Legends of the Fall Reviews

Page 2 of 343
June 30, 2015
A realistic love story, about how life can make things very complicated.
June 15, 2015
Emotionally very powerful, mature film about relationships, love, loyalty and all the range of other things in the thing called life.
May 28, 2015
Impossibly Awrful! But, Great Cinematography and Film Score

This movie is so amazingly, impossibly melodramatic! It's just so over the top that you can't help yourself from laughing at a certain point. And, what is that point?

(SPOILERS) At this point, every tragedy imaginable has befallen this family. One after another, people die for the sake of dying, to create "drama!" But, when Anthony Hopkins emerges from his homestead, having had a stroke, with a Popeye-type squinched-down eye, and a small blackboard strung around his neck so he can communicate, I just laughed. I know that wasn't the intention of the filmmakers, but, how could you not? Add to that, the "Trials of Tristan," the Godlike son who endlessly goes through one soul-stirring crisis of the soul after another! Way, WAY too much! (END SPOILERS)

Basically, the whole movie is like "A River Runs Through It" - The Telenovela Version! All the great cinematography and setting, but impossibly heavy-handed "storytelling" in place of the great story of Redford's film.

And yet, I keep watching this stupid thing time and again for John Toll's gorgeous cinematography, and James Horner's great film score.

But, as a film, it's howlingly awful!
½ April 19, 2015
Tried for a sweeping epic family drama and got a watchable then forgettable family feud..
March 1, 2015
One of those rare films that has the romantic element, the mythic element, the thriller and amazing performances. I absolutely fell in love with this film and loved actress Julia ormond. She has a way of expressing grief pain love with her facial expressions, I also loved the father and sons story how one son felt that his father always loved his second oldest than him. In the end family comes together through tough times.

