Lock, Stock and Two Smoking Barrels Reviews

Top Critic
Derek Elley
Variety
October 18, 2008
Top Critic
Andrew Sarris
New York Observer
April 27, 2007
I was thoroughly entertained while I was watching it, and I haven't hated myself since. And that is something, though I don't know exactly what.
Top Critic
Geoff Andrew
Time Out
February 9, 2006
Expect plenty of laughs and some edge-of-your-seat sweats, but not a whole lot else.
Top Critic
Susan Stark
Detroit News
April 10, 2002
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Liam Lacey
Globe and Mail
March 19, 2002
The best one can say is that it's a smart cartoon, and a fairly exhausting viewing experience.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
Peter Travers
Rolling Stone
June 5, 2001
Even when the accents are as indecipherable as the plot, Ritchie keeps the action percolating and the humor on high.
| Original Score: 4.5/5
Top Critic
Bob Graham
San Francisco Chronicle
January 1, 2000
Even if flashy Ritchie's tall tale about the East End underworld starts to run out of steam, the punch line is so good that it makes up for a lot.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Top Critic
January 1, 2000
Lock, Stock & Two Smoking Barrels is the laborious title of an even more laborious Cockney action movie.
Top Critic
J. Hoberman
Village Voice
January 1, 2000
Guignol violence, Lock, Stock aspires to be something like the Beatles meet the Wild Bunch. Too bad it doesn't have even a rubber soul.
Top Critic
Janet Maslin
New York Times
January 1, 2000
The punchy little flourishes that load this English gangster film with attitude are perfectly welcome, because there's no honest, substantial part of the movie they can hurt.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Top Critic
Lisa Schwarzbaum
Entertainment Weekly
January 1, 2000
The film's lures, while undeniable, are synthetic, and we never do learn what fuels all the greed besides pints of beer.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
Top Critic
Stanley Kauffmann
The New Republic
January 1, 2000
The cast is revved up to sizzle, with Sting in a smallish role, and the thick cockney dialogue is more comprehensible than you might think.
Top Critic
Peter Rainer
New York Magazine/Vulture
January 1, 2000
An MTV-generation Peckinpah, Ritchie stages the splatter with a hideous giddiness. He's one to watch.
Top Critic
January 1, 2000
We've heard it all before, and usually with a slightly more comprehensible accent.
Top Critic
Roger Ebert
Chicago Sun-Times
January 1, 2000
Lock, Stock is fun, in a slapdash way; it has an exuberance, and in a time when movies follow formulas like zombies, it's alive.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
James Berardinelli
ReelViews
January 1, 2000
This may be the first movie to capture the reckless exuberance of Pulp Fiction without seeming like a blatant rip-off.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Top Critic
Paul Tatara
CNN.com
January 1, 2000
Go see it if you're in the mood. You're bound to get a chuckle, but don't expect too much.