• R, 2 hr. 16 min.
  • Drama, Comedy
  • Directed By:
    Todd Field
    In Theaters:
    Oct 6, 2006 Wide
    On DVD:
    May 1, 2007
  • New Line Cinema

Opening

70% The Equalizer Sep 26
71% The Boxtrolls Sep 26
85% The Two Faces of January Sep 26
—— Two Night Stand Sep 26
91% Jimi: All Is by My Side Sep 26

Top Box Office

63% The Maze Runner $32.5M
66% A Walk Among the Tombstones $12.8M
43% This Is Where I Leave You $11.6M
11% No Good Deed $9.8M
71% Dolphin Tale 2 $8.9M
92% Guardians of the Galaxy $5.2M
20% Let's Be Cops $2.7M
19% Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles $2.7M
88% The Drop $2.1M
37% If I Stay $1.8M

Coming Soon

56% Men, Women & Children Oct 01
85% Gone Girl Oct 03
—— Annabelle Oct 03
67% The Good Lie Oct 03
—— 7500 Oct 03

Premieres Tonight

—— Chicago Fire: Season 3
—— Faking It: Season 2
—— Marvel's Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D.: Season 2
—— NCIS: Season 12
73% NCIS: New Orleans: Season 1
—— Person Of Interest: Season 4

New Episodes Tonight

—— Awkward: Season 4
—— Brickleberry: Season 3
50% Forever: Season 1
67% Matador: Season 1
75% The Mindy Project: Season 3
100% New Girl: Season 4
85% Sons of Anarchy: Season 7

Discuss Last Night's Shows

—— The Big Bang Theory: Season 8
—— The Blacklist: Season 2
71% Dallas: Season 3
50% Forever: Season 1
95% Gotham: Season 1
34% Scorpion: Season 1
—— Sleepy Hollow: Season 2
62% Under the Dome: Season 2

Little Children Reviews

Page 1 of 8
Josh Bell
Las Vegas Weekly

Field has merely looked down upon people trying to make sense of their lives, and judged them unworthy.

Full Review Source: Las Vegas Weekly | Original Score: 2.5/5

January 4, 2007
Ella Taylor
Village Voice
Top Critic IconTop Critic

Suburbia continues to serve as the dartboard of choice for filmmakers bent on demonstrating their urbane superiority to the dull denizens of tract housing.

Full Review Source: Village Voice

September 26, 2006
Ted Murphy
Murphy's Movie Reviews

from the film's opening scene when an ill-advised and badly used omniscient narrator is employed, I was squirming in my seat and checking my watch. ... LITTLE CHILDREN runs on too long at close to two and a half hours.There are many sequences that are ext

Full Review Source: Murphy's Movie Reviews | Original Score: C-

January 11, 2007
A.S. Hamrah
Boston Phoenix

As commentary on our time, it may be accurate. As movie drama, it isn't so much overheated as reheated in the microwave on high.

Full Review Source: Boston Phoenix | Original Score: 2.5/4

July 6, 2010
Fernando F. Croce
CinePassion

Its antiseptic textures merely whimper 'Oscar clip'

Full Review Source: CinePassion

August 28, 2009
Nick Schager
Slant Magazine

In requiring only passivity from its audience, whom it shovel-feeds faux-erudite lessons, it's the Academy Award-baiting version of Don't Ask, Just Tell cinema.

Full Review Source: Slant Magazine | Original Score: 1.5/4

September 24, 2006
Kam Williams
EURWeb

Peyton Place with a perv!

Full Review Source: EURWeb | Original Score: 1/4

May 2, 2007
Cole Smithey
ColeSmithey.com

Bereft of a protagonist, the movie breaks down under the weight of absurd voice-over narration and an exploitative ending that is as indefensibly wrongheaded as it is cheap.

Full Review Source: ColeSmithey.com | Original Score: D

April 24, 2009
Jim Emerson
Chicago Sun-Times
Top Critic IconTop Critic

I didn't like any of these characters, but I kept pulling for them anyway -- right up to the shock-o-riffic ending, when I felt I'd been sucker-punched.

Full Review Source: Chicago Sun-Times | Original Score: 2.5/4

January 5, 2007
Joe Lozito
Big Picture Big Sound

The film is populated with such self-obsessed, distasteful characters, it's hard to care how or why any of them finds happiness.

Full Review Source: Big Picture Big Sound | Original Score: 2/4

July 14, 2007
Dennis Schwartz
Ozus' World Movie Reviews

A slow-paced bourgeois melodrama.

Full Review Source: Ozus' World Movie Reviews | Original Score: C+

November 21, 2006
MaryAnn Johanson
Flick Filosopher

It had me at hello... and kept me for a long time, and then lost me in its final moments.

Full Review Source: Flick Filosopher

February 8, 2007
John J. Puccio
Movie Metropolis

...a flawed work that sparkles only sporadically.

Full Review Source: Movie Metropolis | Original Score: 6/10

April 20, 2007

Little children wake and listen

Full Review Source: JWR | Original Score: 2/5

February 5, 2007
Ben Walters
Time Out
Top Critic IconTop Critic

Little Children ultimately seems to display the conformity to convention that so alarms its central characters.

Full Review Source: Time Out

October 28, 2006
Jurgen Fauth
About.com

Seems terribly confused about whether it wants to be literary drama or out-and-out satire.

Full Review Source: About.com | Original Score: 1.5/5

September 30, 2006
Donald J. Levit
ReelTalk Movie Reviews

'Little Children' sometimes trivializes what deserves serious treatment.

Full Review Source: ReelTalk Movie Reviews

September 26, 2006
Ed Gonzalez
Slant Magazine

The unrestrained (and rather excellent) trailer for Todd Field's Little Children would have us believe that the Whore of Babylon (possibly Kate Winslet) is coming for us on NJ Transit, with Pandora's Box in hand.

October 31, 2006
Dustin Putman
DustinPutman.com

It is only once the end credits have begun to roll that you step back, process what you have seen, and leave dissatisfied.

Full Review Source: DustinPutman.com | Original Score: 2/4

October 18, 2006
Josh Larsen
Sun Publications (Chicago, IL)

...there is some sharp observational comedy here and some painful, truthful drama, but they always seem at odds.

Full Review Source: Sun Publications (Chicago, IL) | Original Score: 2/4

October 19, 2006
Page 1 of 8
Find us on:                     
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile