xien are all here. I want to remind everyone of the warehouse shootout to rescue Eric Sloane in the original that helps the mansion shoot out in this sequel to not feel completely out of place in a movie called Kickboxer.
What is thoroughly missing in art of war is Tong Po and any memorable music. Not that the music here is bad it actually fits the setting quite well but like I said ultimately forgettable. The fight choreography is about on par with the second movie in the series though filmed better and the slow motion effects are handled much better here.
½ January 15, 2012
the film is obviously direct to video because its poor story development and action scenes are quite bad. playing out like the endless Bloodsport sequels we yet again have to sit through a movie which thinks mixing what made the original so good with action scenes is beyond me. the kickboxer series took a very bad turn here. while the original films where about fighting this film is action with some fighting mixed in. the only good scene is the ending fight scene but even that is badly staged.
Sasha Mitchell worked hard to get into shape for the fighting but it is all for nothing and the only thing that saves this from rock bottom is the fact the next film is really bad. They clearly should have stopped at number two but like all things they must milk it for every last dollar.
the filmmaking is just bad, the score is terrible and the acting, writing is appalling. give this a miss if you can there is nothing of merit here
July 12, 2007
Slow, boring, mediocre, and dare i say utterly pointless. The main character just comes off as some fag running through some YMCA cardio routine. Like anyone could even begin to take some douche named "sasha" seriously. The words just arent there to describe in entirety the disgust and stupidity of this movie. From some overly-retarded, increasingly ANNOYING hissing sound he manages to muster during his crap-fight scenes; to his cheesy bad acting. Another classic example of a "RUINED" trilogy shot to hell thanks to some fag named sasha. Outside of the classic Kickboxer 1(JeanClaudeVanDamme stars) ALL other parts are a complete waste.


Action/Martial arts Choreography------------------------0/10
Acting------------------------------------------------------0/10
Story/Plot--------------------------------------------------0/10
Cast--------------------------------------------------------0/10

Overall-----------------------------------------------------0/10
Were the movie not so old id nominate it for a razzie award.
Page 1 of 3