Kiss Me Deadly - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Kiss Me Deadly Reviews

Page 1 of 2
Fernando F. Croce
CinePassion
December 10, 2012
Aldrich's annihilating masterpiece, one of the decade's key works
Sean Gandert
Paste Magazine
July 9, 2011
In the years since its release, Kiss Me Deadly has been copied so many times that many of its boldest elements are familiar, but they've done little to dull its overall impact.
Full Review | Original Score: 9.5/10
Eric Melin
Scene-Stealers.com
July 3, 2011
The plot of the book is jettisoned for something altogether more terrifying and mysterious: Possession of a box that glows from within every time it is opened, however briefly. If that sounds like Pulp Fiction, well, it is, only 40 years earlier.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Christopher Long
Movie Metropolis
June 28, 2011
Kiss Me Deadly was so far out there that it is usually viewed as an end point to the classic film noir cycle.
Full Review | Original Score: 9/10
Sean Axmaker
MSN.com
June 27, 2011
... delivers a pulp punch while it savagely satirizes the entire hardboiled mythos with its bare-knuckle brutality, flights of purple prose dialogue and he-man chauvinism ...
James Kendrick
Q Network Film Desk
June 23, 2011
one of the most memorable of American film noir, a remarkable fusion of hard-boiled mystery and atomic horror
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
Chris Barsanti
Filmcritic.com
June 20, 2011
...a cubist noir of the atomic age.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Jeffrey M. Anderson
Combustible Celluloid
June 17, 2011
As brutal and cynical as the movie is, Aldrich knows how to seduce the audience; it still resembles a crackerjack crime movie.
Emanuel Levy
EmanuelLevy.Com
April 10, 2011
I theme and style, Aldrich's apocalyptic film noir is an eccentric work, in many ways ahead of its times.
Full Review | Original Score: B+

Film4
March 27, 2009
In the dingy, black-and-white halls of the film noir pantheon, they've a special place set aside for Kiss Me Deadly.
Top Critic
Dave Kehr
Chicago Reader
March 27, 2009
This independently produced low-budget film was a shining example for the New Wave directors -- Truffaut, Godard, et al -- who found it proof positive that commercial films could accommodate the quirkiest and most personal of visions.
Top Critic
Variety Staff
Variety
October 30, 2008
The trail leads to a series of amorous dames, murder-minded plug-uglies and dangerous adventures that offer excitement but have little clarity to let the viewer know what's going on.
Urban Cinefile Critics
Urban Cinefile
October 18, 2008
The brutality of the film's characters and its scenario are shocking enough today, but in 1955, they were gobsmacking.
Michael E. Grost
Classic Film and Television
August 9, 2007
Dazzling film noir masterpiece.
Mark Kermode
Observer (UK)
June 24, 2006
Kiss Me Deadly delivers the 'white-hot thrills' and 'blood-red kisses' promised by its publicity, as well as reminding us whence Tarantino stole his best riffs.
Nick Schager
Slant Magazine
May 1, 2006
Never was Mike Hammer's name more fitting than in Kiss Me Deadly, Robert Aldrich's blisteringly nihilistic noir.
Top Critic
Jessica Winter
Time Out
February 9, 2006
A crucial influence on what would become the French new wave, an irresistibly seedy trip through the Los Angeles underworld, and a valuable artifact of Cold War anxiety.
Top Critic
Roger Moore
Orlando Sentinel
April 15, 2005
It's not the greatest thriller ever, but Kiss Me Deadly is classic film noir.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Dennis Schwartz
Ozus' World Movie Reviews
December 26, 2004
Best exemplifies a curious cross between "art" and pulp fiction.
Full Review | Original Score: A+
Dan Lybarger
Nitrate Online
May 23, 2004
Intriguing cold war thriller. Meeker was born to play Mike Hammer.
| Original Score: 4/5
Page 1 of 2