A must see.
February 21, 2015
Cheap and tacky, hardly worth the time to watch. All the bad acting and dumb plots you would find on a typical soap opera.
½ February 2, 2015
Story moved along slowly in the beginning, but it got better as it unfolded.
January 29, 2015
Sweeping Cinematography second to none, absorbing story,...arguably the most beautiful musical score...James Horner is so talented...see it...worth it...and amatuer critics PLEASE STOP TELLING THE STORY IN YOUR REVIEWS FILLED WITH SPOILERS!!!..Christ,..just tell what your hits and misses are...NOT THE STORY!!!
January 1, 2015
This is why I listen more to user reviews more than critcs ! This is more of a click flick tyep of western but a great movie with plenty of drama great actors story. How can you not like this movie !
December 27, 2014
I watched the Battle of the Five Armies tonight in theaters, then I came home and saw this on an iPad. That this gets a worse rating than The Hobbit by Michael Bay Jackson is appling. Fix your review process. Best western I've seen in a long time, thoughtful, heartwrenching. Wonderful in every sense.
November 9, 2014
Simply amazing. I have watched it two times and I will probably do it again. I liked the performance of Anthony Hopkins above all, he has been extraordinary as always.
October 16, 2014
I was cheering for the bear... is that bad?
September 6, 2014
Nothing short of epic with a score and landscape unparalleled. Still it is melodramatic to a fault.
½ September 6, 2014
Overblown and predictable.
April 25, 2011
An enjoyable albeit bloated epic drama.
½ July 31, 2014
The gorgeous scenery is Alberta and British Columbia and the urban settings were Gas Town, Vancouver. The film itself is overwrought and right out of a Mills & Boone novel. And Brad Pitt's hair!! Where was his adviser when he was let loose with this 'look'? Long hippy-dippy hair does not necessarily denote a wild man. Save your money and get "The Horse Whisperer" if you want a better story and equally superb locations.
July 29, 2014
While a semi-predictable, "prodigal son" story weaved into your standard romance, the cinematography makes it an enthralling story that covers a lot of ground.
½ January 6, 2013
, العيب في الفيلم كانت الوجبه الميلودراميه المقدمه فكانت زياده عن الحد مليئة بشكل كبير جدا عاطفه ومشاعر كنا في غنى عن كثير منها، ، السيناريو ارى ان ثغرته في مقتل زوجة تريستيان الهنديه كان مقتلها امر ليس له اي داعي اطلاقا و كان حدث مبتذل وزاد من الميلودرامية التي هي بالاصل زائدة، اروع ما بالعمل هو اداء هوبكنز بدور الكونيل اجاد اغلب المواقف بطريقه ممتازه من مواقف القوة ومواقف الضعف والمرض .. اجواء العمل كانت لاتنسى وترسخ بالذهن جيدا من مناظر طبيعية وحيوانات والمنازل الريفية,,
تعجبني الافلام التي تحاول بشكل ما ان تقدم فيلما به امور تحتاج كثيرا للوقوف عندها امور ليست مقتصرة على زمن معين او فترة ما لا بل نجدها احيانا في ايامنا هذه,حيث ليومنا هذا نجد الاب في اُسر معينه تجده اقرب ل ابن على ابن اخرهذا من شأنه ان يحدث خلاف فيما بعد مهما كانوا الاخوة مترابطين وقريبيين,ايضا الفيلم اظهاره لحالة موجودة في اسر معينه وهي قيام الاب بعد ترك الام والانفصال قيام الاب بتربية الاولاد في سن معينه وكيف يصبحوا بعد ذلك هل سيكونوا عند حسن الظن وهذا ما كانوا عليه اولاد الكونويل ايضا تسليط الضوء على شخصية الاخ تريستيان كانت بطريقة جميلة الشخصية هي بحد ذاتها كانت فريدة حيث ان المظهر الخارجي لنريستيان يبدو انه انسان مازال طري لم يعتد الحياة لايملك الخشونة الريفية له وسامه تجعل الفتاة تعجب به بشكل مباشر هذا كله مايبدو على الشخصية كهيئة لكن لندخل الى المضمون سنجده شاب يملك العنفوان بكل معنى الكلمة له الوفاء المعهود من الشاب الريفي قلبه طيب تربى على ان يواجه اصعب التحديات كان بالفعل شاب وابن يعتمد عليه,رغم اظهار العمل لهذه الشخصية القوية ,على اية حال من يشاهد العمل وينتهي منه سيشعر للحظة ان الفتاة سوزانا قد سببت كل هذه المصائب على العائلة لكن لنرجع بذاكرتنا الى الوراء هي كانت لعلها معجبه بتريستيان لكن هذا لم تظهره وكان حبها لخطيبها سامويل هو الاول وكانت رافضة جدا ليذهب هذا الاخير الى الحرب ولكنه ذهب مع اخويه وحدث ماحدث ايضا من باب الشيء بالشيء يذكر لا يمكن ان ننسى الجانب الوطني او الحس الوطني للفتى الريفي الذي اظهره الفيلم,,بالتالي هي ماذا عليها ان تفعل هل من المعقول ان تمضي حياتها تتحسر على موت خطيبها بالطبع لا وشعرت انه حان الوقت لأخراج ما بقلبها من اعجاب ل تريستيان ....وعلى هذا اذا قسنا الامور الى نهاية السيناريو سنجد ان الفتاة لم يكن لها ذنب بالذي حصل للعائلة.
لكن بكلمات ممكن ان اقول انه من الممكن ان تأتي ظروف للأنسان اقوى منه مهما كانت مرتبته مهما على
العمل مليء بالامور التي لم اتحدث بها بعد مثل شخصية الاخ الاكبر الفريد ايضا احداث مثل مقتل الاخ الاصغر بالحرب و مقتل زوجة تريستيان الهندية بطريقة الخونة ,ايضا كيفية اظهار الفيلم للهنود بصورة طيبة رغم المرور عليها بشكل سريع لكن تحسب للعمل والمخرج انه لم يشوه صورة الهنود وقبائلهم وطباعهم وسلوكهم لا بل كان الهنود بالعمل لايمكن اغفالها لان من يروي قصة هذه العائلة هو هندي كان يم م لديها وايضا لا ننسى ان الشجاعه التي تعلمها تريستيان كانت معظمها من تدريب الاصدقاء الهنود ,,مثل هذه الامور نفتقدها كثيرا غي السينما الامريكية تحديدا لأنها غالبا ما تصوّر الهنود على انهم (اقرب للحيوانات من البشر)...
B-
½ July 19, 2014
91%
Watched this on 19/7/14
Until yesterday if someone asked me which I think is Edward Zwick's best film, I would be confused, but not today. Till today, I liked all his films(except Love and Other Drugs),they were all good, but none of them were extraordinary. Now I see that Legends of the Fall is that one film which I was looking for, his best. Be it Blood Diamond, Last Samurai, Glory or Defiance, they are all good, but they lack just something in them which provides the greatness, the ones that got close are Blood Diamond and Defiance. Legends of the Fall has sweeping cinematography, fine and tense music and fabulous performances, my favourite is Anthony Hopkins. In fact I have never found Hopkins to be this effective before. This film tells the story of three brothers, their relationship with their father and their love for the same woman. This film starts off well, has a sweeping first half, then drifts apart into cliches, but then at it's last 45 minutes, it develops new stories and twists and ultimately exhumes into a great climax. The ending of this film is the best Zwick ever done, Blood Diamond just came close.
½ July 17, 2014
It's got some good acting, but Legend of the Fall is far too sappy, episodic, and cliche.
Page 2 of 343