The Last Days of Frankie the Fly - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Last Days of Frankie the Fly Reviews

Page 1 of 2
garyX
Super Reviewer
½ June 10, 2007
The film Quentin Tarantino never made, about a down at heel mob flunky (Hopper) infatuated with porn actress Daryl Hannah. Shades of Donnie Brasco crossed with a revenge thriller streaked with black humour. Pretty good on the whole.
½ April 25, 2014
This Tarantino knock-off is a real mess. Frankie works for a 2nd rate mobster who deals in pornography. Frankie falls for it's star attraction, Margaret, played by Daryl Hannah. Joey is the director of these sex movies and decides to go behind the mobsters back in obtaining extra cash. This proves to be a no no and with Frankie getting involved in the mess one only knows whether or not he'll make it out alive (especially since the title suggests otherwise). I'll just be up front and say he doesn't die and it's not his last days. Although I've seen better days with these actors in other movies. Even this type of story has been played out better in other movies. Things to Do in Denver When You're Dead is one film that comes to mind while I was watching this movie.
January 29, 2007
I was suprised that I had never heard of this movie.. Really underrated. You cant help but feel sorry for Dennis Hoppers character, and the ending tied it all together for a somewhat happy ending.. Adam Scott of step brothers has a funny scence in which was probably 1 of his 1st ever. Madsen plays the part of Arrogant tough mob boss really well, and Kiefers hilarious.. 6/10 Check this out, you wont be disappointed.
October 28, 2007
Quirky story and performances by Hopper and Sutherland, funny, twisted and entertaining for a rainy afternoon.
½ April 25, 2014
This Tarantino knock-off is a real mess. Frankie works for a 2nd rate mobster who deals in pornography. Frankie falls for it's star attraction, Margaret, played by Daryl Hannah. Joey is the director of these sex movies and decides to go behind the mobsters back in obtaining extra cash. This proves to be a no no and with Frankie getting involved in the mess one only knows whether or not he'll make it out alive (especially since the title suggests otherwise). I'll just be up front and say he doesn't die and it's not his last days. Although I've seen better days with these actors in other movies. Even this type of story has been played out better in other movies. Things to Do in Denver When You're Dead is one film that comes to mind while I was watching this movie.
May 12, 2012
This movie was very interesting, it kept me occupied throughout the whole thing. I won't give it away by telling anyone what happened so go get it and watch it! Plus Michael Madsen is in it so that's a plus.
January 16, 2012
It felt like days this film despite being only 95 minutes long. Michael Madson being one dimensional still doing his Reservoir dog routine, Daryll Hannah being more believable as a fish than a porn star in this and Hopper acting beneath his ability. The poor story and script saw all stars including Sutherland flying and nose diving. Poor film at best that needs swatting to the back of the video library.
December 2, 2011
Low budget mobster flick with some big name actors. Dennis Hopper and Keifer Sutherland put on memorable performances, but the movie is bland and uninspired. The story of the hitman with a heart of gold rescuing the prositute with dreams of becoming an actress has been played out so many times before. Despite a mildly interesting twist in the end, this film is easily forgettable.
January 29, 2007
I was suprised that I had never heard of this movie.. Really underrated. You cant help but feel sorry for Dennis Hoppers character, and the ending tied it all together for a somewhat happy ending.. Adam Scott of step brothers has a funny scence in which was probably 1 of his 1st ever. Madsen plays the part of Arrogant tough mob boss really well, and Kiefers hilarious.. 6/10 Check this out, you wont be disappointed.
½ November 8, 2010
Great writing , Great Acting, Great Movie !
September 9, 2010
This was on a 4-Gangster Movie DVD set I found in a bargain bin. All of the performances were great, but the script, not so much. The story and dialog was a bit weak. Although there were downfalls, the acting made up for it. Very entertaining. Hopper and Madsen never fail for me.
February 24, 2010
This movie was very interesting, it kept me occupied throughout the whole thing. I won't give it away by telling anyone what happened so go get it and watch it! Plus Michael Madsen is in it so that's a plus.
½ August 28, 2008
Super cheesy/campy mob movie. You'll laugh at it more than anything.
May 14, 2008
Passable movie which only survives on the strength of it's cast. Markle would have done a far better job by staying at home during the shoot and not turning up on set every day to attempt to direct it.
As it only cost me £1 from Tesco I'm in no real position to complain. But I'm glad I paid no more than that...
½ November 29, 2007
Dennis Hopper plays a different kind of characer here. He's not a burned out stoner and he's not a crazy psychopath. In this film he's a down on his luck loser who get in trouble with the mob (led by Madsen). Basically everyone, with the exception of Madsen, play against type here. It's an okay story with veteran actors that pull it off.
April 20, 2008
now serioulsy this film is dire. was wondering why i only paid £1 for it. looking at the cast list i expected more. and sutherland really camps it up. this film is not even watchable
February 13, 2008
An ok film,somewhat entertaining.
January 31, 2008
Sounds like a good cast.
October 28, 2007
Quirky story and performances by Hopper and Sutherland, funny, twisted and entertaining for a rainy afternoon.
garyX
Super Reviewer
½ June 10, 2007
The film Quentin Tarantino never made, about a down at heel mob flunky (Hopper) infatuated with porn actress Daryl Hannah. Shades of Donnie Brasco crossed with a revenge thriller streaked with black humour. Pretty good on the whole.
Page 1 of 2