Lemony Snicket's A Series of Unfortunate Events - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Lemony Snicket's A Series of Unfortunate Events Reviews

Page 2 of 997
½ November 5, 2015
Even though it isn't the deepest or most emotionally resonating of movies and even though Jude Law's narrator is annoying whenever he cuts in, A Series Of Unfortunate Events is a delightfully lightweight of a movie that never promises more than it can keep. It is especially wonderful to watch Jim Carrey being unleashed and having the time of his life.
September 7, 2015
If Jim Carrey wasn't Count Olaf, this movie would have fallen flat.
October 14, 2012
What a great storyline! All actors are great in this movie and the scenes are brilliant. Put in some funny and memorable lines and characters, and you have a movie definitely worth watching.
August 6, 2015
The over the top Carrey is perfect as the dastardly villain in this fine fable.
½ June 25, 2015
A Series of Unfortunate Events feels like a film constantly searching for its own voice, its strengths and weaknesses, the right tone without gaining any momentum along the way.
May 16, 2015
There was just too much material in the original books to make a movie from them.
½ June 1, 2015
Entertainment with a helping of Jim Carrey. Thomas Newman's music greatly helps it.
½ May 25, 2015
why doesn't anyone talk about this anymore? Jim Carrey stole the show in this film.
½ September 9, 2014
Talk about a missed opportunity. No, not the film itself, but rather the opportunity at a quality franchise. Brad Silberling's adaptation of the first three books in Daniel Handler's wonderfully dark and funny series is one of the best to come along since the explosion of similar book-to-film adaptations, such as the Harry Potter franchise, and is one of the few that could have competed in terms of quality had it only been given the chance. Alas, we are left with merely one film. One wonderful film chronicling the dismal lives of the three Baudelaire children and the events that take place after the tragic death of their parents. They are first placed in the care of the delightfully wicked Count Olaf, played with Jim Carrey's typical gusto but also with a dash of sinister flair. Carrey puts on one of his best performances as the children's evil guardian, and there are other greats along the way who do equally fine work. Actors like Meryl Streep, Billy Connolly, Timothy Spall, and Catherine O'Hara each do fine work. There's even an appearance by the hilarious Craig Ferguson in half-drag! However, as great as these supporting characters are, this show belongs to Carrey and the three fine leads (Emily Browning, Liam Aiken, and Kara and Shelby Hoffan). The chemistry of the three children perfectly mirrors that of the books, and is just another reason why it is such a shame that this franchise didn't take off. Perhaps it is simply the sad world we live in, where lackluster series like Twilight go off at the box office while the less bombastic but far more clever ones fade into obscurity. Or maybe it is simply another in a long line of unfortunate events.
June 24, 2009
Wow, silly, boring, bad acting...
½ April 10, 2015
I don't understand why there was only one movie made for so many books and all the interesting stuff from the books were cut out!
½ March 21, 2015
The book series of Lemony Snicket's A Series of Unfortunate Events is a really good one and I wonder why they ever stop making the movie version. I thought this one is very good in terms of the script and the cast!! The movie contains the first three volumes of the whole series and is very well made. Plus, Jude Law is the story narrator!
February 20, 2015
For people who have not read the book it is very confusing, and overall the movie kind of drags on with all the different books combined.
½ February 17, 2015
i did't really like but i can see why alot of people do
February 7, 2015
how is this 72%? wtf
½ January 29, 2015
Jim Carrey went for broke with his role, but it hinders the film more than anything else, focussing on the bizarre rather than the more plot-oriented style of the books. Full review later.
½ January 20, 2015
Visualmente notable, mejor que algunas fantas├Čas de Tim Burton.
½ January 3, 2015
Dickens meets Tim Burton. This movie is both visual and musical eye-candy. Story has its strong moments and at the end of the day you feel like this movie will stay with you for some time.
½ December 27, 2014
What an odd film. I enjoyed it enough, hello Meryl, but I found Jim Carrey's "Count Olaf" character to be a little annoying and not funny in the least bit. The most entertaining were the kids, especially little Sunny's "dialogue." Loved Meryl, what else is new, but the movie's just odd. Entertaining enough, but certainly not my cup of tea.
Page 2 of 997