Late Bloomers - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Late Bloomers Reviews

Page 1 of 1
Harlequin68
Super Reviewer
½ June 22, 2015
"Late Bloomers" has a good cast, namely William Hurt and Isabella Rossellini as a married couple growing nearer to 60 while facing challenges in life, namely his struggling architecture practice and her wanting to volunteer at pretty much anything.(That's not to mention very fine support from Simon Callow and Joanna Lumley.) But the movie is so scattershot that it lacks much in the way of a consistent story, or really any kind of meaningful insights.
½ May 9, 2013
Late Bloomers promises more than it delivers. One might expect seasoned professionals like Isabella Rossellini and William Hurt to deliver nuanced, heartfelt performances, they simply march through the poorly written, silly script in which their hearts are absent. They are tired of their lifestyle in the film. We are tired of them by film's end. Two words -- don't bother!
September 6, 2015
Lovely to watch the fine acting of Isabella Rossellini but movie is very thin on story. Also the premise that being old at 60 is annoying.
Harlequin68
Super Reviewer
½ June 22, 2015
"Late Bloomers" has a good cast, namely William Hurt and Isabella Rossellini as a married couple growing nearer to 60 while facing challenges in life, namely his struggling architecture practice and her wanting to volunteer at pretty much anything.(That's not to mention very fine support from Simon Callow and Joanna Lumley.) But the movie is so scattershot that it lacks much in the way of a consistent story, or really any kind of meaningful insights.
½ March 7, 2015
This movie is okay. I don't think William Hurt or Isabella Rossellini are old enough. Isabella's character seems unusually fussy. It tends to make the characters always confused and lost. As if they are both getting Alzheimers. The music is god awful. The story about an architect redesigning a nursing home is not a plot of particular interest. Yawn.
½ September 22, 2014
Monday, September 22, 2014

(2012) Late Bloomers
DRAMA/ COMEDY

At the opening centers on an older couple of Adam (William Hurt) and Mary (Isabella Rossellini) residing London, England doing their routine thing. And after the two made out, it appears that Mary had suffered a short memory relapse, and had decided to have herself get checked out. It was then suggested by her doctorate friends that perhaps she should join on one of those exercise clubs to stimulate herself. And it was about that time, is when the Isabella Rossellini character begin to become annoying. It's when she start to make 'conditions' both for her husband as well as herself. To the extent of her husband quitting the job he loves of an accomplished architect just so he can 'act' old as they should've been. And as soon as he refuses, they start to separate. And then it becomes this silly thing when their already successful grown up children later finding out about their separation, putting their own careers on hold so that they can get their parents to go back together again. Narrow mindedly, much of the movie refuses to make the point that you're only as old as you feel. I think the movie did point it out at some point but it didn't do anything to enhance the movie on any way. Maybe in London, England some older people, or retirees feel like useless and stuff, but here in North America, it is usually custom to have parents of underage children being looked after by grandparents since 1)parents are usually busy working in their jobs, and 2) having grandparents looking after their grand children saves parents money from babysitting costs, which this film for some reason refuses to address. I guess, it's because the parents got nannies to look after them.

1 star out of 4
May 12, 2012
Well acted but over simplified plot and characters that it is doubtful could have existed with such potential for change and tension if they had existed before the movie started. The characters don't really make sense.

A bland love story about people fighting over whether or not they're willing to be what they already are.
½ August 8, 2014
Adam et Mary sont un couple dans la soixantaine, heureux grands-parents et parfaitement organisés. Un jour, Mary se rend compte qu'ils sont rentrés dans la catégorie senior sans même le remarquer. Maintenant, ce sont eux les vieux ! Sur quoi elle décide d'assumer son nouveau statut, et de réaménager leur appartement en fonction. Mais Adam n'est pas du tout prêt à accepter d'être qualifié de senior, et prend la direction inverse en accentuant tout ce qui le maintient encore parmi les plus jeunes. Clash assuré !
Une belle comédie touchante et amusante que voilà. William Hurt et Isabella Rossellini sont parfaits dans leurs personnages qui réagissent chacun de manière extrême. Outre les scènes dédiées au rire (téléphone à grosses touches, baignoire avec poignée, séance d'aquagym etc.) et à la réflexion (volontariat pour les retraités pour les garder « actifs »), on nous y montre aussi l'importance que le regard de la société peut avoir sur les individus, et combien il est difficile de vouloir à tout prix ranger chacun dans une catégorie propre, alors que nous sommes tous différents. J'ai bien rigolé et ai réellement apprécié ce petit instant tout plaisant de cinéma.
October 6, 2013
Really, I could watch William Hurt read the dictionary, but I have to admit his British accent was barely discernible. Isabella Rossellini was fantastic. The script had some nice moments , like the couple's wordless conversation across their son's noisy art exhibit, but over all I would have to say it was very "loosely woven".
June 30, 2013
Story of a 60 year old couple rediscovering their marriage. The male lead being an medal winning architect certainly raised my interest.
½ May 9, 2013
Late Bloomers promises more than it delivers. One might expect seasoned professionals like Isabella Rossellini and William Hurt to deliver nuanced, heartfelt performances, they simply march through the poorly written, silly script in which their hearts are absent. They are tired of their lifestyle in the film. We are tired of them by film's end. Two words -- don't bother!
½ April 28, 2013
As a movie that talks about getting old and how people differ in how to deal with it, I'm not able to empathize. Maybe I'll appreciate the movie when I reach 60. But for now, I'm clearly not its target market.
September 15, 2012
para los que disfrutan del cine ....
½ August 21, 2012
Watchable, but a little flat in it's delivery. The leads are good, but the material just isn't strong enough and old age is made to be utterly depressing.
June 3, 2012
Seeing this tonight at the local Bijou. The cast looks interesting.
½ March 3, 2012
A boring movie with occasional glimmers of substance about growing old. Relationships didn't ring true. I've never been a fan of Isabella Rossellini who seems to be the same in every movie she's in. And William Hurt is the same.
December 23, 2011
Julie Gavras conta uma história simples e gostosa de assistir, depois de escolher bem seu elenco. Para mim, Isabella Rossellini e Doreen Mantle iluminam qualquer filme.
½ November 2, 2011
Isabella Rossellini!
½ August 7, 2011
3 FOIS 20 ANS (Late Bloomers) de Julie Gavras est une belle rà (C)ussite sur la crise d'un couple à la veille de la soixantaine. Dans un monde où le règne de la jeunesse a atteint des sommets, les doutes individuels et maritales sont intenses! On dà (C)couvre, avec à (C)tonnement, que ce n'est pas l'idà (C)e qu'on se fait des soixantenaires, qu'ils ne sont pas vieux, qu'ils cherchent encore des rà (C)ponses et ses sensations fortes dans leurs vies, qu'ils sont drôles, beaux et absolument pas à l'abris de faire des erreurs et de rater leur vie... La diffà (C)rence ici est que l'à (C)chec ou les mauvais choix leur coûtera le reste de leur vie!
Le charme d'Isabella Rossellini et de William Hurt assumant leurs rides sans aucun artifices nous donne l'espoir de leur ressembler un jour, entourà (C)s de seconds rôles caustiques tels Joanna Lumley ("Chapeau Melon..." et "Absolutely Fabulous") en frustrà (C)e branchà (C)e et Simon Callow en pathà (C)tique à (C)ternel playboy rà (C)duit à payer pour le sexe puisqu'incapable d'avoir construit une relation, les personnages s'ajoutent au plaisir d'apprendre cette belle leçon de vie!
Page 1 of 1